TOM COCHRANE Streams 'Take It Home' For Canadian Fans

Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Canadian residents can stream the entire new TOM COCHRANE album 'Take It Home' via CBC network for the week leading up to the album's release.
Tom Cochrane is "Back in the Game," as he proclaims in the song of the same name on Take it Home, his first new material since 2006 (available Feb. 10). This time around, the Cancon icon travels over the vast and varied highways that have dotted his acclaimed career, channeling blues, country, roots, gospel and, in general, the music of the South.

"You don't spend this much time travelling back and forth from down there without gathering dust on your boots and clothes, then shaking it off in a song or two," he says in a press release. 

The very essence of travelling — of being on the road constantly, absorbing the constantly changing surroundings and making a home out of the places you find yourself — sits at the centre of it all. It's how a record called Take it Home can make reference to both Georgian Bay and Austin, Texas; Tennessee and Thunder Bay. On "A Prayer for Hope," Cochrane looks back on a trip to Kenya he made with World Vision, while "Sunday Afternoon Hang" perfectly evokes Canadian cottage country.

"I see this record as a real retrospective on the essence of the troubadour," he says.

It was also a chance for the diamond-selling artist to pay tribute to his musical heroes, fellow troubadours like Woody Guthrie, Leadbelly, Willie Nelson and Bob Dylan, all while picking up the trails of unfinished songs and following them to where they inevitably ended up.

"Some unfinished business and a few things that have been left unsaid or undone along the way," he says. 

Take it Home is available Feb 10. Pre-order it on iTunes or Amazon.  

Take it Home tracklist

1. "Can't Stay Here"
2. "Sunday Afternoon Hang"
3. "Diamonds"
4. "Country Girls Never Get Old"
5. "When the Light Starts to Fade"
6. "Pink Time"
7. "First Time Around"
8. "The Ones That I've Known"
9. "Another Year"
10. "A Prayer for Hope"
11. "Back in the Game" 

Watch the lyric video for "Diamonds" below. Stream album via:!/blogs/2015/2/First-Play-Tom-Cochrane-Take-it-Home