THE 2006 AWARDS

Your Top Albums of 2006

Add Your Best CDs of 2006


03/04/07: Chris Pohl - christianbrinks@yahoo.de
Here are my favorite releases in the year 2006:
1.Axxis - Paradise in flames (Great Melodic Metal)
2.Leverage - Tides (That was a big surprise, it kicks)
3.The Poodles - Metal will stand tall (Killing Melodic Rock)
4.Tony o'Hora - Escape into the sun (Magnus Karlsson quality)
5.Firewind - Allegiance (Metal as its best from Greece)
6.Mob Rules - Ethnolution a.d. (First class Epic Melodic Metal)
7.House of Lords - World upside down (Great stuff)
8.Brother Firetribe - False Metal (Another big surprise)
9.Edguy - Rocket ride (High Quality Metal from Germany)
10.Pretty Maids - Wake up to the real world (A great band)
11.Sunstorm - s.t. (Joe Lynn Turner is a great singer)
12.Wig Wam - Wig Wamania (I like that stuff)
12.Talisman - 7 (The best Talisman album)
13.Planet Alliance -s.t. (Melodic Metal project with M.Karlsson)
14.Whitesnake - Live in the shadow of the Blues (That's history)
15.Empire - The raven ride (with Tony Martin, Sabbath style)
16.Gotthard - Made in Switzerland (just killing)
17.Astral Doors - Astralism (Metal in Dio style,really good)
18.Jorn - The duke (Hard Rock with a incredible singer)
19.Mad Max - Night of white Rock (Melodic Hard Rock,strong)
20.Giuntini Project - III (Metal with Tony Martin,check it out)
21.Vengeance - Back in the ring (It rocks)
22.Tribe of Gypsies - Dweller on the threshold (Latin Rock)

and two amazing DVD's
Kamelot - One cold winter's night (A class on its own)
Whitesnake - Live in the still of the night (You need to have it)

Cheers from Hamburg

28/03/07: Dr.Rockter - doc111@aol.com
Andrew thanks for your hard work!

1. Michael Borman-Conspiracy
2. Michael Sweet-Him
3. Wig Wam-Wig Wamania
4. Goo Goo Dolls-Let Love in

DVD:
Stryper-Live DVD


13/03/07: Roby - roplenci@hotmail.com
1.TOTO -Falling in between
2.HAREM SCAREM - Human nature
3.WIG WAM - Wigwamania
4.THE POODLES - Metal will stand tall
5.EUROPE - Secret society
6.BROTHER FIRETRIBE - False metal
7.LEVERAGE - Tides
8.QUEENSRYCHE - Operation mindcrime II
9.THUNDER - Robert Johnson's tombstone
10.R.H.C.P. - Stadium arcadium

But, the only CLASSIC, history making album, is TOTO'S FALLING IN BETWEEN!!!!

02/03/07: Stocky - stockn@optusnet.com.au
1. Edguy - Rocket Ride
2. Saidian - Phoenix
3. Leverage - Tides
4. Wig Wag - Wigwammania
5. Pretty Maid - Wake Up to the real world
6. Hammerfall - Threshold
7. House Of Lords - World Upside Down
8. Rage - Speak of the dead
9. Dream Evil - United
10.Tony O'Hara - Escape into the sun

28/02/07: Geoff - ihaveteeth@hotmail.com
Only going to do 20, not including modern ones like the excellent Papa Roach 'Paramour Sessions'... just melodic rock as per the music featured on this site:

1. WIG WAM - Wigwamania
2. TED POLEY - Collateral Damage
3. NEWMAN - Heaven knows
4. HOUSE OF LORDS - World upside down
5. SUNSTORM - s/t
6. BROTHER FIRETRIBE - False metal
7. THE POODLES - Metal will stand tall
8. KIDD BLUE - Big Trouble
9. VERTIGO - II
10. HAREM SCAREM - Human Nature
11. HUMAN ZOO - Precious Time
12. FRONTLINE - Circles
13. PRETTY MAIDS - Wake up to the real world
14. FATE - V
15. SWEET CHEATER - Eatin' ain't cheatin'
16. FINAL FRONTIER - Freelight
17. MIRROR MIRROR - Kick it!
18. SLAMER - Nowhere land
19. ZION - s/t
20. STREET TALK - V

27/02/07: Zok - micke_016@hotmail.com
This is the top melodic records of 2006 - my opinion.

1. Sunstorm - Sunstorm (one of my favourites in melodicrock)
House of Lords - World upside down (HOL is back, amazing)
Slamer - Nowhere Land (Slamer΄s best record, it΄s awsome)

2. Iron Maiden - A matter of life and death(Great maiden record)
3. Pretty Maids - Wake up to the real world (PM΄s second best)
4. Leverage - Tides (A big surprise!, gret melodic songs)
5. Final Frontier - Freelight (They did it again, it΄s the 80΄s?)
6. Survivor - Reach ( Great album from the classic group)
7. Axel Rudi Pell - Mystica (Axel is on high level)
8. Evanescence - The open door (It needs a couple of spinnings)
9. Paul Stanley - Live to win (Surprise, melodic, oh yes!)
10. Poodles - Metal will stand tall (Another surprise)
11. Vertigo - 2
12. Talisman - 7
13. Fate - V
14. Bob Catley - Spirit of man
15. Takida - Make you breathe
16. Meat Loaf - Bat out of hell III
17. Avalon - Avalon


26/02/07: kevin mayes - floridast1fan@hotmail.com
best of 2006

1.animal violent new breed
2.priate line evel knievel factor
3.talisman 7
4.crash diet rest in sleaze
5.wig wam wagmania
6.hydrogyn bombshell
7.harem scarem human nature
8.pretty maids wake up to the real world
9.house of lords world upside down
10.jon oliva's pain manical renderings
11.europe secret society
12.gotthard lippservice
13.bombay black anger management
14.whitesnake live in the shadow of the blues
15.def leppard hysteria deluxe edition
16.evergrey monday morning apocalypse
17.godiva call me under 666
18.jaded heart helluva time
19.jorn lande the duke
20.axel rudi pell mystica
21.demon angels time of confusion
22.circle II circle burden of truth
23.godsmack IV
24.michael borman conspiracy
25.doro warrior soul
26.jesse strange looking for some strange
27.winger IV
28.the poodles metal will stand tall
29.brother firetribe false metal
30.relapsed into a former state
31.snakeryder back for the kill
32.sevendust next
33.bonfire double x
34.firewind allegiance
35.rain stronger
36.kingofthehill unreleased
37.biss x-tension
38.leatherwolf world asylum
39.mariah s/t remastered
40.the 69 eyes devils

26/02/07: Federico T - vanpoison@virgilio.it
1-Winger IV
2-Human zoo-precious time(best new band, I love the sax)
3-Talisman 7
4-Pretty maids-wake up to the real world
5-The poodles-metal will stand tall
6-House of lords-world upside down
7-Paul stanley-live to win
8-Fate V
9-Europe-secret society
10-Wig wam-wigwamania
11-Fair warning-Brother's keeper
12-Survivor-Reach
13-Mad max-night of the white rock
14-Robin beck-do you miss me (yes I do)
15-Bonfire-Double X
16-Demon angels-time of confusion
17-Prey-the hunter
18-Andersen-Laine-Readman 3
19-Hammerfall-treshold
20-Ted Poley-collateral damage
21-Warrant-reborn
22-Jesse strange-Looking ror some strange
23-Last autumn dream-winter in paradise
24-Hardcore superstar
25-Big cock
26-At vance-chained
27-Brother firetribe-false metal
A great year for melodic hard rock, I hope I didn't forget to mention some great releas.e
top singles
1-Treat-Go
2-Pretty maids-as guilty as you
3-Winger-Your great escape
4-Paul Stanley-live to win
5-The poodles-one night of passion
6-Europe-always the pretender
For 2007, Jesse Damon,D.Vaughn and Last autumn have already submit some veery good release, I expect much from Treat.
Greetings from Italy


25/02/07: RockMan - purjfo98@msn.com
..best of 2006

1. Brother Firetribe
2. Leverage
3. The Poodles
4. House of Lords
5. Wig Wam
6. Street Talk
7. Final Frontier
8. Pretty Maids
9. Sunstorm
10. Ted Poley

25/02/07: Mark Jamieson - m.a.jamieson@ntlworld.com
An album i'd forgotten to add to my "Top 10" until after i'd submitted it was: SARACEN - VOX IN EXCELSO.

A fantastic record and one that appears to have been criminally overlooked by most people.

24/02/07: KG - dartfrog@erols.com
Many of my top 20 would be the same as what others have listed with one exception. Skillet's Comatose CD is probably up near the top (Steve Cresswell had it there too). For anyone who hasn't heard it, it is a top notch slab of melodic modern hard rock. The arrangements and harmonies sound just like Harem Scarem at times but some of the songs are actually catchier than the latest from HS. Great disc that is unlike anything Skillet had previously done before (never liked their other stuff and had mistakenly written them off)

KG

24/02/07: Mike Smurawski - msmurawski@wowway.com
My top 10 of 2006:

1. Brother Firetribe - False Metal
2. House of Lords - World Upside Down
3. Sunstorm - Sunstorm
4. Slamer - Nowhere Land
5. Fair Warning - Brother's Keeper
6. Pretty Maids - Wake Up to the Real World
7. Harem Scarem - Human Nature
8. Last Autumn's Dream - Winter in Paradise
9. Frontline - Circles
10. Def Leppard - Yeah

24/02/07: CycleOwl - syklipollo@gmail.com
Great job Andrew once again for the MelRock awards!
And good choice for the vocalist of the year.
I mean Pekka was in his own class this year!!
My choises:1.Brother Firetribe.2.Sunstorm.3.Leverage
4.Street Talk.5.Preview(re-issue)6.Jorn7.Wig Wam
8.The Poodles(great live band)9.Paul Stanley.10.Balance(re-issue)

23/02/07: Arney - daveandmel@kooee.com.au
Heres a list of my personal favorite releases of 2006 which in some cases support the majority here yet in others I'm sure many will totally disagree with. Thats the beauty & diversity of this genre of music & it's artists.I have based this list on what seems to have had heaviest rotation on my Stereo & who's songs have got stuck tightly in my head. Here goes!!
1. Krokus- Hellraiser
2. Europe- Secret Society
3. Bonfire- Double X
4. Queensryche- Operation Mindcrime 2
5. Sammy Hagar- Livin' it up
6. Rhino Bucket- & Then it got ugly
7. Cheaptrick- Rockford
8. The Poodles- Metal will stand tall
9. Toto- Falling in Between
10. Brother Firetribe- False Metal
11. Wig Wam- Wig wamania
Also an honorable mention for Vanishing Point's-Embrace the Silence which I didnt buy until 2006,but if I had it in '05 it would have been high up on that list. Thanks.

23/02/07: Tcman - undertheporch@yahoo.com
1. The Poodles - Metal Will Stand Tall
2. Europe - Secret Society
3. Elton John - Captain & The Kid
4. Cracker - Greatest Hits Redux
5. Vengeance - Back In The Ring
6. George Strait - It Just Comes Natural
7. Vertigo - 2
8. Budgie - You All Are Living In Cockooland
9. Victory - Fuel To The Fire
10. Cloven Hoof - Eye Of The Sun

This Site is still in my top ten bookmarks and i dont see it leaving anytime soon, great work as always.

23/02/07: Jonny B - froloth@hotmail.com
I'm very out-of-sync with music in general. My budget has been very limited and I pretty much stuck to my current interest (The female goth scene.)

However, I listened to 4 female rockers within the melodic rock genre, and it's unfortunate that I couldn't even get the new Nexx.

The four titles I reviewed in female melodic rock:
-- Doro "Warrior Soul" (classic Warlock-style comeback with a stronger production than the previous two albums, and Doro's best vocals since those days.)
-- Lunatica "The Edge of Infinity" (major letdown from "Fables & Dreams")
-- Beautiful Sin "The Unexpected" (Masterplan with a female Jorn impersonator. No other way to describe it.)
-- Shiva "The Curse of the Gift" (Probably won't be liked by anyone on the melrock site. They don't do AOR anymore. They burned that with their previous record label. Their new direction caters to multiple styles of metal that I currently listen to and so therefore gets my default 2006 album of the year outside of the goth genre.)

But I haven't completely lost touch. I did get a chance to listen to some of the high-profile best-of-the-best outside-the-female-rock world highly anticipated albums of 2006, and I rate them as follows:

1.) Brother Firetribe "False Metal"
2.) Slamer "Nowhere Land"
3.) Eden's Lie "S/T"
4.) Circle II Circle "Burden of Truth"
5.) Talisman "7"
6.) Breaking Benjamin "Phobia"
7.) House of Lords "World Upside Down"

There were also a number of major letdowns as well. I won't mention who, but it involved many of the so-called high-profile acts who released godawful albums when there are newcomers who are beating them at their own game. Perhaps the biggest example would be the album Agnes "When the Night Falls." Why is Joey Tempest writing top-notch blows-away-the-new-Europe material for another artist? It doesn't matter. Brownie points for the newcomer for getting so many high-profile musicians to write for her.

Thus concludes my skewed review of 2006 until I can play catch-up.

22/02/07: Ove..N. - ovenielsen800@hotmail.com
Hello world!
Best 6 cds in 06 are:

1.Slamer - Nowhere land
2.Chicago - XXX
3.Frontline - Circles
4.Toto - Falling in between
5.Street Talk - V
6.Blackmore's Night - The village lanterne

Best regards from Sweden












































22/02/07: \"Shade\" - rockofages@gmx.de
Thanks for the hard work Andrew - well here are my faves, bringin' in a band that hasn't been mentioned at all (?) here on the page... ( anyone ever heard of Communic here ?) So since I couldn't decide I have TWO No.1s of differrent styles and no number 2 in my faves of 2007. VAILE is also a fantastic female singer, composer and piano-player that did not have (international) coverage at all, the few people that got the record are totally in it.

1 COMMUNIC - Waves of visual decay
AND 1 WINGER - Winger IV

3 VANDEN PLAS - Christ 0
4 SHIVA - The curse of the gift
5 GPS - Window to the soul
6 VAILE - Red rain
7 SHARK ISLAND - Gathering of the faithful
7 RUFFIANS - Desert of tears
8 MAD MAX - Night of white Rock
9 RIOT - Army of one
10 FAIR WARNING - Brothers keeper
11 DIE HAPPY - No nuts, no glory
12 NARNIA - Enter the gate
13 WETTON/DOWNES - Icon 2 Rubicon
14 GLENN HUGHES - Songs for the divine
15 EMPIRE - The Raven Ride
16 TOTO - Falling in between
17 IRON MAIDEN - A matter of live and death
18 LEATHERWOLF -World asylum
19 THUNDER - Robert Johnson tombstone
20 PAUL STANLEY - Live to win

21/02/07: Darren D - starchild72@bigpond.com
Top 5 cds for me in 06 are:
1. HOUSE OF LORDS - World Upside Down
2. WIG WAM - Wigwamania
3. PAUL STANLEY - Live To Win
4. LORDI - The Arockalypse
5. DAUGHTRY - s/t

21/02/07: Luis Alves - luis.costa.alves@gmail.com
Hello guys.
Here it goes, my humble opinion, this is my list.

1 - Brother Firetribe - False Metal
2 - Street Talk - V
3 - SUNSTORM - Sunstorm
4 - HOUSE OF LORDS - World Upside Down
5 - Slamer - Nowhere Land
6 - Rhino Bucket - And Then it Got Ugly
7 - Main Attraction - Keep On Coming Back
8 - Ambition - Ambition
9 - House Of Mirrors - Desolation
10 - The Poodles - Metal Will Stand Tall

Best regards from Portugal

21/02/07: Brad Duren - uriahok@yahoo.com
Best CDs of 2006:

(1) Cheap Trick - Rockford
(2) Wolfmother - Wolfmother
(3) Toto- Falling In Between
(4) Porcupine Tree - Live Rockpalast
(5) The Poodles - Metal Will Stand Tall
(6) Krokus - Hellraiser
(7) The Answer - Rise
(8) The New Cars - It's Alive
(9) Proto-Kaw - The Wait of Glory
(10) Stiltskin - She

21/02/07: A.M. Ayala - anamat@zonnet.nl
Congratulations on the site and the awards. I agree 100% TOTO and Falling In Between get my vote too for the number one of 2006. You couldn't have said it better. RIGHT ON!!

21/02/07: SoMuchMusicSoLittleTime - mark.d.wilson.c4z6@statefarm.com
2006 ALBUM OF THE YEAR
1) THE POODLES – Metal Will Stand Tall (It Just Kept Climbing The Chart Until It Could Go No Higher)
2) BROTHER FIRETRIBE – False Metal (Not A Bad Track In The Mix)
3) HAREM SCAREM – Human Nature (Spoiled By Their Greatness!)
4) HOUSE OF LORDS – World Upside Down (#1 First Half Of Year)
5) CARMEN GRAY – The Portrait of Carmen Gray (Finland Is Conquering The Melodic Rock World!)
6) TALISMAN – 7 (Put This In The Player Anytime)
7) WIG WAM – Wigwamania (Something Special When Your Kids Are Asking You To Play It!)
8) LAST AUTUMN’S DREAM – Winter In Paradise (A Pleasant Surprise For Me)
9) SLAMER – Nowhere Land (Melodic Heaven On Earth)
10) PAUL STANLEY – Live To Win (10 Winners!)
11) TONY O’HORA – Escape Into The Sun (Magnus Can Do No Wrong)
12) LEVERAGE – Tides (To Quote One Of The Songs – A “Bucket Of Gold”)
13) SUNSTORM – Sunstorm (JLT = Ear Paradise)
14) MICHAEL BORMANN – Conspiracy (Great Jaded Heart Rock)
15) LIVE – Songs From Black Mountain (Excellence from Start to Finish)
16) THUNDER – Robert Johnson’s Tombstone (These Guys Are Money In The Bank)
17) TEN – The Twilight Chronicles (I’ll Take 70-80 Minutes Of This Any Day!)
18) JORN – The Duke (Quite Impressive!)
19) BOB CATLEY – Spirit Of Man (A Bit Tinny But The Songs Are So Good I Adjust And Enjoy)
20) RIOT – Army Of One (My First Endeavor With This Band)
21) DAUGHTRY – Daughtry (Yeah, It Is Nickelback/Creed – But Done Well)
22) AUDIOSLAVE – Revelations (Talent Is Undeniable)
23) EDGUY – Rocket Ride (Make Room For A New Fan!)
24) FIREWIND – Alliance (Caught “Wind” Of This One And Was Pleasantly Surprised)
25) NEWMAN – Heaven Knows (Quite A Grower)
26) MEATLOAF – Bat Out Of Hell 3 (BOOH Brings Out The Best In Loaf)
27) PRETTY MAIDS – Wake Up To The Real World (A Little Hit And Miss But Mostly Hit)
28) FRONTLINE – Circles (A Good Effort No Doubt)
29) FINAL FRONTIER – Freelight (Takes Some Spins To Get Comfy With The Voice But Then It Gets Fun)
30) TRAIN – For Me, It’s You (Some Good Work But Not Entirely Memorable)

2006 SONG OF THE YEAR
1) WIG WAM – Daredevil Heat (This Will Be One Of My Ultimate Energy Songs for All Time)
2) TALISMAN – The 1 I’m Living 4 (It just doesn’t get much better than this)
3) TONY O’HORA – Escape Into The Sun (Blows Me Away)
4) HOUSE OF LORDS – All The Pieces Falling (Don’t Overlook this Brilliant Track from Brilliant Album)
5) BROTHER FIRETRIBE – One Single Breath (Hope This Is Playing For My Last Breath)
6) CARMEN GRAY – Unbeloved (Me & Suzy)
7) HAREM SCAREM – Hanging On
8) THE POODLES – Shadows
9) TALISMAN – Nowhere Fast
10) BROTHER FIRETRIBE – When Love Goes Down
11) TEN – Oblivion
12) CARMEN GRAY – Lost In My Mind Again
13) HAREM SCAREM – Tomorrow May Be Gone
14) LIVE – Wings
15) BROTHER FIRETRIBE – Midnight Queen
16) FRONTLINE – Did You Ever (Taste The Pain)
17) FIREWIND – Falling To Pieces
18) PAUL STANLEY – Bulletproof
19) WIG WAM – Bygone Zone
20) SLAMER – Jaded
21) TOTO – Bottom Of Your Soul
22) LAST AUTUMN’S DREAM – She’s Gone
23) MICHAEL BORMANN – Reaching Out
24) HOUSE OF LORDS – All The Way To Heaven
25) THE POODLES – Song For You
26) HAREM SCAREM – Caught Up In Your World
27) JORN – Blacksong
28) PAUL STANLEY – Lift
29) SUNSTORM – Another You
30) PRETTY MAIDS – Another Shot Of Your Love

21/02/07: Steve Cresswell - cresswell2@blueyonder.co.uk
What an amazingly extensive, informative and entertaining awards feature yet again! Thanks so much for the time, effort and information you provide and for providing the great news re Firefestt 4 too!! Will be getting my ticket for that pronto.
Re 10 best albums of 2006, I'd have to go with something like...

1) Skillet - Comatose.
2) Harem Scarem - Human Nature.
3) House of Lords - World Upside Down.
4) Kutless - Hearts of the Innocent.
5) Europe - Secret Society.
6) Jeremy Camp - Beyond Measure.
7) Fireflight - Healing of Harms.
8) Winger - IV.
9) Fair Warning - Brother's Keeper.
10) Sunstorm - Sunstorm.

Thanks again and keep going with all the amazing service you provide to so many rock music lovers across the world.

Steve.

20/02/07: Sava Karadzic - svemirski_modulator@yahoo.com
My list in no particular order (just awesome albums):

SUNSTORM - Sunstorm
SCAR SYMMETRY - Pitch Black Progess
STREET TALK - V
IRON MAIDEN - A Matter Of Life And Death
MISERY INC. - Random End
BLIND GUARDIAN - A Twist In The Myth
AMORPHIS - Eclipse
LEVERAGE - Tides
GENERACIJA 5 - Energija
EDGUY - Rocket Ride
AMON AMARTH - With Oden On Our Side
WINGER - IV
TONY O'HORA - Escape Into The Sun
FIREWIND - Allegiance
CIRCLE II CIRCLE - Burden Of Truth
GOD DETHRONED - The Toxic Touch
DIONUSUS - Fairytales And Reality
EVERGREY - Monday Morning Apocalypse
KALMAH - The Black Waltz
ANGRA - Aurora Consurgens
SHADOWS FALL - Fallout From The War
DIVINEFIRE - Into A New Dimension
A.C.T. - Silence
UNLEASHED - Midvinterbolt
MIND'S EYE - Walking In H20
GIUNTINI PROJECT - III
DRAGONLAND - Astronomy

Listen all genres of rock/metal kingdom - from pop-rock to extreme metal! Open your minds and hearts!

20/02/07: Peter - p.krebbers@chello.nl
1. Falling in between - Toto
2. Nowhereland - Slamer
3. Human nature - Harem scarem
4. XXX - Chicago
5. Sunstorm - Sunstorm
6. Ambition - Ambition
7. IV - Street Talk
8. II - Deacon street
9. Robert Johnson's tombstone - Thunder
10.2 - Vertigo

20/02/07: Patric Burkhardt (patiscat) - melodicrock.ch@gmx.net
Hi Rockers,
here is my top twenty:
I still find it curious that (IMO) the great Krokus "Hellraiser" album didn't find its way to melrock.com ;-)

1. Krokus – Hellraiser
2. Street Talk - V
3. The Poodles - Metal Will Stand Tall
4. House Of Lords - World Upside Down
5. Axel Rudi Pell – Mystica
6. Ten - The Twilight Chronicles
7. Edguy - Rocket Ride
8. Human Zoo – Precious Time
9. Leverage - Tides
10. Sunstorm
11. Rain – Stronger
12. Michael Bormann – Conspiracy
13. UFO - The Monkey Puzzle
14. Paul Stanley - Live To Win
15. Sammy Hagar - Livin' It Up
16. Toto – Falling in between
17. GPS - Window To The Soul
18. Wig Wam - Wigwamania
19. Brother Firetribe - False Metal
20. Europe - Secret Society

20/02/07: Mark Jamieson - m.a.jamieson@ntlworld.com
Another great year for AOR/melodic rock/metal, and another tough year to decide on a Top 10. However for me there was only one winner from the first time i heared the record, a fine album from start to finish. Anyway, here's my Top 10 of 2006, looking forward already to some superb releases in what promises to be another great year to come in 2007.

1. HOUSE OF LORDS - World Upside Down
2. LEVERAGE - Tides
3. TONY O'HORA - Escape Into The Sun
4. THE POODLES - Metal Will Stand Tall
5. BROTHER FIRETRIBE - False Metal
6. GPS - Window To The soul
7. IRON MAIDEN - A Matter Of Life And Death
8. HAREM SCAREM - Human nature
9. STREET TALK - V
10.TALISMAN - 7

Cheers: MelodicMetalMark

20/02/07: Gegers - schenkerfan_12@hotmail.com
Hello

I really enjoyed reading your 2006 awards, which were at the same time informative and entertaining. I only got one thing to say : don't care about dickheads and keep doing your site which is marvelous and from which i use to steal a lot of news for my website (www.hardrock80.com).
Oh, just another thing : Please talk just a little bit more about the scorpions, coz i'm sure their upcoming album will kick ass! BTW the title and release date will be official this week. Please look on www.crazyscorps.com
I wish you all the best!
Keep rocking and greetings from France.
Here is my best of 2006 :
1.AXXIS : Paradise in flames
2.BONFIRE : Double X
3.PURE INC. : A new day's dawn
4.MAD MAX : Night of white rock
5.MOTORHEAD : Kiss of death
6.UFO : The monkey puzzle
7.DIE APOKALYPTISCHEN REITER : Riders on the storm
8.MSG : Tales of rock'n'roll
9.BOB CATLEY : Spirit of man
10.MEAT LOAF : Bat out of hell III - The monster is loose

Song of the year :
KINGDOM COME : Ain't crying for the moon

20/02/07: Paul - paul@pagrebo.com
TOP 10 CDS:
1. DAUGHTRY- DAUGHTRY
2. HOUSE OF LORDS- WORLD UPSIDE DOWN
3. SLAMER- NOWHERE LAND
4. SUNSTORM- SUNSTORM
5. CHEAP TRICK- ROCKFORD
6. PAUL STANLEY- LIVE TO WIN
7. FINAL FRONTIER- FREELIGHT
8. JOAN JETT & THE BLACKHEARTS- SINNER
9. TEN- THE TWILIGHT CHRONICLES
10. WETTON/DOWNES- ICON II- RUBICON

Special recognition to three veteran artists whose cds are not truly "melodic rock", but more classic pop in nature: ELTON JOHN- THE CAPTAIN & THE KID; CHICAGO-XXX; TOTO- FALLING IN BETWEEN.

TOP 10 SONGS:
1. JADED- SLAMER
2. REACH- SURVIVOR
3. THE DIE IS CAST- WETTON/DOWNES
4. OBLIVION- TEN
5. SHED A TEAR GOODBYE- TALISMAN
6. AC/DC- JOAN JETT & THE BLACKHEARTS
7. MILLION MILES- HOUSE OF LORDS
8. STRENGTH OVER TIME- SUNSTORM
9. LIVE TO WIN- PAUL STANLEY
10. WHAT I WANT- DAUGHTRY

20/02/07: Daymond Cain - quigoncain@hotmail.com
1. Papa Roach - "The Paramour Sessions"
2. Buckcherry - "15"
3. Jorn - "The Duke"
4. Daughtry - "S/T"
5. Paul Stanley - "Live to Win"
6. Poodles "Metal Will Stand Tall"
7. Krokus - "Hellraiser"
8. Whitesnake - "Live In the Shadow of the Blues"
9. Slayer - "Christ Illusion"
10. Europe - "Secret Society"

20/02/07: chris nelson - darkcastle2005@yahoo.co.uk
Like always i agree with 99% of your reviews.but can't believe you missed out my favourite release from 2005, FATE-V.A FANTASTIC ALBUM WITH SOME KILLER SONGS.iI would have put my top 5 as 1.fate-v,2.sunstorm,3.brother firetribe,4.firewind (also not mentioned )and finally 5. wigwam.keep up the good work though,and keep the faith. cheers.

20/02/07: Chris Yancik - cyancik@yahoo.com
Hey Andrew,

I just finiahed reading the 2006 MelRock Awards. It sure looks like a lot of work for one guy - nice job! One thing I wanted to point out is that the singer in Masterplan is Mike Dimeo. (You have him as "Tony"). Being from CT, it's nice to see former local guitar god Jimi Bell get his due with the new HOL. It's also great to see Mike Slamer getting some well-deserved accolades.
Keep up the great work carrying the torch for real rock music!

Wishing you a happy and healthy 2007 -

Chris Yancik
Torrington, CT USA

PS - Do you REALLY think Van Halen will make it through 40 dates with Dave? Ha ha!!!

20/02/07: Richard Bender - rbender3@yahoo.com
Hey Andrew,
Great job on the 2006 awards...And all the other years for that matter...I very rarely ever buy a CD without checking your review of it first...Thanks again for running a great websit...It's the first one I read when I get up in the morning.
Rich

20/02/07: piskueto - piskuetoo@yahoo.es


Well done and first of all i've to present my best congratulations for your work. The first action of the day is to open your homepage. It is very good, thank you a lot.

MychemicalROmance "The BlackParade" is the best album of the year for me. 2Nd place for Todiefor.

20/02/07: Liong Djien KO - LDKO@netvigator.com
1 Russ Ballard- Book of Love
2 Ambition- Ambition
3 Sunstorm- Sunstorm
4 House of Lords- World Upside Down
5 UFO- The Monkey Puzzle
6 Slamer- Nowhere Land
7 Saga- Trust
8 Wetton/Downes Icon II- Rubicon
9 Cannata- Mysterium Magnum
10 Chicago- XXX

20/02/07: Chavis Records - info@chavisercords.net
Hello Andrew!

Great job on the awards this go round. I agreed with many of the picks and objected to a few but over very nice to see there is still a viable market here. I also agree with many of your statements regarding promo/piracy and the advance digital downloading. Also some of us must utilize avenues such as MR.com more.

CR had a great year in 2006 and 2007 looks to be a banner year for us. Quiet Riot is doing quite well as did Hydorgyn. Just maybe CR will be added to the 2007 Awards with a few things we have coming up. American Angel and Sonic X due out late Spring 2007. You heard it hear first Sonic X has signed to Chavis Records.

Best Regards,
B.C.

19/02/07: Axe-Machine - lisvanepanthers@yahoo.co.uk
1 > HOUSE OF LORDS - World Upside Down
2 > FINAL FRONTIER - Freelight
3 > HAREM SCAREM - Human Nature
4 > TEN - The Twilight Chronicles
5 > SUNSTORM - Sunstorm
6 > WIGWAM - Wigwamania
7 > WETTON DOWNES 'ICON' - Rubicon
8 > TED POLEY - Collateral Damage
9 > THE POODLES - Metal Will Stand Tall
10> STREET TALK - V

Biggest Disappointments: TOTO-Falling In Between, AMBITION-Ambition, SHARK ISLAND-Gathering of the Faithful, FRONTLINE-Cirlces.

19/02/07: koogles - endangeredcds@hotmail.com
1. XXX (Chicago)
2. ICON II: RUBICON (Wetton/Downes)
3. WIG WAMANIA (Wig Wam)
4. REACH (Survivor)
5. FALSE METAL (Brother Firetribe)
6. TRUST (Saga)
7. THE MOST BEAUTIFUL PAIN (Valentine)
8. FREELIGHT (Final Frontier)
9. NOWHERE LAND (Slamer)
10. BLANC FACES (Blanc Faces)

19/02/07: Niraj Kapur - niraj@heavensdelight.co.uk
1. Meat Loaf - Bat Out Of Hell
Desmond Child re-discovers his knack for writing and producing mega songs with killer hooks. Meat Loaf's voice is majestic as ever. As good as Bat, part 2.

2. Jeff Scott Soto-Essential Ballads
Not a typical rock album, but very mellow and very romantic. Never goes for the clichιd heavy stringed rock ballad and provides a long list of touching songs.

3. House Of Lords - World Upside Down
After the disappointing Power and the Myth, House of Lords return to their bombastic roots of the magnificent debut album with James Christian on cracking form as usual. A Million Miles and Your Eyes are what every rock band should aspire to.

4. Avalon-Ritchie Zito project
What a great music producer. Co-starring Eric Martin, Eddie Money and Philip Bardowell.

5. Talisman - 7
Another Jess Scott Soto classic. Their sound is updated perfectly for the 21st Century. As usual, Jeff sings his guts out.

6. Final Frontier-Freelight
One of the most underrated bands in melodic rock.

7. Fair Warning - Brother's Keeper
The first three songs are better than the rest of the album. Melodic rock 80's style.

8. The Poodles - Metal Will Stand Tall.
European rock goes from strength to strength. A wicked debut.

9. Last Autumn's Dream - Winter In Paradise
Marcel Jacob from Talisman lends his magic to radio-friendly European rock

10. Paul Stanley-Live To Win.
The soul of KISS and the reason they sang great songs. As good as he was when I first heard Detroit Rock City.

From Niraj at www.heavensdelight.co.uk

19/02/07: Wardys3 - micktward@ozemail.com.au
Wardys3 - Melrock Awards...

TOP ALBUMS OF 2006
1. IRON MAIDEN – A Matter of Life and Death
2. PYRAMAZE – Legend of the Bone Carver
3. EUROPE – Secret Society
4. LEVERAGE – Tides
5. QUEENSRYCHE – Operation Mindcrime II
6. HOUSE OF LORDS – World Upside Down
7. AUDIOSLAVE – Revelations
8. JORN – The Duke
9. BEAUTIFUL SIN – The Unexpected
10. EDGUY – Rocket Ride
11. EVERGREY – Monday Morning Apocalypse
12. STONESOUR – Come Whatever May
13. THE BUTTERFLY EFFECT - Imago
14. RIOT – Army of One
15. POISONBLACK – Lust Stained Despair

TOP SONGS OF 2006
1. QUEENSRYCHE – Hostage
2. IRON MAIDEN – For the Greater Good of God
3. EUROPE – Always the Pretenders
4. EUROPE – Wish I could Believe
5. LEVERAGE – Superstition
6. AUDIOSLAVE – Shape of Things to Come
7. STONESOUR – Soccio
8. IRON MAIDEN – These Colours Don’t Run
9. PYRAMAZE – The Birth
10. HOUSE OF LORDS – SOS in America
11. QUEENSRYCHE – I’m American
12. EUROPE – Forever Travelling
13. JORN – Stormcrow
14. RIOT – Knock’n at My Door
15. IRON MAIDEN – Different World

Cheers all, thanks Andrew, and here's to a HUGE 2007!
Wardy.

19/02/07: Claudio - clax69@libero.it
Best for 2006 ? EUROPE Secret Society
Im really disappointed with TOTO. can`t be the truth, Toto best of 2006 !!!

19/02/07: Joey Taylor - jbjrsdc@hotmail.com
1. Slamer - Nowhere Land 100%
2. The Poodles - Metal Will Stand Tall 99%
3. Tony O'Hora - Escape Into The Sun 99%
4. Leverage - Tides 99% (jap)
5. Brother Firetribe - False Metal 98%
6. Newman - Heaven Knows 98%
7. Wig Wam - Wig Wamania 98%
8. Last Autumn's Dream - Winter In Paradise 98%
9. Talisman - 7 97%
10. Slayer - Christ Illusion 97%


11. Harem Scarem - Human Nature 97%
12. Ten - The Twilight Chronicles 97% (jap)
12. Blue Tears - The Innocent Ones 97%
13. Blind Guardian - A Twist On The Myth 97%
14. Winger - IV 97%
15. House Of Mirrors - Desolation 97%
16. House Of Lords - World Upside Down 96%
17. Sunstorm - Sunstorm 95%
18. Richie Kotzen - Into the Black 95%
19. Europe - Secret Society 95%
20. Circle II Circle 95%
21. John West - Long Time No Sing 95%
22. Catley, Bob - The Spirit Of Man 95%
23. Audioslave - Revelations 95%
24. Paul Stanley - Live To Win 95%
25. Stone Sour _ Come What(ever) May 95%
26. Shark Island - Gathering Of The Faithful 94%
27. Last Autumn's Dream - Saturn Skyline (jap)94%
28. Fair Warning - Brothers Keeper(jap/eur) 93%
29. Rain - stronger 92%
30. "Weird Al" Yankovic - Straight Outta Lynwood 92%

31. Lordi - The Arockalypse 92%
32. Hotwire - Devil In Disguise 92%
33. Butch Walker - The Rise And Fall Of Butch 92%
34. Riot - Army of One 92%
35. Suzy Rawn - Naked 92%
36. Valentine - The Most Beautiful Pain 92%
37. Trivium - The Crusade 91%
38. Motorhead - Kiss of Death 91%
39. Iron Maiden - A Matter Of Life and Death 90%
40. Sodom - Sodom 90%
41. Pretty Maids - Wake Up To the Real World 90%
42. Ted Poley - Collateral Damage 90%
43. Zeno - Runway To the Gods 90%
44. Rock Star Supernova - Rock Star Supernova 90%
45. Fate - V 90%
46. Baltimoore - Kaleidoscope 90%
47. Baltimoore - X 90%
48. Fate - V 90%
49. Cheap Trick - Rockford 90%
50. GPS - Window To The Soul 90%

51. Planet Alliance - Planet Alliance
51. Three Days Grace - One-X
52. Fair Ground - Down In It
53. Eden - Open Minds
54. My Chemical Romance - The Black Parade
55. Mushroomhead - Savior Sorrow
56. Breaking Benjamin - Phobia
57. Tool - 10,000 Days
58. December Radio - December Radio
59. Michael Bormann - Conspiracy
60. Celtic Frost - Monotheist
61. Falconer - Northwind
62. Ambition - Ambition
63. Hurt - Vol.1
64. Deftones - Saturday Night Twist
65. Tears Of Anger - In The Shadows
66. Zion - Zion
67. Alibi - Misdemeanours
68. Mad Max - Night Of White Rock
69. Axel Rudi Pell - Mystica
70. Michael Sweet - Him
71. Jon Oliva's Pain - Maniacal Renderings
72. Planet Alliance - Planet Alliance
73. Funny Money - Stick It
74. Jim Peterik - Above The Storm
75. Wetton/Downes - Icon

76. Street Talk - V
77. Final Frontier - Freelight(jap/eur)
78. Rhino Bucket - And the it Got Ugly
79. Snow Patrol - Eyes Open
80. Spock's Beard - Spock's Beard
81. Daughtry - Daughtry
82. Bullets and Octane - in the Mouth of the Young
83. Killers - Sam's Town
84. Buckcherry - 15
85. Meat Loaf - Bat Out Of Hell III
86. Firewind - Allegiance
87. Black Label Society - Shot To Hell
88. Vengeance - Back In The Ring
89. Edguy - Rocket Ride
90. SORA - Demented Honour
91. Evans Blue - The Melody
92. Blue October - Foiled
93. Kajiyama & Turner - Fire Without Flame
94. Damone - Out Here All Night
95. Vertigo - 2
96. Shooting Star - Circles
97. Tenacious D - The Pick Of Destiny
98. Cloven Hoof - Eye of the Sun
99. Jorn - The Duke
100.Evanescence - The Open Door

101.Ian Parry - Visons
102.Frontline - Circles
103.Shadowman - Land Of The Living
104.Andersen Laine Readman - III
105.Red Hot Chili Peppers - Stadium Arcadium
106.Avalon - The Richie Zito Project
107.The Wreckers - Stand Still, Look Pretty
108.Thunder - Robert Johnson's Tombstone
109.Krokus - Hellraiser
110.Biss - X-tension
111.UFO - The Monkey Puzzle
112.Godsmack - IV
113.Soul Asylum - The Silver Lining
114.American Heartbreak - American Heartbreak
115.AOR - L.A. Attraction
116.Hydrogyn - Bombshell
117.Needtobreathe - Daylight
118.Bonfire - Double X
119.Warrant - Born Again
120.Deacon Street - II
121.Cheyenne Kimball - The Day Has Come
122.Hoobastank - Every Man for Himself
123.Sammy Hagar- Livin' It up
124.Lillix - Inside the HOllow
125.LOVEX Divine Insanity
126.Platitude - Silence Speaks
127.Toto - Falling In Between
128.Cloudscape - Crimson Skies
129.Glenn Hughes - Music For The Divine
130.Bombay Black - Anger Management
131.Saracen - Vox In Excelso
132.Hauteville - Relief Data Incomplete
133.Big Cock - Big Cock
134.Taylor Hicks - Taylor Hicks
135.Fist - Bolted Door
136.John Mayer - Continuum
137.Liberty n Justice - Soundtrack of a Soul
138.Skid Row - Revolutions Per Minute
139.Joker Five Speed - Rock n Roll is A motherfucker
140.Martin Briley - It Comes In Waves
141.Nexx - Another Dawn
142.Quiet Riot - Rehab
143.14 Manitou - Deadlock
144.Shineth - 11 Of 10
145.Trixie - Shelter
146.Live - Songs from Black Mountain
147.Pearl Jam - Pearl Jam
148.Rob Zombie - Educated Horses
149.Obsession - Carnival of LIes
150.Chicago - XXX


Name:

E-mail:

Comment: