SEE BELOW TO ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW!

Brother Firetribe False Metal Spinefarm Records
Produced By: Not Listed

Running Time: 45.01

Release Date: Out Now

Released:

Musical Style: Melodic Hard Rock

Links: Spinefarm Brother Firetribe
93%
Songs: 91%
Sound: 95%
Its Finland's turn to deliver a classic old school style melodic hard rock album wrapped up in a contemporary delivery and backed with a monster production and retail promotion.
Sweden has The Poodles and Norway has Wig Wam. Finland has Brother Firetribe, the band formed by Emppu Vuorinen guitarist for symphonic metal band Nightwish.
The band also features an amazing vocalist in Pekka Ansio Heino a melodicrock.com regular and all-round good guy.
Emppu brings some of the symphonic flavor of Nightwish to Brother Firetribe, especially with the dramatic keyboard passages that dominate this record. The band has a flair for the dramatic and it's interesting to hear keyboards billed equally with the guitar parts.
Swirling keyboards take command and along with the extremely likable vocals, drive the melodies, while the guitar is used primarily for supplying the underlying riffs and when the occasion calls for it, some flashy solos.
The band's sound is reminiscent of the big American 80s synth driven high-tech production, at times reminding me of some of those classic American soundtrack anthems. This style is mixed with the band's European roots for a truly unique, yet familiar sound. Think early Bon Jovi meets Treat with a dash of Cheap Trick and Van Halen for good measure.
Vocalist Pekka has a commanding voice that at times sounds a little like Cheap Trick's Robin Zander in his 80s hard rock mode. No wonder that the guys sound so comfortable covering Cheap Trick's rock anthem Mighty Wings, from the Top Gun soundtrack. It sums up the band's creed totally.
As for the songs themselves, the guys can't do a thing wrong. This is an album packed with one great track after the other.
The album opens in dramatic style with the moody synth drenched Break Out, moving seamlessly into the sentimental rocker Valerie, which delivers a knockout chorus.
I'm On Fire is a moodier again and features a more restrained verse before one of the year's biggest choruses blasts through the speakers with the deafening roar of keyboards, guitars and massive vocals.
The powerful and emotional ballad Love Goes Down has a dramatic flair, while Devil's Daughter lightens the tone a little.
My pick of the entire album is the big dramatic anthem rocker Midnight Queen which bursts through the speakers from the first note. The commercial beat and tone of One Single Breath is a good choice as the single, but every track stands on its own here.
Lover Tonite has that dark synth driven Cheap Trick feel again, Spanish Eyes is a little darker again, but still hits hard and closing the album is Kill City Kid, a track which is more guitar dominated than any other on the album and packs a real punch, featuring another big over the top chorus.
The Bottom Line
The band is mentioned alongside Wig Wam and The Poodles, yet is completely different in style. At the same time, this is definitely going to appeal to fans of these two acts, as like them, Brother Firetribe returns to the glory days of melodic hard rock to source their sound, but presents it in a more contemporary setting with a selection of catchy as hell songs and a monster production.
Essential stuff for long time readers of this site and yet more proof that European bands are kicking major ass.
Discography / Previously Reviewed
False Metal

Line Up:
Pekka Ansio Heino: Vocals
Emppu Vuorinen: Guitars
Jason Flinck: Bass
Tomppa Nikulainen: Keyboards
Not Listed: Drums

Essential For Fans Of:
Classic era melodic hard rock
Track Listing
Break Out *
Valerie *
I'm On Fire *
Love Goes Down *
Devil's Daughter
Midnite Queen *
One Single Breath *
Lover Tonight
Spanish Eyes
Kill City Kid
--*Best Tracks


18/08/09: KurtmanJP - kurtjpenner@gmail.com
Rating: 100
Amazing album. Brother Firetribe is officially my favorite band. With killer songs like Valerie, I'm On Fire, One Single Breath, Spanish Eyes, etc. How can you go wrong? Excellent music, highly recommended to fans of Journey and Van Halen.

03/04/07: Brett - flynnclu@gimail.af.mil
Rating: 100
Absolutelely love this album!!!! It brings me back to the glory days of melodic rock. Can't wait to see what they follow up with. If "I am Rock" a foreshadow of things to come we are in for a real treat!!!

15/03/07: Paul Ottowell - paul.ottowell204@mod.uk
Rating: 98
Great tunes, great singing, great everything. If Carlsberg made albums I reckon it would sound something like this...

20/02/07: Joe Bailey - bigair4you@exis.net
Rating: 0
this is some kind of a joke right? this is typical scandanvian sounding rock that we've all heard 100's of times before ..the vocal is pathetically average and so are the songs
give me a break ....you people who like this dribble will truly listen to anything ....now ..print this and let all opinions be known

04/01/07: Mike - msmurawski@wowway.com
Rating: 95
Wow! I must admit this is the best cd I bought in years. I love the keyboards and almost every song has a great chorus. Well worth the money. I can't wait for their next cd!

28/11/06: Luis Alves PT - luisalves@walla.com
Rating: 99
The Best 2006 so far.
Great rock, great voices, great choros.
"Valerie", "Break out" Th ebest 2006 songs for me.
The real melodic rock.
Simply love it, no more words to describe my hapiness listening to this.

12/11/06: bob - bob@gerszewski.net
Rating: 95
I just got this today, but wow, I am impressed. This album is a defintion of why melodic rock was so great and why it deserves to be tops again. Any fan of the genre needs to have this cd.

10/11/06: Nicodim - reverendnicodim@gmail.com
Rating: 95
This band was one of the revelations for me this year. Great stuff! For sure it's a one of the best albums so far.

09/11/06: Nigel James - nigeljames@blueyonder.co.uk
Rating: 95
Brilliant melodic rock. Every song is catchy and memorable and makes you listen. Superb vocalist, excellent musicians and good production. What more can you ask for and all this from a debut!!

07/10/06: Figge - anderssonfigge@hotmail.com
Rating: 85
Sorry to say, I don't feel the excitement over this album as (almost) everyone else seem to do. Too bad for me, I guess.

It's a GOOD album, no doubt....just not that essential. It may be a preference issue of course, as I dont' care much for the overuse of keyboards and especially the vocals. He sounds restrained and not at all comfortable and the songs seem to be written too high (keywise) for him. I have no problem with Pekka's voice in general, as I like what he did on the Leverage album. Another problem I have with this album is that I recognize parts of some songs/melodies a little too much.

Some songs work much better than others and the album feels a bit uneven. The sound is great though and the best songs are of very high quality. I wish all songs were as great as the best ones....then we would have an essential release. Now it's just a very good classic 80's tinged AOR/Melodic hard rock album.

Still recommendedable, of course.

11/08/06: Dan - epismo@yahoo.com
Rating: 95
Funny thing with that..i didn't like what I heard in samples, i didn't like the vocals, I dind't like so many keyboards.
But there was still some hype so I got the album and listend to it few times.. It is and was really a grover..now I even like so many keyboards, they are done well and difference to other guitar oriented melodic bands, I also notice that each chorus is not simple as on first listen but a longer, well structured thing. I agree with andre that last 3 tracks are a bit weaker,but the album as a whole is great!

25/07/06: patiscat - melodicrock.ch@gmx.net
Rating: 65
For me this too much pop then rock music.
This does do nothing for me, sorry.

20/07/06: Jukkis - jukkisheino@hushmail.com
Rating: 98
Yep! Definitely one of the greatest AOR albums ever! When I first heard One Single Breath and Spanish Eyes back in 2001 sitting in Pekka's flat drinking beer and watching icehockey I though that this is something what should be heard by everyone who loves this kind of music. But back then I would never though that one day there's going to be a band called BFT or that they're going to release album with full of similar knockout AOR music. I love the music they deliver as much as the BFT itself!

Best songs are Valerie, Devil's Daughter, Break Out, One Single Breath, I'm On Fire, Kill City Kid and Love Goes Down.

18/07/06: RockMan - purjfo98@msn.com
Rating: 95
Nothing new that hasn't been said. A great slice of what we all love. I hear Jaded Heart and old Survivor with juiced guitars and harder vocals on this CD. Great job guys! This is what we love and it's slowly coming back to mainstream.

18/07/06: sluss528 - sluss528@yahoo.com
Rating: 7
well i can't agree with these comments at all. this is nowhere as good as wig wam or the poodles it just dosen't have the killer hooks or choruses that the other two bands have! i just found this to be allright but nothing great it just did not hold my attention.

18/07/06: Graham Boyle - gaz@dreamtheater.zzn.com
Rating: 100
Easily worth full marks for me, not a duff track to be found.
One of those albums that gets better and better with each play.
Some great hooks, killer melodies, makes this album one of the best of its kind you'll ever hear.

BTW Andrew, the album so far isn't released anywhere except Finland. European release is August/September and the album will be called, 'Break Out'.

18/07/06: Make - stuntti@hotmail.com
Rating: 93
An alltogether nice album, Love goes down being the overall best song. Midnight queen is too "rock" for my taste, otherwise I'd given 100 points for this.

18/07/06: David - ayotte2506@yahoo.ca
Rating: 97
For once I find Andrew harsher than me. I simply can't stop listening to this cd. To me it is more enjoyable than the Wig Wam and The Poodles, which are still killer cd's. I can't seem to find any fillers on this Brother Firetribe release, unlike a few on the other albums mentioned. All in all a great year so far, for over the top big chorus melodic rock.

17/07/06: Pedro - tenazza@hotmail.com
Rating: 92
Completely agree with everything Andrew has written in this review. Fantastic melodic Hard Rock album with lots of keys, good guitar job and an awesome vocalist.
Killer tracks such as "Valerie", "Break out" or "One single breath" are my fave ones.
Sure one of the best albums of the year.


ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100)
Name:

E-mail:

Rating:

Comment: