Spitfire Records
Produced by: Bob Marlette

Released: OUT NOW / Website
Closest Relative: Motley, Kiss
GENRE: Hard Rock

  1. Do Your Own Thing
  2. Dead
  3. Everything's Alright
  4. Shine
  5. What Do You Think You Are
  6. Dear Friend
  7. Do You Know My Name
  8. Hypnotized
  9. I Wanna Be
  10. No More

Union is the joining of two of rock n roll's great survivors - Bruce Kulick, the longtime guitarist of Kiss and John Corabi, the one time vocalist for Motley Crue and that dramatic album that turned the Motley style on it's head.
On the last Kiss studio album that involved Bruce - Carnival Of Souls - things were taking a truly dark turn. Same goes with that Motley Crue album.
With Union the style is a hybrid of both those albums, but with a much more cohesive mix of melody, power and originality.
This album shreds the guys first album (with all due respect to that) and is one of the best modern hard rock albums I have heard.
I am certainly not a fan of the modern sound for most parts, but this album is done so well, you cannot help but take a liking to it.
There are parts of Corabi's Motley sound here and even a little of the bluesy feel of his previous band The Scream. The opening track Do Your Own Thing has that vibe.
Add to that some distorted 90's guitar sounds, big fat guitar riffs, some psychedelic effects and most importantly - lots of embedded melody and The Blue Room is born.
What adds that all important melody, besides some cool bridges and time changes, are the little things. The acoustic guitar in the background or the hint of a keyboard on a few tracks, or the lead break over the top of a really heavy riff.
There is, on several tracks, a heavy retro 70's vibe crossed with a little Led Zeppelin and Beatles for good measure.
And one cannot under estimate the input from producer Bob Marlette (The Storm, Sahara Snow, Gregg Rolie). His credibility must be going through the roof.
John Corabi in my mind is singing a lot clearer than he used to. Less screaming and more pronounced vocals. Of course there are a few instances of some big screams!
Tracks like Dead has an intense air to it, while the acoustic guitar/keyboard combo back in the mix lighten the mood.
Everything's All Right sounds like any good solo Ozzy Osbourne track with a cool hook in the chorus.
Shine has more vocal effects, a real Led Zeppelin like acoustic work throughout and then a cool modern chorus.
What Do You Think You Are is one of the heavier and openly aggressive numbers on the record. Very dark, very heavy and very cool. A personal favorite.
Dear Friend is just the opposite! Laid back, mellow until the chorus rises like a demon and as quick as it came, disappears again.
Do You Know My Name has that aggressive modern edge to it again. This is similar to the Zakk Wylde approach on Sonic Brew - just with a more melodic twist.
Hypnotized is another cool mid tempo hard rocker with plenty of distorted guitar. Another Motley like number.
I Wanna Be is a really moody track that at over 5 minutes rolls along and builds to a passionate climax.
No More ends the album with a classic uptempo, but acoustic driven hard rocker. One of the more commercial numbers on the album and a catchy one at that. Modern rock radio should look at this.
The band is rounded out with Jamie Hunting & Brent Fitz and it is really refreshing to see that the band with producer Bob Marlette wrote the whole album together as a unit. I think that has created a really strong album.
BOTTOM LINE: The best album I have heard either Corabi or Kulick involved in, modern, heavy, melodic and overall a very attractive record for the modern rock fan.
ESSENTIAL FOR: Established Union & Kulick/Corabi of great 90's/modern rock.
DISCOGRAPHY:Union . Live At The Galaxy . The Blue Room