SEE BELOW TO ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW!
STEELHOUSE LANE / SLAVES OF THE NEW WORLD
LABEL: MTM MUSIC 199682
OVERALL: 97%
Produced by: Mike Slamer
  1. Call It Love
  2. Find What We're Looking For
  3. Son Of A Loaded Gun
  4. Turn Around
  5. Slaves Of The New World
  6. All I Believe In
  7. Into Deep
  8. The Nightmare Begins
  9. Where Are You Now
  10. All Or Nothin'
  11. Seven Seas
  12. If Love Should Go
On my first listen, I went wow! Where are the keyboards? This rocks....
Second listen I was going 'well what's happening here?'
Third listen I went 'bloody magic!'
The album just clicked. This is a sensational album. The album is heavier and tougher than I expected, but still filled with some of the best hooks and harmonies of any AOR release in recent times.
MTM have released one of their best ever records in Slaves...
Mike Slamer has also done a stupendously good job producing this album. Any major label would be proud to release this album.
It might take a few listens to fully absorb the songs, the hooks, the layers and the harmonies as this time around we don't already know half of the songs!
This album proves without doubt that Slamer is a premiere song writer and his protege Keith Slack is a killer vocalist and one hell of a discovery.
Opening the album is a sharp mid tempo hard edged rocker Call It Love. It's pretty evident from the outset that the production value has increased markedly and the sound has tightened also.
Keith Slack has a harder edge to his voice this time around and the guitar is more prominent in the mix. In turn, the keyboard has been turned right down.
This opening track is Hardline all over and easily matches the quality of that album. Find What We're Looking For has a more melodic slant to it's intro, with a killer guitar hook. It has a heavy and majorly melodic bridge / chorus and some huge harmony vocals. There is several layers to the track and a great solo to finish the song.
Son Of A Loaded Gun has two sides to it. The softly sung and performed verse and the explosive Hardline / House Of Lords chorus. The song overall is mid paced - neither a ballad or a rocker. Just a strong slow to mid paced rock song. Turn Around sees more technical guitar work in the style of early Asia or Steve Lukather and Toto at their best. Another soft verse that builds to a big AOR ballad chorus that continues to grow and is one hell of a catchy ballad.
Then Slaves Of The New World is insane! The intro is hard and heavy. A furious song with a modern feel and an almost rap vocal effect in places. The song chops and changes pace and style, has another killer guitar solo and as for the chorus - it's heavy, fast and out there!
It's generally not representative of the rest of the album style wise, although you will certainly hear the great production sound.
All I Believe In is one of the best ballads I have heard in years and the best Steelhouse Lane ballad so far. The intro runs a couple of minutes through a slow guitar solo similar to Neal Schon's approach on his Late Nite solo album.
The song builds to a wonderful chorus of soaring vocals and harmonies. Great track.}
Into Deep heads back into rocker mode. A very enjoyable and fairly standard guitar driven rocker with some great vocals and more harmonies come chorus time. A little more Hardline influence.
The Nightmare Begins is another slightly different and very cool track. The intro is a heavy blend of guitar and keyboards and is a little progressive in it's arrangement. The song overall and it's chorus are darker and moodier than the rest of the record.
Where Are You Now rocks out and contains some pretty technical guitar work from Slamer. Now we are not talking Dream Theater here, but it is sure as hell above your average AOR album standard!
All Or Nothin' is another classic Slammin' AOR tune (get it?). Big harmonies and chorus. A mid paced and somewhat darker verse leads into that big chorus.
Seven Seas is an absolute killer. A classic AOR anthem. Big chorus, big vocals, big harmonies and matches any great song from any era of melodic music. In If Love Should Go, you couldn't have picked a better track to end the album. It's guitar driven and uptempo, but has a more easy going approach. A more pop rock track with another harmony filled chorus and while neither being heavy or soft, just feels like a end of album track.
It would appear one your first few listens that there is less pure AOR and maybe less hooks on Slaves then the band's debut album. True to a point, but after a few listens this album really comes to life and is clearly a better release than is predecessor. I hope it will be thought of like that by all.
Regardless, this is a classic AOR album, one of the best that MTM have ever released and should be added to every reader of this site's collection.
Have a listen out for the God of melodic vocals Chris Thompson on backing vocals through the album and especially on Seven Seas.
This will become a classic without doubt and is indeed the stuff legends are made of.
PRODUCTION: 95%SONGS: 98%VIBE: 95%ATTITUDE: 98%
ESSENTIAL FOR: All AOR fans, Hardline/House Of Lords fans, Mike Slamer fans. Everyone!
DISCOGRAPHY: Mike Slamer - Streets . City Boy . Angry Anderson . Tower City; Steelhouse Lane - Metallic Blue . Slaves Of The New World


10/11/06: Autyproject - sword01jt@yahoo.com
Rating: 100
amazing! my #1 album ever....thanks melodirock.com for your super reviews. I never hear a genius like mike slamer!

20/04/05: Ramoneska - tobisio@interia.pl
Rating: 0
STEELHOUSE LANE IS THE BEST BAND OF THE WORLD!!! http://ramoneska.blog.onet.pl

20/04/05: Ramoneska - ramoneska@onet.pl
Rating: 0
http://ramoneska.blog.onet.pl <--- see it If you like Heavy metal. Steelhouse Lane :) I love this band. They're the best!!! I'm from Poland and I know this band from 4 years. But I never heard "metallic blue" :( Pozdrówka dla wszystkich fanów Steelhouse Lane!!!

01/04/04: Mark - mark@wyse583.freeserve.co.uk
Rating: 100
A masterpiece. If you are reading this review, buy this record, it is everything you could ever want from a melodic rock album. "Find What We're Looking For" and "Seven Seas" stand alongside the GREATEST AOR songs of ALL TIME. Keith Slack has lungs of steel and is a superstar. Mike Slamer is a guitar and songwriting genius - enough said?

26/04/03: ANDY - ALYON@CWCTV.net
Rating: 0
Dear MELODIC ROCK can you amend my review PLEASE it should read Keith Slack vocals remind me off Jeff Scott Soto,what SL do they do very well indeed.

25/04/03: ANDY - alyon@cwctv.net
Rating: 95
Albums like this don't come around that often,each and every track is strong (no fillers here),the band have that HOL or EYES [1st album] feel to it only BETTER! Great production job & Keith Slack sou

02/08/02: maverick - top_gunner1@hotmail.com
Rating: 99
i think this is one of the best releases ever and not only because steelhouse lane is one of my favourites but also because they are piece by piece good musicians and keith slack is one hell of a vocalist. but that's my opinion!!!

13/07/02: Mark Kennedy - clareandmark@freenetname.co.uk
Rating: 95
A real masterpiece has been created here and if you like 80's style (proper rock) rock then you should own this album.I ordered this album once I had read the review (in 1999) and I was not dissapointed to say the least.From start to finish this album is hard melodic crunchy rock with a couple of ballads thrown into the mix.The title track is a little different though it does grow on you after a couple of spins,but apart from that I would say if you posses Hardline,Tyketto or House Of Lord albums then you'd better have a good excuse for not having this one in your collection.

11/03/02: Mike - Blackz34lumina@aol.com
Rating: 70
I ordered this CD and was very excited about it. Like mentioned above, the first two songs really make you think this album is gonna kick ass. It doesn't, average music yes, not bad though.
Not a must have CD in my opinion.

10/11/01: Lazarus Contra - pelivor@hotmail.com
Rating: 100
I have to agree with most of the other reviews. I just bought this one as a sale item recently, and it just edged off Def Leppard's Euphoria as my "Pick of 1999." Wish I could write more than that, but trust me, just one listen, and the album basically writes it's own review. No explaining needed: The best album of 1999.

07/01/01: Craig - bish@eisa.net.au
Rating: 100
If you were to only buy one album in 1999, this would have to be it. Simply breathtaking!

22/09/00: brian burgess - brianburgess1@yahoo.com
Rating: 97
Awesome songs, great hooks and excellent guitar. One of the best AOR CD's of 1999. This one sounds great cranked up in the car...Slack and Slamer work well together and produce a sound and CD that will last the test of time...highly recommended for all AOR fans.

17/09/00: MarkB - mbent@pcisys.net
Rating: 100
This album ROCKS! Excellent playing. The Vocals are AWESOME! Buy it immediately.

05/08/00: alex lee ericsson - alex_lee_ericsson@yahoo.com
Rating: 10
This is what we´re waitin´for.....masterpiece,good songs,master production,of course there´s always something that we could complain...but i´m gonna pass all those today,´cause there´s barely anything at all on that section so far!
i´m gonna look forward for their upcoming materials,that´s 4 sure.

24/07/00: T.Quincey - BUDDYLOVE@tinyworld.co.uk
Rating: 11
From the 1st play of this album I couldn't put it down, it's just awesome, the vocals & musicianship crafted on this is beyond exception! & with the revamped "THE NIGHTMARE BEGIN'S" you lot out there need 2 check out the"STREETS 1ST" album as that's where it originates from with the original vocalist "MR. STEVE WALSH" of KANSAS. Keith Slack's vocals are brilliant, & Mike Slammer's guitar work is some of the best i've heard in a long long time. As a huge fan of good decent melodic rock it don't get much better than this!!!. An excellent job well done & let's have lot's more of it PLEASE!!!!!!!!

07/02/00: Mats - matsbruer@hotmail.com
Rating: 0
Awesome , best cd of -99 has it all; songs,playing,production and vocals,guitars,keyboards ,you name it and this record has it!

06/02/00: frankgate - frankgate@hotmail.com
Rating: 80
I was a little disappointed when I first listened to this record. The production is great, the voice of Keith Slack and the sound too, but just 4 or 5 tracks are great, the other ones are just "normal". I don't think it's the best record of the year, check out Bob Catley's records.

20/01/00: Marc Vanway - vanway@hotmail.com
Rating: 10
Why this fuckin' album is not out in Spain?? I've listened to 3 songs and it's pure AOR!! IS the best I've ever listened since europe's 91 's prisioners in paradise. That's great man!!

08/12/99: Lukaz - lukaz@wishmail.net
Rating: 95
This album is great and rocks your pants of. I think that's one of the best rock albums from '99. Let's start the millennium with more of this.....

20/11/99: Mick - Mick_Powell@ibis.com
Rating: 9
This is what AOR is all about. Excellent songs, brilliant guitar work, big vocals, and killer production. Mike Slamer continues to prove why he is one of the kings of AOR. This is my choice for the #1 MUST BUY album of 1999!

03/11/99: cK - christer.kangas@privat.utfors.se
Rating: 10
This is the best AOR album of the year! This album's got it all, from soft ballads like "All I believe in" to heavy rockers like the title song. The sound,production, of the album is excellent like Mike Slamer's production of City Boy's album wasE-

02/11/99: JACE - JPAWLAK@DMXSYS.COM
Rating: 30
I like to start all my reviews with assuring you that I listened to this album at least 5 times. I don't want you to think I'm making snap judgements. After reading all the raves and great things about this band and Mike Slamer I was positively delirious to get my copy... I won't make that mistake again. As a matter of fact between this album, the Beggars and Thieves Grey Album, and Stranded's "Long Way To Heaven" I'm going to try to make it a habit not to get too excited about any records by bands or band members that I've never heard of before. What was even more dissapointing was that the first two songs on this album rock! So I thought it was gonna be a great record. But from there on out they're all boring if not horrible songs (with the exception of "The Nightmare Begins".
Track by Track.

1. "Call It Love"- Easily the best track on the record. Great harmony vocals and an incredible tough riff at the end of the song that doesn't appear anywhere else in the track. In my opinion they should have build a song around that fading riff!! Would have been much better.
2. "Find What We're Looking For"- Great vocals make this song worth listening to. Nice keyboard work and strong mix.
3. "Son Of A Loaded Gun"- I've had my fill of rockers who wanna be cowboys. This song is too slow, too bland, and too pointless.
4. "Turn Around"- Did they really have to drag this out seven minutes???
5. "Slaves of the New World"- This song isn't really bad it's just kinda silly. The words are empty and after the strong production of the first couple tracks this one just falls flat. (The drums sound like they were lifted from an old Casio synthesizer)
6. "All I Believe In"- I wasted my time listening to this song, I won't waste your time talking about it.
7. "Into Deep"- God, it just urks me when bands purposely spell titles wrong to try to be cute or clever!!
8. "The Nightmare Begins"- The third and final good track on this album. VERY nice mix of keys and guitar. Strong chorus and lyrics with an actually point!! GOOD SONG!
9. "Where Are You Now"- Lyrics and chord changes older than the hills. Snore
10. "All Or Nothing"- Lyrics and chord changes older than the seas. Yawn.
11. "Seven Seas"- Again lyrics and chord changes I've heard a million times before. And what kills me about this is that "All Or Nothing" and "Seven Seas" have the SAME CHORD PROGRESSIONS and they stuck them right next to each other on the album. You'd think that SOMEONE would have noticed that these two songs are actually the same song with one just a little faster than the other and would have the foresight to at least break them up on the track listing so it wasn't so obvious!!
Anyway... overall I was very dissappointed with this album. If you can get a copy for under $10 it may be worth your money just for "The Nightmare Begins" but otherwise don't waste your time. That's my opinion and I"m entitled to it, sorry if I offendean


ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW!

Name:

E-mail:

Rating:

Comment: