SPV 089-72362 DCD
Produced by: Nikolo Kotzev

Released: OUT / Website
Relative: Phantom Of The Opera!
GENRE: Hard Rock

    DISC 1 - Act 1:
  1. Overture (Inst.)
  2. Pieces Of A Dream
  3. Desecration
  4. Introduction
  5. Home Again (Inst.)
  6. Henriette
  7. Caught Up In A Rush
  8. The Eagle
  9. Plague
  10. Inquisition Act 2:
  11. The King Will Die
  12. I Don't Believe
  13. Try To Live Again DISC 2:
  14. War Of The Religions
  15. The Inquisitor's Rage
  16. Chosen Man Act 3:
  17. World War 2
  18. World War 3
  19. Because Of You
  20. The End Of The World
  21. I'll Remember You

Bloody hell, where does one start with this review?
Let's get straight to the point. This CD isn't going to be for everyone, but regardless of that and what style suits your tastes, this is a masterpiece.
This is Phantom Of The Opera for the hard rock world.
Over 4 years in the making, this CD has to be the crowning achievement of guitarist Nikolo Kotzev's career. He would find it impossible to top this and would be foolish to try.
But I believe that he won't even try, next time going back to what he was doing previously while writing and arranging this masterpiece - that is making great European hard rock records under the Brazen Abbot banner.
Let's go through the people involved in this project. On vocals we have Goran Edman, Jorn Lande, Joe Lynn Turner, Glenn Hughes & Doogie White.
Damn! How is that line up!
To describe this album in a simple review would be impossible, so I implore anyone who's interest is sparked by this review to investigate further.
The sound: Primarily, this is a European hard rock album of the highest caliber. The backing band of John Levin, Mic Michaeli, Ian Haughland, along with Nikolo himself, play their hearts out on this ambitious project and guarantee that the music is of the best possible standard.
Any fans of Brazen Abbot and classic European hard rock albums will dig this.
The delivery: That's what is so unique about Nostradamus. The music here is every part of the best of the artists mentioned above, with the fabulous vocals of Hughes, Turner, Edman, Lande set to music so imaginative and technically involved, it will take months to get to know this album.
The instrumentation: Everything! The usual guitars, rhythm section, vocals and keyboards with the addition of non-traditional heavy metal instruments as a 35 piece symphonic orchestra, strings, violins and layers of harmony with the vocal choir.
It really is quite amazing to witness this all on one record.
Kotzev is to be commended for his arrangement of this piece of music. I admit here and now, I have never heard double kick drums set to a vocal choir before! It's also the first album I have heard a shredding Violin solo on!
I will say that both in it's favor and against it, it is a very complex piece of music. The only possible reason that could be held against it is that the listener will have to be in the mood for this album. You can pull it apart into separate track selections, but the reality is that is sounds best running from start to finish.
That small point aside, this CD has everything going for it. Educate yourself with this album as what someone can do when they put their mind and talent to it.
The great thing about this album is that everyone is on top of their game. The music is first rate obviously, but the vocals by all involved are also at their best - even the very quiet of late Alannah Myles sounds gorgeous.
The hardest thing about putting this project together must have been the timing of getting all involved to contribute their parts and then mix those parts together.
That has been done brilliantly, with the guitars balanced by the vocal choir, balanced with the rhythm section, balanced with the orchestral parts.
This has to be one of the best pure European classic hard rock album in years. Certainly this year.
BOTTOM LINE: This album has everything. Pumping hard rock, mid-tempo melodic anthems, soaring choir harmonies, soft instrumental interludes, dramatic symphonic passages, acoustic ballads with orchestral backing, orchestral string backing, passionate ballad duets between the male and female leads and straight up anthem rockers and even some fine Richie Blackmore inspired Renaissance pieces.
If you own any previous Brazen Abott albums or any solo Joe Lynn Turner, Glenn Hughes, Jorn Lande, Doogie White or Goran Edman albums - this demands buying. It is a masterpiece!
ESSENTIAL FOR: All fans of great European hard rock and every fan of the involved artists.
DISCOGRAPHY:Brazen Abbott - Live & Learn . Eye Of The Storm . Bad Religion; Nostradamus

ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100 please)