a l b u m r e v i e w s

Produced by: Ralph Santolla
  1. Nations
  2. Shaman
  3. Beyond The Pain
  4. Until The End Of Time
  5. Angelfire
  6. Heaven Sent
  7. Julia
  8. Bound For Glory
  9. Run
  10. Waiting For Godot
  11. Remember
  12. Saving Grace
  13. Color Of Night
  14. Hide Behind My Face
  15. Dawn
  16. Return (Hidden)
Here is the new album from Millenium, featuring Ralph Santolla and Todd Plant from Eyewitness.
The Eyewitness album came and went and I must say that I haven't listened to it in a fair while.
This new project sounds more promising already, with a stronger production and more melodies evident from the outset.
The album is still as heavy as anything, with several layers of guitars and a heavy rhythm section guiding the whole shebang. Although these guys are American, the flavour is distinctly European. Very much in the vein of Zeno, Fair Warning, Ten, MSG, Scorpions and UFO (to quote the label - and I agree).
Shaman leaves you in no doubt the guys are here to rock and Beyond The Pain carries a cool harmony underneath the hard riffs.
Angelfire continues the hard rocking - a good hook leads the chorus.
There is only one ballad on the album - the acoustic pop rocker Julia.
Remember is also an interesting 1 minute accapela break between two rockers.
The guys will attract a similar audience to that of Ten and their Spellbound album, but don't quite hit the high's that that album did.
At 15 tracks (plus a small hidden track) the album does run too long, but that is a minor point.
BOTTOM LINE: A better album second time around, resulting in a solid heavy album. Fans of the debut & Eyewitness will need no convincing, but others still might.
ESSENTIAL FOR: Fans of the Eyewitness debut album & harder edge hard rock.
DISCOGRAPHY:Eyewitness . Millenium

b a c k t o i n d e x