SEE BELOW TO ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW!
IMPELLITTERI
SYSTEM X

VICP-61794
Produced by: Chris Impellitteri

Released: OUT NOW / Website
Relatives: Yngwie, Rob Rock
GENRE: Hard Rock
OVERALL: 79%

  1. United We Stand
  2. Perfect Crime
  3. End Of The World
  4. She's A Nighttime Lover
  5. Slow Kill
  6. Why Do They Say That
  7. Rock & Roll Heroes
  8. Gotta Get Home
  9. What Kind Of Sanity
  10. Falling In Love With A Stranger

I must admit I held a great deal of anticipation for the new Impellitteri album. It features the return of vocalist Graham Bonnet and comes after a few years gap between albums.
All the effort that seemingly went into this being written and recorded, I felt for sure a classic would be on the cards.
It's not. This release does come as somewhat of a disappointment, but it's because it's a bad record.
Not at all. It's just not the classic I had hoped for.
Turning back to the mid 90's, Impellitteri's Answer To The Master is a classic. That is an album that features some of the best heavy guitar shred songs in recent memory, plus it features some fabulous harmonies, plus high class lead and backing vocals.
System X certainly rocks, but it offers no surprises. Chris Impellitteri's guitar sound is in tact in the same fashion it was on the last few records and the song style has not varied either.
Pounding hard rockers, with plenty of hard riff's and the required dose of shredding and soloing are all part of the charm of the record.
If you are a converted fan of his previous works, then this album will come as no surprise and will probably slot in alongside his other releases with ease and I have no doubt that many great hours of listening pleasure will follow.
But for those looking for Bonnet to bring something new to the mix, it hasn't happened. I love his vocals, they are certainly as strong as ever and as powerful as the album requires, but in ditching Rob Rock, Impellitteri hasn't come out better off.
This album's lyrics (co-written with Jo Eime) are also seemingly more political than ever, which don't seem to sit as well as they could in the structure of the music. On other occasions, they turn a little sleazy and I have to say that in some places they are quite lame. Minor point.
BOTTOM LINE: The line up of James Pulli on bass, Ed Roth on keys and Glen Sobel on drums create a tight musical environment that sounds great. But musically it just doesn't excite me as much as it should or as much as previous albums have.
10 tracks, no ballads, all rockers makes this a big hard rocking album, but one with little variation.
Stick to the much better and quite essential Answer To The Master and Victim Of The System albums.
PRODUCTION: 88% SONGS: 70% VIBE: 70%ATTITUDE: 80%
ESSENTIAL FOR: Die hard Chris Impellitteri fans, most regular Impellitteri fans and Graham Bonnet fans.
DISCOGRAPHY:Stand In Line . Impellitteri . Victim Of the System . Answer To The Master . Screaming Symphony . Eye Of The Hurricane . Crunch . System X


31/01/06: Uli Chris - ulichris@yahoo.com
Rating: 85
All around a much better CD than "Stand in Line", with Graham Bonnet certainly older but still -- by far! -- the best singer on the planet. Ah; Impellitteri's play is much clearer, too. Nothing like "Stand in Line" where he tried unsuccessfully to be Yngwie but -- much like everyone else -- wasn't. Back to Graham Bonnet: don't you dare disappear on us mate! We need a whole lot more from you; there's no replacement -not even a poor substitute.

11/01/05: Mikko - masta_epeli@jippii.fi
Rating: 70
I like Impellitteri very much, but i have to say that this album isn't very good at all. Graham's shoutin voice doesn't fit to impellitteri's sound. Rob Rock Rocks in vocals. Style is also heavier, wich i don't like. Albums like Screaming Symphony or Eye o f the hurrincane are one of the greatest Impellitteri albums ever!

30/07/03: Big Mike - bigmike@hotmail.com
Rating: 75
I've never been a huge impelletteri fan but I do have alot of their stuff. Bob rock is a great man, but surprisingly my favourites are the both Graham Bonnet albums. This is one of them. It's heavy, I think the sound is bigger and the songs are more melodic. Great heavy rock!

06/02/03: Pablo Riofrio - priofrio@hotmail.com
Rating: 80
I got Impellitteri System X european version with a better art cover than japanese version and it's rocks, well there are few lack moments but all in all is a very good record. Graham Bonnet's voice is still powerfull and enjoyable. Recommended.

15/12/02: mark - marhenpedder@totalise.co.uk
Rating: 95
This album justs krrps getting better with every listen !!
BONNET just powers through the songs with a sense of melody.
Chris is as fluent & riff driven as ever !!
Please forget all preconceptions & give it a chance & you will love it.
More BONNET & IMPELLITTERI pleas !!!

13/06/02: savacap - ka1912@otenet.gr
Rating: 55
I found this recording boring since Impellitteri repeats itself. The voice of Bonnet is something that you can find interesting in this cd but nothing more.

08/06/02: Alejandro - acontrec@netscape.net
Rating: 99
This album just rocks! The Impellitteri/Bonnet duo delivers great uptempo melodies and powerful solos. I don't miss Rob Rock a bit! Graham Bonnet is back for good. Remember he's 53 years old and in System X he sounds like 20 years old guy, so powerful and intense his voice is! The songs are all a crunching wall of sound with intense armonies. This album is a must for every fan of real guitar driven albums. Excellent. I want more!!!!

25/05/02: Roger Cabauatan - rrc@hotmail.com
Rating: 50
Chris & Glen Rocks! But WE NEED ROB ROCK!

http://www.impellitteri.home.ph/

25/05/02: mad maxx - djmadmaxx@adelphia.net
Rating: 100
great album, great vocals and of course one of the finest guitarists on the planet.. I would reccomend this album to anyone

21/05/02: Rick - ozzyland17@aol.com
Rating: 92
System X Rocks! No ballads here. This is not Stand in Line II or just another Impellitteri CD w/Graham Bonnet singing Rob Rocks parts either. It sounds like a combination of all with "Perfect Crime" sounding like something off of the Anthem CD. Overall this CD is outstanding and I am hoping they head back to the studio to build on what they have started here.

11/05/02: freddy de keyzer - freddydekeyzer@hotmail.com
Rating: 73
A difficult one, this CD. The production is huge and the music rather good. It's more speed (melodic) metal than most releases, reviewed over here. The problem for me is Graham Bonnet. He's more shouting than real singing, it's all a bit rough.
An average, but not bad release. And the running time is not more than 40 minutes, once again !

08/05/02: frytz - frytzsdmf@gmx.net
Rating: 95
Well, after the first listen I thought, well it's just average, but after several runs (more than 10 times), I gotta say: IT ROCKS!! The Songs are cool (not Classics) and that's fine with me. Graham just kills!! I think it could have needed a bit more aor-feel, but hey Graham can sing this heavy stuff as well!
I LOVE IT!

06/05/02: Dan - meisenkaiser2001@yahoomail.com
Rating: 70
When I heard that Bonnet was back in the boat, my expectations grew high...after listening to the album I felt somewhat disappointed. Impellitteri's guitar and Bonnet's vocals sound great of course but the songs are not as exciting as I have hoped and also the lyrics are a lot weaker than on other IMPELLITTERI albums. Also I've got the feeling that they are trying to sound as heavy as possible which does not always suit this great band. Anyway...it is not a bad album-but it is not a classic either. "Stand In Line" is the best!

01/05/02: Mike Stockdale - little_mikey_1975@yahoo.com
Rating: 95
A lesson from one of the masters of melodic (shred) metal!! All ten tracks rock hard and imbed themselves into your mind after the first listen. Graham Bonnet sounds as energetic as ever and the band in general seem to have found great inspiration and renewed sense of purpose from the events of 9/11/01. Several tracks are based on these events and it is obvious that the guys were motiovated and more than eager to express themselves through their music while recording this CD.
I honestly thought this band was dead after hearing CRUCNH. The music was subpar and Chris seemingly had run out of ideas. The departure of Rob Rock put the nail in the coffin for me as band as the band is concerned. I am a HUGE Rob Rock fan from his Joshua Days, through Impellitteri, and now Warrior and his solo outing. Let me say that I was SHOCKED to be so pleased with this album in spite of everything I've just said.
A must for fans of the band and fans of melodic / shred metal in general!


ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100 please)

Name:

E-mail:

Rating:

Comment: