SEE BELOW TO ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW!

Lita Ford Wicked Wonderland JLRG Ent.
· Produced By: Lita Ford & Jim Gillette

· Running Time: Too Long

· Release Date: Out Now

· Released:

· Musical Style: Good Question

· Links: www.myspace.com/litaford
22%
Songs: 10%
Sound: 35%
Lita Ford returns from her island retreat to unleash her own special brand of high energy girl power rock n roll upon the masses. Not quite.
An album like this may have made a few waves in 1998 (not among the long time fans though), but in 2009 someone should have told Lita that it is ok once again to make music from the heart and just be true to who you are/were – for a while there, Lita was the Queen of melodic hard rock. For me the trio of releases Lita, Stiletto and Dangerous Curves were the pinnacle of her career.
The days of having to sellout to trends is over – the music industry is on its ass and the remaining loyal fans that still buy CDs just want their favourite artist to be themselves. To rock out like 20 years has never passed.
You know, everyone is getting older and bands seldom make more than one album every couple of yeas, so why are artists pissing away valuable time trying to be something they aren't?
There was a time during the mid-late 90s where just about every stadium rock act tried to step out of the box and cash in on the trend of going modern.
But how many bands actually recorded something credible or worthwhile?
I can count on one hand the ones that worked. The rest stood out as turds amongst roses.
In recent years common sense has finally prevailed and most bands have realized that it is better not to piss off what fans you have left and instead try and cater to those fans by delivering the music they want – the music that made these bands great in the first place. How could Lita Ford not be aware of this? Maybe she had to make this record just for herself.
My biggest gripe here is that this is not a Lita Ford album. Seriously – she is barely heard on some tracks. Instead, this is a Jim Gillette vanity project.
Jim is Lita's husband and the former frontman of indie metal act Nitro.
Now, had the album been credited appropriately or given a project name, you could forgive the pair for getting self-indulgent and doing whatever they like. Fans could then like it or lump it. But under the Lita Ford banner, there are expectations. Long time fans are expecting classic Lita and that is simply not delivered in any way.
Regrettably, she talks through many of the songs, let's Jim handle the majority of the choruses (which in some cases are almost non-existent) and barely manages to remind anyone of how she used to rock. This is one heavy record mind you – the heaviest Lita has ever sounded, but it ain't classic rock.
The other issue I have with this album is the lyrical content and inspiration behind the songs. It's cringe-worthy. The ultra-sexual interplay between Jim and Lita is way over the top and the nature of Jim's creepy vocals just makes it sound ever more strange.
This collaboration may be great therapy for their relationship, but it is the fans that will be left needing therapy to recover from listening to this. You can almost hear them having sex while writing and recording the album.

Track By Track:
Crave – a barrage of tin drums and samples with spoken word vocals over the top before Jim Gillette's Neolithic vocals destroy an already bad chorus.
Piece (Hell Yeah) – Lita speaks more than sings once again until Jim takes over with a really whiney vocal that make Axl Rose sound like a Rhodes Scholar.
Patriotic SOB features more horrible whiney vocals, but at least Lita sings for a bit.
Scream For Me features some heavy grunge inspired guitars and a horrible programmed drum sound. One of the more reasonable choruses where Jim stays out of it and Lita sings.
Inside – utterly horrid. Lita barely appears on this track, leaving Jim to "sing" about having sex with his wife. The vocals really are appalling.
Wicked Wonderland – More or less just heavy down tuned guitars and effects. Or just noise to these ears. Terrible chorus…tuneless.
Indulge is one of the worst tracks I have heard in years. Effects filled vocals and programmed effects that make no rhythmical sense.
Love – more tuneless noise – almost the exact same song as Patriotic SOB!
Betrayal – more noise. Bombastic rhythms and muffled vocals – especially from Jim.
Sacred – slower, but utterly tuneless again. A ballad that just drones on.
Truth – hate the modern style, but at last a song where Lita takes control and actually sings during the chorus and gives us a small glimpse at who she used to be.
Everything – total mess. Nothing but shouting and computerized noise.
Bed – yet more of the same programmed effects and muffled vocals. As for the lyrics? Spread them baby? Lick my fire???
Garden – it is the same songs over and over on this album. Sounds like a punk/grunge version of SOB again.
Push – "You're so hot…the way you do it I lose control….push push…feels so tight…you'll get yours after I get mine…" No further comment necessary.
The Bottom Line
Sorry Lita. We'll see what the fans have to say, but I can't stand this record. I see a lot of intensity and a lot of effort that has gone into writing and recording the album, but I don't see it as a piece of music long time fans are ever going to warm to – stylistically and lyrically.
I don't mind updated and fresh sounds coming from any artist, but it has to make sense. I needed to hear more of Lita singing and much less of Jim's vocals….fewer effects and computerized "enhancements" and more melodies – heavy or otherwise.
So long without a record and now a real out of character return – this could prove to halt any comeback before it ever gets started. And for fans, that's a real let down.

Discography / Previously Reviewed
· Out For Blood
· Dancin' on the Edge
· Lita Ford
· Stiletto
· Dangerous Curves
· Black
· Wicked Wonderland

Line Up:
Promo: Not Listed

Essential For Fans Of:
· Jim Gillette
Track Listing
· Crave
· Piece (Hell Yeah)
· Patriotic SOB
· Scream For Me
· Inside
· Wicked Wonderland
· Indulge
· Love
· Betrayal
· Sacred
· Truth *
· Everything
· Bed
· Garden
· Push

--*Best Tracks


05/01/10: Big dawg - hondarc51rocks@yahoo.com
Rating: 0
Horrible............Expected a better effort or just effort....

02/12/09: DJ - djpstar69@gmail.com
Rating: 10
Lita......keep Jim at home and out of the studio please!!!!!!!
I love you Lita but this is really a huge disappointment... HUGE! wish you well and success either way,better luck with your next cd though.

02/12/09: GodAwfulMusic - mjseascas@yahoo.com
Rating: 0
This is the worst comeback CD of all time, I too have been a fan since the Runaways and have always ran out and gotten her stuff. I should of waited until I read Andrews review. Man what a mess, Jim Gillette is definitely way to high up in the mix. I posted a review on Amazon and got pummeled by either Lita & Jim or someone from their camp, the people who replied to the review failed to understand that a review is an opinion, so after seeing all the negative junk posted by them I decided that no matter what she releases in the future I won't be one of the fools standing in line to buy it. As for this collection of Gillette Ford sex tapes I see nothing on this that could ever get on the Radio or that anyone would want to hear in concert. I doubt that they read reviews unless they worship at the Gillette Ford alter because if they read all the negative reviews posted about this mess they might just get back in the studio and make some real music.

19/11/09: Jeff - jeffryche@yahoo.com
Rating: 15
I found a copy of this used for 5 bucks and I paid about 4 bucks to much. A few days after buying I read the review at this site and thought what have I done. I am now just listening to it about a month and a half after owning this garbage.Next time I will think twice.

10/11/09: Jason Craig - jason@lumpygravy.com
Rating: 0
You know, I could have just wiped my rear with the cash I paid for this dreck. Awful. Shut up, Gillette. You suck.

01/11/09: ROSEVILLE - roknroseville@yahoo.com
Rating: 15
Don't Bother.............

28/10/09: Ken - alivenwell72@yahoo.com
Rating: 0
Andrew got it right. This album is atrocious! What the hell happened? I am a fan of Jim Gillette and his work with Nitro but his vocals are hurting this album. We all want to hear Lita. If Jim wants to sing then he should give Michael Angelo a call and do a Nitro reunion album. Hopefully she does better next time. Very disapointing effort.

25/10/09: Johnny Z - johnnyz04@hotmail.com
Rating: 40
I have no problem with artists "Growing" or "Branching Out A Bit"....So Long as they still sound like themselves (Lita's "BLACK" Cd is a Good Example) and NOT like they're trying to sound like what they think is in at the moment....I also agree, if Jim is going to do bacground vocals, they need to be IN THE BACKGROUND....Hopefully Lita will redeem herself on her next release....40 Out Of 100.

16/10/09: peter - peter@aor.com
Rating: 2
Holy Crap!!! This should have been titled Jim Gillette - Wicked Wonderland featuring Lita Ford!...Jim Gillette needs to stay far away from microphones. Would be ok if the guy could sing...NOT!!!
Lita was quoted as saying that this album was sort of a "sexual autobiography"; describing her often kinky relations with husband Jim Gillette. That's not really the subject matter I expected or wanted to hear. This is one of the worst albums I've heard in years. Absolutely no resemblance to the Lita Ford I remember from the 80's. I really wanted to like this album but i just can't. Wow!! Just checked out the rave reviews this cd is getting at Amazon. Come on, are people THAT tone deaf or what???? Well NOT this little black duck :D

15/10/09: LongtimeBostonFan30 - ss454wagon@hughes.net
Rating: 10
WOW! A ten out of sympathy....what kind of chemicals were used when creating this waste of studio time???????
I can't believe this was even allowed to be presented to the general public's ears.
Lita!!! Don't give up....try again...you know what we want!Don't you?

15/10/09: leo - paradisecitymusic@gmail.com
Rating: 15
There are moments when you think Lita is going to start to sound like Lita and then her husband sneaks in and ruins it all .He's such a terrible singer.Thanks to him this project sucks. I think this was more of his masterpiece then her's.His ideal of what she should do.It sounds forced. He's a control freak and this is the worst thing I've heard in years. I saw an interview with him and all he talked about is you gotta buy the cd to see the cover artwork. You can't download it cause you need to see the hidden images in the art.WTF? Nothing about it being any good. I guess if you take someone to a island, brainwash them for 15 years, make them stop doing what they love and then tell them hey honey money's running low put out this crap to make big daddy some moola. Songs are mostly about him.Don't waste your time or money.

15/10/09: Dr. Phillip Crenshaw - pcrenshaw@eccc.edu
Rating: 5
I think it is wonderful. To explain, the album is very aggressive with wonderful riffs. Also, from my point of view, the vocal are great. By the way, I was not expecting a rehash of "Kiss Me Deadly". Furthermore, she is suffering negative reviews--just as Judas Preist did with Nostradamus--for thinking outside of the box. Honestly, should fans expect artists to contain their artistic visions? Finally, just listen to Betrayal, and you will get a since of the energy, effort, and passion put into this album.

13/10/09: Dave - djm123@mindspring.com
Rating: 0
Good god, what a waste.. Nice enough girl, but damn.. NOT GOOD.

13/10/09: jim - jimtsel@yahoo.gr
Rating: 1
This is the worst record i've heard so far in 2009.It's definitely Lita's worst album by far and i'm sorry i wasted an hour of my life to listen to this.I like the cover though.Definitely 1/10 for me.There's really no reason to say more because the review already nailed it.

13/10/09: Mark - Tantrum1213@yahoo.com
Rating: 0
This is a BIG FAT 0. Who drugged Lita, tied her up, shanghi'd her to a deserted Island, and brainwashed her ? This is utter garbage. The above is the only way she would have ever put her name on something as lame as this. Sorry Lita, but EVERYONE knows you can do FAR better than this, even if you were 70 years old..............

13/10/09: Shawn Pelata - pelata71@gmail.com
Rating: 4
Wow...just...wow. It's not all "bad", but it does sound very, very 90s...like she recorded all these songs 10+ years ago. Some of the riffs are decent...some of the grooves are cool...but it all sounds so patchwork/disjointed that it gets hard to sit through. And Jim Gillette needs to stay far away from microphones.

13/10/09: Ditty - dmdittman@hotmail.com
Rating: 0
I've been a fan of Lita's since the Runaway's, so it's hard for me to say that I think this release or hers is terrible! I managed to listen to the whole thing once through and i'll never listen to it again. This project should have been released as a Jim Gillette solo with Lita as a guest performer, because stylistically that's what it is. I'm not a fan of his type of music so of course I don't like this at all. I'm a fan of melodic rock and there simply is not any melodic rock throughout this noise. Lita has completely abandoned the formula that put her name in lights in the first place. I'm glad she is happily married and all, but I hope that she leaves her husband at home if she ever gets a chance at recording again.

12/10/09: Chris Kaiser - soundadvice2k@bresnan.net
Rating: 50
I thought I was buying a Lita Ford CD, not a Jim Gillette CD.

12/10/09: looksthatkill - rockstarparking@hotmail.com
Rating: 0
I totally agree with Andrew on this one, I have no idea what Lita was thinking. There is nothing on here that stands out like anything Lita has done, not even a memorable guitar solo, nothing!
It took so long for here to return and then we are given this strange, obscure down right awful record.
Lets hope she goes back to the drawing board and gives the fans what they want.


ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100)
Name:

E-mail:

Rating:

Comment: