SEE BELOW TO ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW!
RATT / RATT
LABEL: PORTRAIT/SONY VK-69586
OVERALL: 69%
Produced by: Richie Zito
  1. Over The Edge
  2. Live For Today
  3. Gave Up Givin' Up
  4. We Don't Belong
  5. Breakout
  6. Tug Of War
  7. Dead Reckoning
  8. Luv Sick
  9. It Ain't Easy
  10. All The Way
  11. So Good, So Fine
The verdict seems to already be in for the new Ratt album, as it has been out a few weeks now and I am a bit late with this review.
The jury seems evenly split, with many fans not liking it, but other casual fans seem to have given it a warm reception.
I am writing this review from a different perspective. I have never really been a Ratt fan.
I don't think they were ever in the 'A' League - even though they recorded a few respected albums and have a strong fan base - they still weren't a multi platinum act. I also think that vocalist Stephen Percy is average at best.
Basically this is a modern hard rock album that will disappoint long time fans, but maybe pick up a few new ones. In the long run though, there might be more lost than won.
The vibe of the album seems reasonably restrained and the production from Richie Zito is smooth as a baby's bum.
But the energy of the album is flat. There is no real spark
to it. Rather than nasty sleeze rockers, the band come across as 'quite polite' chaps. The production is the best thing about the whole album. It is just really nice to hear a rock act with a decent budget behind them. It really makes a difference and transforms a band like Ratt - that might not have been so important - into something more worthwhile.
Still there is a few fillers and a few killers, so have a listen and make your own mind up. The main problem is the album does lose it self in a few average tracks and a few that sound a little too familiar.
Pearcy's vocals are also a minor disappointment.
And is it just me - or do the guys have a definite Aerosmith tinge to their sound these days?
Over The Edge is hardly a flurry of hard rocking attitude to start. But it isn't a bad track.
Live For Today is a hook filled acoustic driven pop rocker. Not bad, but not 100% convincing.
Gave Up Giving Up is a 90's styled modern rocker. The vocals just aren't strong enough on this and it's not one of the albums' better tracks.
The nearly 7 minute long We Don't Belong however, is one of the album's best tracks. If not THE best. An acoustic based ballad that rocks some is what the band should be doing more of. Great song.
Breakout and Tug Of War are both similar styled mid tempo rockers.
Tracks like Dead Reckoning and Lets Go All The Way simply fall flat. There is not urgency to them and seemingly no energy either. Very tame!
Love Sick is a little more memorable, but long time fans may wonder what's going on.
It' Aint Easy is a better track. More acoustic driven and anthem-ish, I like the tune a lot. Very melodic.
So Good So Fine ends the album the way it should have started. High energy, plenty of guitars and a good strong hook. All is not lost I guess!
So not a bad record, but not one that will set the world on fire or have fans running about in a frenzy proclaiming what a genius John Kalodner is for signing them up.
Let's hope they keep their contract for another album and it's a step up from this.
PRODUCTION: 88%SONGS: 70%VIBE: 68%ATTITUDE: 65%
ESSENTIAL FOR: Some Ratt fans, some LA sleeze/hard rock fans.


08/01/06: Jacob - razingkaine@hotmail.com
Rating: 9
I love this album. Its one of my favorite Ratt cd's ever. I

17/06/04: JE$$IE R. - kickstartmyhart@hotmail.com
Rating: 85
I have heard a few of the songs from this album and I thought they were pretty good. So far so good.

07/03/04: J Cowan - y2jbyrd@yahoo.com
Rating: 90
Ratt is maybe my favorite band from the old days so maybe Im a bit biased, however I thought this was a very good album.`we dont belong` is just an awesome ballad and `it aint easy` sounds like it belongs on `detonater`. The leadoff track `over the etdge` sounds like a great contemperary version of what rock radio seems to be playing these days.`Breakout` `So good so fine` and `All the way` remind me of old Ratt.Altogether, highly recommended for Ratt fans and for most fans of this site.

01/12/03: wade strickland - sixstringfever@hotmail.com
Rating: 50
this is by far there worst album compared to the stuff in the past but they stayed true to there roots unlike post 80's metal bands it is an average metal record

10/05/01: fedrico fromRiccione(italy) - teme@guest.net
Rating: 80
I like this album,there are no modern and grunge inluences.Ratt sound still faithfull to hold time.Their sound is less hard than in the past,sometimes they look to Aerosmith.The start: Over the edge worried me a little,this mid tempo is the worst track of the album.My favourite tracks contrary to the others writers are:Luv sick,great party rocker groovy DEAD RECKONING catchy great rytm section IT AIN'tEASY,ALL THE WAY and So good so fine. The last five songs are the best.DULCIS IN FUNDO.

28/07/00: Julian Angel - julianangel@nitroentertainment.de
Rating: 78
This album brings Ratt back to where theyīd come from. Itīs not a step back, but the continuation of a unique style that attracts with tough,
"blotzing" rhythms, screeching guitars and yet melodies between static and melodic but attractive in any way. "Gave Up Givinī Up" and "All The Way" are songs that remind the die-hard Ratt fan of the glorious times of "Invasion Of Your Privacy", whereas "Live For Today" and "Love Sick" might as well have been on the "Detonator" album. All in one, the 1999 Ratt album is no "real" Ratt album yet, it comes along much better than the disappointing, alternative-influenced "Collage" recording and lets us hope for better times again. By the way, an analog production with some more reverb and delay could have had a better effect on the whole music.

09/07/00: Jon Paine - jonjuan@iname.com
Rating: 80
This album dissapointed, but that's only because Ratt is one of my favorite bands. Ratt was one of the best "hair" bands. They had a better lead guitarist (DiMartini) than Crue, Warrant, Poison, Winger...you name the band, and Ratt probably had a better guitarist (Dokken, Van Halen are some of the few exceptions). They also had one of the most distinctive voices at lead vocals (note: distinctive doesn't mean good, but a trademark sound is often better than a traind but generic vocalist). Ratt could rock with the best of them, and they did. The problem with this album is, despite the catchy hooks and melodys (they are abundant), this album isn't as hard as any of their previous efforts. They used to be as hard as "Feelgood" era Crue, or "Cherry Pie" era Warrant, but this album is more like Ratt's version of Van Halen 2--some good songs, but not as hard. Ok, there is one hidden classic among the good-but-not-great tracks, "Breakout." This one is a crunching mid-tempo rocker with a catchy verse and a
cool sitar played over parts of it. I heard a report that the boys in Ratt recorded some harder stuff but the producer wouldn't let them use it. Too bad. Maybe that's why Pearcy left. Overall, a good album, but not great.

26/03/00: Chuck_Eaton - Chuck_26@mailcity.com
Rating: 84
Not what you expect from Ratt, but its a cool album with some kickin' tunes, such as "Gave Up Giving Up", "Live For Today", "Over The Edge", and the most Ratt-like on this one, "So Good, So Fine". My favorite here is the balladesque "We Dont Belong", which is the best Ratt(or Arcade)ballad ive ever heard. A few tracks that were a little too weak for me were "Dead Reckoning" and "Luv Sick", just NO heart and soul to them. Still, its a cool album, but in the sea of Rock and Roll, it just wont make a big enough wave.

15/02/00: peter - rockhit@rebeca.sk
Rating: 55
i donīt know , itœ good but ...
Where is hit ? Where are melodick parts ? Where is old magic ?
Detonator is more better . But itœ good that boys are back .

31/01/00: Troy - tnt13@ecenet.com
Rating: 70
I remember hearing the first single "Over The Edge" last summer while camping out of town. Even then, I knew it was Ratt. Pearcys' vocals are unmistakeable (good or bad?) and the riffs and drums are the heaviest for them to date. I'm not sure who was responsible for Ratts' first two releases, but that influence hasn't been since. Despite the other albums, I don't think the magic of "Out Of The Cellar" or "Invasion Of Your Privacy" has been matched. Sonically this is a good album to listen to. However, there is no "You're In Love" or "Wanted Man." No catchy hook or chorus from years gone. Some come close, but this still sounds like a put together album of leftovers and demos. But, it's still Ratt.

28/11/99: Dyer Knight - open@epix.net
Rating: 85
Being the first cd that Ratt has released on Portrait records proves that all of the thoughts that I had about this label are true.
A friend once said, "Keyboards take the Hard right out of rock." I never realized what he meant until now. The songs aren't all that bad don't get me wrong but the production KILLS me!!!
Thinking that he is the savior of 80's rock Mr. Kalondner has forced all of the bands that he has signed to have outside writers! Bright idea John that's maybe why Great White's cd has the same dull feel too!!
And vocal harmonies are used heavily on this cd! Listen to Ratt's old cd's most of them had Gang Vocals rather than overly produced "harmonies".
As a whole I like the cd. I don't LOVE IT though and I should have! With the budget and the talent that "hair bands" under this label now possess this is a poor attempt to rock the world.
Now for the good..... I can hear older Ratt influences all over this cd. I can hear "Back For More" and "Way Cool Jr." I can listen to this entire cd without skipping a track but I'm a Ratt fan. Normal listeners will not be as easily persuaded not to hit the skip track button.
Sad as it seems reading can prove my point. One of the best tracks on the cd is the closing track " coicidentally the ONLY song on the cd written by Pearcy and DeMartini without someother goofs input.
My whole problem with this cd is TOO MANY COOKS SPOIL THE BREW. Rock music is a way of life and an attitude most of the most popular bands and cd's are gritty and have that harder edge to them. Try and turn off a few of those compressors when your in the studio! Try and get some raw feel and "distortion" those guitar tones are whimpy!
Jimmy Page was sloppy and had a better tone. You guys killed the feel on this cd! I for one can't blame Ratt they tried. It's the "BOSS" in the suits that "think" they know what fans want. Want to know what fans want ask them we want that old school hard rock sound that madth


ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW!

Name:

E-mail:

Rating:

Comment: