PYRAMAZE - Disciples of the Sun (Showcase)

Release Year: 
Disciples Of The Sun
Produced By: 
Jacob Hansen
Release Date: 
Melodic Metal
Pyramaze was founded by guitarist Michael Kammeyer in 2002 with the intention of creating an epic melodic metal band from scratch. The original line-up also consisted of Niels Kvist on bass, Lance King on vocals, and remaining current members Morten Gade Sørensen on drums and keyboardist Jonah W. respectively. This line-up saw the release of the first two Pyramaze albums "Melancholy Beast" (2004) and "Legend of the Bone Carver." (2006) Lead guitarist Toke Skjønnemand joined the band in time to record the "Legend of the Bone Carver" album.
In 2007 Lance King was replaced by former Iced Earth vocalist Matt Barlow and Pyramaze recorded their third album "Immortal" (2008) to high critical acclaim.
Following the release of "Immortal" Matt Barlow left and returned to Iced Earth. He was briefly replaced by Urban Breed for the bands Danish tour with Volbeat in 2008. Several line-up changes occurred in 2008, including the departure of Kammeyer, Kvist, and Urban Breed.
Guitarist and producer Jacob Hansen joined Pyramaze in 2011 and the band began working on their next album during that time. Eventually seeing new vocalist Terje Harøy join Pyramaze in 2013.
Marking the dawn of a new era for Pyramaze, fourth album "Disciples of the Sun" is a true creative and artistic venture for Pyramaze. With song writing being divided between members Jacob, Toke, and Jonah this time around, there is an undeniable diversity and freshness to the sound of the album.  Heavy, dark, progressive, melodic, and catchy.... "Set out to catch the fire!"
Heavy and full guitar riffs, complemented by the epic and cinematic keyboard arrangements of Jonah W, along with the blistering infusion and foundation provided by drummer Morten Gade Sørensen, work together seamlessly to create the signature sound of Pyramaze. New vocalist Terje Harøy brings power and catchy melodies with a modern flair, without sacrificing the dark and progressive edge that Pyramaze is known for. The furious, progressive, and precise thrash infused riffs of new guitarist Jacob Hansen lay down the rock solid foundation upon which the soaring vocal and guitar melodies exist. Lead guitarist Toke Skjønnemand brings the shred and undeniably memorable guitar solos with both a modern and classic influence.
Pyramaze are devoted to making music that mirrors their souls, combines all of their influences, and stimulates the mind and spirit of their listeners... Pyramaze continue to make music that is dark, thought provoking, all with a sense of fearlessness! The band will forever be committed to making the melodic art of a group that understands the importance of staying true and faithful to one's passion.
"Divided by oceans, bound together by brotherhood, we must become that which divides us.... we are PYRAMAZE, and we are the Ocean!"
Terje Harøy - Vocals
Jacob Hansen – Guitars, bass
Jonah W. - Keyboards
Toke Skjønnemand - Guitars
Morten Gade Sørensen – Drums
Special guests on the album:
Joost Van Den Broek [ex. After Forever, Star One]
Kim Olesen [Anubis Gate]
Henrik Fevre [Anubis Gate]
2015: Disciples of the Sun [Inner Wound Recordings]
2008: Immortal [Locomotive. Re-issue: Inner Wound Recordings 2014]
2006: Legend of the Bone Carver [Massacre/Nightmare]
2004: Melancholy Beast [Replica/Nightmare]
Produced, mixed and mastered by: Jacob Hansen [Volbeat, Amaranthe, Epica, Evergrey]
Artwork by: Alex, Mayhem Project Design