MelodicRock.com Reviews


ADRIANGALE
RE:PROGRAM

Kivel Records
Produced by: John Kivel and Vic Rivera

Released: OUT NOW / Website
Relatives: Danger Danger, Harem Scarem, Tesla
GENRE: Melodic Rock
OVERALL: 93%

  1. Still Burning
  2. Closer
  3. Heartbreak Guaranteed
  4. If
  5. Over, Said N Done!
  6. Runaway
  7. Heartgames
  8. 41394
  9. Part Of Me
  10. Heather Please
  11. No More Chances

Adriangale are back with one of the more anticipated melodic rock releases of 2002.
The band have taken the best parts of their debut and with Re:Program have pretty much nailed the ideal formula for crunchy guitar driven melodic hard rock.
This album is a blueprint of essentials in the melodic genre - plenty of crunchy guitars, powerful vocals, good sing-a-long choruses and memorable hooks.
For anyone who enjoyed the debut, or owns Harem Scarem records and also loved Danger Danger's last couple of records, this album promises to delight.
Now having given the album a big wrap like that, it's only fair to point out a couple of short comings - which there are a couple of.
The increased intensity in the delivery of some of the album's songs is not always matched by the accompanying music. There are a few occasions where the songs sound a little thin, like there is something missing. Other tracks nail it perfectly, so it is possible.
The opening track for example is one that rocks with a big rock attitude, but sounds like it could have used an extra layer of guitar, or maybe some backing vocal fill within the chorus.
The drum sound also remains a little soft on a few tracks - a stronger, more "in your face" thump would have given the tracks an extra edge.
It's when that more aggressive approach is employed and executed perfectly that the album really comes alive. Thankfully some of the album's best songs (as far songwriting) have this edge.
Minor points…Track By Track:
Still Burning kicks off the album with a pounding drum and hard edged guitar riff. I've already mentioned the possible extra's above, but generally speaking is a great song.
Closer is a more melodic and instantly memorable track, with a strong Harem Scarem style guitar riff driving the song, featuring a moodier vocal. The melodies are memorable and the chorus is a big melodic anthem with a monster hook.
Heartbreak Guaranteed reminds me of Danger Danger big time - both style and delivery. Jamie Rowe is signing with a more aggressive edge ala Paul Laine. The chorus has a great hook, but lacks a little extra power. Yes, it is a classic hook and I love it, but the tempo of the song could have been even more intense and the chorus should have sent things into overdrive. It unfortunately sounds a little flat.
If is one of the album's best tracks. This is a great power melodic rock ballad with all the necessary elements to make it a classic. A great vocal and strong guitar riff and some fine backing vocals.
Over, Said N Done! has that Danger Danger feel to it again, with another strong guitar riff leading the track. A stronger drum sound would have again benefited the song, but Jamie is in great vocal touch. Some strong backing vocals supplement the track. Good strong hook in the chorus.
Runaway is another track which the band nail totally. This track has that extra layer of guitars and a tougher feel and it makes all the difference. Add a fantastic chorus and hook and it's one of the album's best tracks.
Heartgames is another melodic rocker with a moody edge and a strong hook filled chorus, without being over the top. Has a neat bridge and Jamie has a Jeff Keith edge to his vocal here. Good track!
41394 is a short 30 second acoustic interlude, but the hook sounds so good, I hope t will be back in a longer format one day.
Part Of Me is another of the album's best tracks. And for the same reason as mentioned earlier - the wall of guitars sound. It just sounds so much better with the extra intensity of an extra layer. The song is mid-tempo, but heavier in it's intro and chorus - a moody heartfelt vocal with one of the album's best hooks.
A return to the general uptempo rock feel of the album on Heather Please. This track features a good bridge and is a good rocking song, but the chorus could have been even bigger.
No More Chances closes the album with one of the heavier tracks of the album. Good strong riffing makes this track another solid in your face number, with Jamie again singing with an aggressive edge. The chorus doesn't match the power of others on the album, but it suits the song. A good way to close the album.
BOTTOM LINE: A good strong melodic rock album that will no doubt feature on many Best Of 2002 lists at the end of the year. And deservedly so, as the band and the label have nailed the formula for what a great melodic rock release needs. The only downside is a small lack of urgency in the delivery of the songs. The formula and sounds are perfect, but a little more attitude on a few tracks and an extra layer of guitar would have added ever more to the end result. Still one of the year's better 'classic' melodic rock releases.
PRODUCTION: 88% SONGS: 96% VIBE: 93%ATTITUDE: 89%
ESSENTIAL FOR: All fans of the band and Jamie Rowe, fans of Danger Danger, Harem Scarem and some Tesla fans.
DISCOGRAPHY:Feel The Fire . Under The Hood . Re:Program


14/11/03: spitzbube - peer.tiedjen@gmx.de
Rating: 35
this album is solid work. but there are two things i miss much:
first of all i miss the power. the guitars could be a lot more heavy. the other thing is the songwriting. none of the songs was really interesting to me. so this album is in my opinion nothing more than average. sorry.

24/09/03: Geoff - g.a.wols@ponl.com
Rating: 86
I really like this band. They play no frills straight up the line melodic hard rock and it sounds f*cking good! No, they're not a highly original band, but I don't care. The songs are great and that's all I take home at the end of the day.
Take 'Heartbreak Guaranteed' for instance - a gem of a melodic hard rocker with a huge catchy chorus, and that's what the guys offer. 'If' is a beautiful ballad, 'Over, Said N Done' is a return to melodic hard rock bliss, 'Part Of Me' is a mid tempo anthem and my fave off the album - great song, 'Heather Please' is another fine melodic hard rocker and aside from these, the rock is melodic, riff friendly and greatly vocalised. Great band!

27/03/03: John Elway - megjimp@ida.net
Rating: 90
These guys play 80s style hard rock better than anyone these days. This disk is a well-written, well-played collection of tunes from a group who's not afraid to play catchy, hard rocking songs full of guitar solos. Simply put, if you you like bands like Telsla, pick it up and go back to 1988. If you don't like hard rock from the '80's, take a pass.

12/03/03: Dave - ayotte2506@yahoo.ca
Rating: 80
A solid album, great songs and memorable melodies. The only weakness is the lack of lead guitar. The lead only seems to show up during the solos. Is it me or does the cover and title of the cd give you the impression that they are a prog band?

17/02/03: Scott - rx7-r1@attbi.com
Rating: 75
Listen to the first track Still Bburning and call it a day for the rest of the CD. The rest of the track are not only slow, but lame, and for the cost of these import CD I expect more bank for the buck.

12/11/02: Kula - kulius69@hotmail.com
Rating: 100
It doesn't get any better then this. Beats the hell out recent releases from bands like Danger Danger & Steelhouse Lane... Sharp production, great lyrics and the songs are just amazing. Not a filler. Lock out for AdrianGale!

05/11/02: Jem Warner - jem.warner@incrml.co.uk
Rating: 80
Hmmm! I bought this on the strength of the review and I would consider it quite good at best. To my ears there's absolutely NOTHING here that I haven't heard before. Let's be honest, there are a lot of bands out there producing a lot of albums and unless they've got that little something different to offer, they're almost always gonna fit into that 'quite good' category. I guess we've all got that favourite album that we use as a yardstick to measure other albums against. For me it Steelhouse Lane's Slaves Of The New World. The opening track, Give It All To Me, totally epitomises EVERYTHING that MHR is about. The hooks are gargantuan and the vocals and especially the chorus is so catchy it's almost infectious.

The trouble with Re-Program is that you can imagine the guys sitting in comfy sofa's when they recorded it. It's all so by the numbers that they could most probably churn this stuff out by the lorry load for years.

A brilliant/very good album for me is one that you want to listen to again as soon as it finishes. I'm afraid that certainly wasn't the case for me on Re-Program!

03/11/02: John Dee - 2themaxx@metacrawler.com
Rating: 90
Really good band, and making progress. Like new late 80's album. Of course they are a vocal band, the singer
is key, althought their timing is quite in sync, w / good production. I personally like 'If' , 'Part of Me' and
'Heather Please' (to date). Adriangale guys still have a ways to go to catch the likes of 'Harem Scarem' (did someone
say they are overrated - What the hell are you talking about? HS are in their own catagory). As I say.. they rock, check em'
for sure; as they are an above average AOR band. My only wish is that the would be a little more balls out - heavy, maintaining
the current aspects. IE 'Wildside', IMHO were a good example of this, and one of the last good heavy rock bands of this
genre - early 90's, just before Seattle ruined it with all that 'alternative' labelling bullshit. Call it what you want, I'll call it rock n' roll baby.

25/10/02: Kevin Betts - Kevinugly@hotmail.com
Rating: 75
Just purchased this on the strength of the review. First impression is 'not bad' but not that great! Reminded me of White Lion but without the distinctive guitar sound. The track 'If' is Def Leppard 'by the numbers'! Maybe I'm spoilt 'cos I also picked up the Streets classic 'Crimes In Mind' album the same day. Still listening to it though.

19/10/02: Thanos - metal-abyss@lycos.com
Rating: 90
Adriangale's new album really rocks!!!
It's an excellent melodic hard rock album.
For more details check out the Metal Abyss webzine.
URL:metal-abyss.tripod.com
HARD ROCK IS ALIVE AND KICKING!!!!

11/10/02: Dr. Dave Abend, D.O. - dsabend@pol.net
Rating: 100
One of the best hard rock/melodic/metal albums I've ever heard.

I own over 2000 CD's of rock since the '80's and this is in the top 10. I've already placed the order for their other discography and I hope it doesn't disappoint.

10/10/02: Freddy De Keyzer - freddydekeyzer@hotmail.com
Rating: 7
I can't agree with the fact that this is called a great album. It's certainly not bad, but the overall impression is : average (melodic) hardrock, made by numbers. We have heard this all before and a lot better (Danger Danger, Winger, Firehouse etc.). Most tracks are in the same vein and it's one ear in and out the other. Nothing really touches me. Not bad, but very very overrated. There's much better stuff out. It reminds by of the hypeband Harem Scarem (also so very overrated, it's crazy). Let's be more critical, because measured by seventies and eighties standard most recent release are rather poor !!! The best was delivered in the past. A pity !

18/09/02: Brad - bdame@snet.net
Rating: 95
Someone has GOT to find a way to get these guys into the mainstream. This second full-length album by the band is even better than their first one, which I loved. "Still Burning" gets the album off to a heavy start. "Closer" is a great anthem reminicent of "Save Our Love" off the previous album. "Heartbreak Guaranteed" reminds me a bit of Tesla with the vocals (as did the fantastic "Reap What You Sow" did on the last album). "If" is a ballad that reminds me a bit of Def Leppard's "Have You Ever Needed Someone So Bad" with its intro in particular, but to me it is a better overall song. "Over, Said 'N' Done!" is a very catchy anthem. "Runaway" is a fantastic over-the-top rocker. And so on...right through the closing rocker "No More Chances". There truly isn't a dud here.

This is melodic rock at its best--no selling out to trends by sounding too modern or soft (see Def Leppard's "X"). I agree with the comparisons to Tesla (one of my all-time favorite bands) and Harem Scarem (who I never heard before this year but who is now also one of my favorites--thanks in major part to this site). In the meantime, these guys also have a sound of their own that screams quality 1980s melodic rock. Just a great melodic hard rock album that almost every visitor to this site should have.

04/09/02: NICK SNOWDON - J.SNORTON@NTLWORLD.COM
Rating: 94
I have to say that when i was reading a reveiw for this album i didnt have a clue who AdrianeGale were boy how i missed out on these guys i will never know, with only one or two exceptions the tracks are all top draw,the albuns chock full with one after another of real catchy chorus,the best tracks on the album have to be, CLOSER its catchy as hell and one you remember instantly,
IF its got the lot, OVER SAID AND DONE danger danger couldnt have done it better best backing vocals on the album,and RUNAWAY the best track on the album, the only thing to stop the album getting top marks is that some times it needs that little bit extra just to send it over the edge, overall a cracker of an album that did enough for me to get the first album as well (FEEL THE FIRE), whens the next one due guys


ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100)
Name:

E-mail:

Rating:

Comment:




Back To Site Frontpage