SEE BELOW TO ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW!

Bryan Adams 11 Universal (EU, JP, AU) / WalMart (US)
· Produced By: Bryan Adams

· Running Time:

· Release Date: Out Now

· Released: WORLD

· Musical Style: Pop Rock

· Links: Bryan Adams
65%
Songs: 60%
Sound: 80%
Well, at the end of the day this isn't as bad as I first thought, but it still falls way short of expectations and even further short of my ideal Bryan Adams album.
I guess fans have to be resigned to the fact that the days of Reckless, Into The Fire, Cuts Like A Knife and even Waking Up The Neighbors are so far gone, they ain't ever coming back.
Once you get past that mindset and accept that Bryan Adams 2008 is a crooning balladeer, you can sit back and take in 11 for what it is – a selection of laid back pop ballads and mid-tempo adult contemporary tracks.
There are a few songs here that hint at the brilliance of the songwriter responsible for so many past gems, but at the same time, there are equal number of absolute snoozers that simply don't rate at all.
The biggest issue I have is the fact that Bryan recorded the last 2 albums while on tour, with his portable hotel room studio set up. Writing and demoing on the road sounds like a good idea, but why not do it with the full band and then head into the studio when ready?
The way this is being done - everything is just so laid back – and I don't see the method of recording conducive to anything else.
Why Bryan doesn't utilize that kick-ass band of his and get his ass into a real studio is beyond me. He just needs to kick some life into his music, which is suffering from the slow tempo blues. Track By Track:
Tonight We Have The Stars and I Thought I'd Seen Everything are both decent mature mid-tempo pop/rockers, but to kick off the album at this pace suggests that its only downhill from here.
I Ain't Losin' The Fight hints at the past with a more familiar edge to the guitar sound, but the lackluster pace and average chorus kill off any chance of greatness.
Oxygen is ok and likeable enough for recent era Adams material. The best material is stacked towards the front of the album as it just about ends here.
We Found What We Were Looking For is a boring mid-tempo ballad that doesn't do anything for me whatsoever.
More mellowness with Broken Wings, which has a soulful edge and an ok chorus, but just falls flat. If only he got himself and his band into a proper studio, perhaps some of the edge could return.
Somethin' To Believe In is another laid back track that has a pleasant enough chorus, but is just something I don't need or want again from Adams. I have it already.
Mysterious Ways is slow, boring and without a decent chorus hook.
She's Got A Way features some nice guitar work and a better chorus, but the laid back vibe is lost in amongst all the other laid back tracks.
Flower Grown Wild has a country tinge to the song and again, is something I just don't need or want from Adams. A solid chorus lifts the song, but a rockier direction might have made this track a winner.
The subtle and acoustic Walk On By is actually quite brilliant with it's sparse musical arrangement, but again, the impact is lost amongst a collection of similarly paced slow ballads.
The Bottom Line
I have every Bryan Adams album to date, but I won't be purchasing the next one unless he gets guitarist Keith Scott and the rest of his killer band into the studio and delivers a record that conveys some of the energy these guys all have on stage. Just because an artist ages, doesn't mean they have to unplug and stop rocking. If Ronnie James Dio can rock – anyone can.
Discography / Previously Reviewed
· Bryan Adams
· You Want It You Got It
· Cuts Like A Knife
· Reckless
· Into The Fire
· Waking Up The Neighbours
· 18 Til I Die
· On A Day Like Today
· Spirit: Stallion Of The Cimarron
· Room Service
· 11

Line Up:
Promo: Not Listed
Bryan Adams - Most instruments & Vocals
Essential For Fans Of:
· Bryan Adams - Room Service
Track Listing
· Tonight We Have The Stars *
· I Thought I'd Seen Everything *
· I Ain't Losin' The Fight *
· Oxygen
· We Found What We Were Looking For
· Broken Wings
· Somethin' To Believe In
· Mysterious Ways
· She's Got A Way
· Flower Grown Wild
· Walk On By *

--*Best Tracks


02/12/09: DJ - djpstar69@gmail.com
Rating: 40
Bryan one word...........RECKLESS

20/08/09: Feverdream - dherman1971@yahoo.com
Rating: 65
What has happened to one of my favorite artists ever? i havent cared for anything of his since the incredibly amazing "Waking up the neighbours", And i can even tolerate "18 Til i die". I realize he isnt 20 anymore (me Either!)but look at all the other artists/bands that have been around as long as him that are returning stronger than ever why oh why cant BA!? Come on dude, Dianas gone, get over it and lets rock!

18/07/08: Brian - pataluna@excite.com
Rating: 90
Excellent stuff...He should be mellowing out at his age. This is a great cd to listen to while relaxing on the porch swing!!!!

20/05/08: Harv - darkknightjwo@hotmail.com
Rating: 60
Well, I agree with Andrew on this one. This is a cd full of pleasant songs. However, after twenty minutes of the same sound. It gets a little boring. Very much like Paid Vacation by Richard Marx and X by Def Leppard. Was it too much to ask for a rock guitar? I only paid $10 for it because he's on the Walmart label in the US. It's just an average album of ballads and some of them are very average. It is a cd that I would play when I'm sick to mellow the mood.

16/05/08: Chris - lokicoal@nbnet.nb.ca
Rating: 90
Cannot take it off my CD player. Don't care much for the last song but you can't be perfect. It is mellow but very catchy. Maybe the next time out there will be a few more rockers.

15/05/08: William Price - Williiprice@hotmail.com
Rating: 20
If i could send a email to bryan, i would've asked him whats wrong?
Why come up with an album with a so much fluffy songs!
Are the good ól rocking days gone, is this everything you could come up with.
I gave ROOM SERVICE a 40- for the first 4 songs but this really is only woth a 20

15/05/08: Cenzored - Cenzored@aol.com
Rating: 87
Those of us who are waiting for Bryan Adams to make another "Cuts Like A Knife" or "Waking Up The Neighbors," need to realize it ain't gonna happen. "11" is a solid album with all the typical hooks and lyrics you would expect from a BA album. The stand out tracks are "I'd Thought I'd Seen Everything," "I Ain't Losin The Fight," "Oxygen," "Flower Growin Wild," and the haunting "Walk on By." I would like to have seen a bigger involvement from Keith Scott. His licks seem to be missing on many tracks. Overall an enjoyable album but not a classic BA album.

14/05/08: Albert - elijzena@hotmail.com
Rating: 50
Whats to say, a boring release. He tops at Into The Fire (Native Son, best Adams track ever!) and then slowly moves down to the level of this disc.

14/05/08: Ralf - sr.biermann@freenet.de
Rating: 45
Sorry, but this one don´t hit me out of my seats!

14/05/08: Stefan Grimbs - grimbsel@aol.com
Rating: 90
A typical BA CD. Like it.

14/05/08: Bobby - poundcake2000@hotmail.com
Rating: 25
This is rubbish.I have every bryan adams cd and i have seen him 4 times live.But this just doesnt cut it,while i loved his last cd this is crap.

14/05/08: Rob Smith - robertsmith@xtra.co.nz
Rating: 0
I have been a fan of Bryan Adams since the beginning of his career, I have all of his albums, and as a fellow singer song writer, I have always admired both Bryans vocal capabilities, and his song writing skills.
Whilst I will admit Bryans latest album isn't his strongest album to date, he still continues to deliver very good material, and I believe he is thinking more and more about the songs he writes these days.
Some people think Bryan should stay with the full on rock style he delivered in the eighties but I disagree.
For starters Bryan is nearly fifty, and unless you have sung rock songs in a live situation, then you need to know how much effort is involved, considerable.
If you are going to record a rock album then do a tour promoting that album, you know you are in for a very tough tour.
Bryan Adams has been there and done that over and over, he is wisely choosing material that he can sing on the road without doing himself in.
Getting back to the album 11, Bryan delivers his songs like he always has, with feeling and conviction, his voice is maturing but with the abillity to sing ballads like he can, he surely can continue recording albums for quite some time yet.
Thats fine with me, as I like his ballads as much as his rockier songs.
For those of you who think Bryan Adams is a spent force, think again, he's going to be around for a long time yet, go Bryan, you are the man!

Rob Smith.

14/05/08: William - williamslestat@yahoo.com
Rating: 67
I am a fan of the Waking up the Neighbors album, so I cannot get to excited about this album. Bryan Adams was slightly rockin on his last studio attempt(Open Road), but this albums most rockin song might have been the ballad he released as its single, "I thought I'd seen everything". I am guessing his lead guitarist Keith is not involved on this project! I was listening to Kymera and their new album and while listening to Borderline thought I wish Bryan Adams would attempt a song like this one, but he may never be a rocker again so don't hold your breath. I would only reccomend this to soft rock listeners! Walk on by is the song that may appeal to a larger variety of music listeners. I aint losing this fight has some hooks that I like as well, but Bryan many of us miss your roots, so its hard to give a high score to this album

14/05/08: Jim K - jimnowknows@yahoo.com
Rating: 85
While Adams is a bit more mellow these days, I think his last three albums, starting with ON A DAY LIKE TODAY, are much more representative of "melodic rock" than a lot of what falls under that umbrella, which sounds more prog or even metal to me. He does go a bit too "ballady" towards the 2nd half of the disc, but these are good songs. "Mysterious Ways," a song completely dismissed in the review above, is actually one of the finest tracks on the record, featuring Adams arguably best vocal performance on the CD. "Mutt" Lange may be a God on this site, but I've always found him prone to juvenalia and inane lyrics -- Adams has actually rebounded as a writer since the verrrrrry uneven 18 TIL I DIE, working often with critically acclaimed songwriter Gretchen Peters, who is more of a singer-songwriter. Some of his best tunes of recent years are cowritten with her, such as "I Was Only Dreaming", "Don't Want to Live Forever" and "Rock Steady" -- she is the cowriter of "Mysterious Ways" and two tunes which bring Jim Vallance back to the fold -- "Tonight We Have the Stars," a PERFECT Bryan Adams tune, and "Flower Grown Wild" a good track detailing the downfall of Lindsay Lohan -- oops, I mean an unnamed Hollywood starlet. Vallance also contributes to the lovely "Walk on By" and the England-only bonus track, the anti-war "Way of the World" which is a blazing rocker, so those looking for that might order the British import, or the German cd single, which also contains the excellent mid-tempo "Miss America." In fact the only true dog on the cd is "We Found What We Were Looking For," inane melodrama that -- guess what -- Mutt Lange had a large hand in, co-writing and producing. More Vallance and Peters please, and less Lange next time -- Lange also worked on the only dog on ROOM SERVICE, "Flyin'." You guys pulled it off (musically, anyway) on NEIGHBOURS, but it's officially a dysfunctinal relationship now!

"11" has impeccable production and memorable hooks -- it also has lyrics that sometimes get a little blah and a strange lack of bridges...too often, when you think a bridge is gonna start, he just repeats the chorus, which keeps good songs like "I ain't losing the fight" and "Something to Believe in" from being great -- they just ain't over the hump. But he's traded in the trying-too-hard metal mixed with schmaltz that was 18 TIL I DIE for something more organic in the last decade, so that even the ballads are generally truly soulful, guitar-driven pieces as opposed to some of the early 90s material.

He feels comfortable and is delivering solid if unsurprising and, yes, a tad mellow records. In fact, if you haven't gotten ROOM SERVICE, get it -- it's a vastly underrated record that any lover of Adams' raspy vocals and straightforward songwriting would love. "11" to me isn't quite as varied in its songwriting, but it is miles ahead of 18 TIL I DIE and the awful SPIRIT soundtrack. So be heartened if you didn't dig those, you could still well like this one...I do.

14/05/08: Chris Kaiser - soundadvice2k@bresnan.net
Rating: 0
Bryan Adams has become a little predictable with his last few releases. I think when an artist is lucky enough to have a few mega-successful releases they always seem to struggle for a while after that success. Bryan even brought in Jim Vallance to help on this one but they just didn't find the magic they once had. Overall, this is a pretty good Adams CD full of pop songs and ballads. I miss Bryan Adams the rocker.

13/05/08: John - ryderrocks3@yahoo.com
Rating: 0
Oh sorry i just woke up and this dreadful cd finished thank god - what the hell happened??? This cd is like what White Castles is for constipation - this will help any sleeping problem!!!

13/05/08: scuppanet - me@mystreet.com
Rating: 50
Poor show Bryan. Lift-music release from a past master of AOR. Sad. Check out "Way Of The World", a bonus track that rocks much more than anything on the full cd. Reckless it ain't!


ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100)
Name:

E-mail:

Rating:

Comment: