SEE BELOW TO ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW!

Rick Springfield The Day After Yesterday Gomer/DKE
4812002
· Produced By: Rick Springfield

· Running Time: 70.39

· Release Date: Out Now

· Released:

· Musical Style: Melodic Pop/Rock

· Links: Rick Springfield
73%
Songs: 60%
Sound: 90%
I wrote the majority of this review last week but decided to give the album a little extra time. I am glad I did. While the flaws within the album didn't vanish, the extra playback time did allow some of the positives to shine more clearly.
In the end, the major decider with this album comes not from anything Rick Springfield could have done better, but rather with the listener's willingness to accept the music within. That's the way it goes with covers albums.
Those that have been with this site since the early days know my passion for Rick's music. There has only been a few albums released by Rick in the 8 years I have run this site, but all have received favorable reviews – Sahara Snow (85%), Karma (98%) and Shock Denial Anger & Acceptance (93%).
The key to liking this record is gauging what you really want out of it. If you want a pleasant, laid back album you can play in the background without asking too much of it - or perhaps an early morning album that doesn't attack the senses - then this fits the bill.
I'm not a huge fan of covers albums. In recent times there have been a bunch of them and few have really impressed. I do believe the main point of a covers album is to try and do something a little different with the material.
The best covers album I have ever heard is Andy Taylor's Dangerous album, which takes some classic rock tunes and rocks them to within an inch of their life.
This album has a different vibe altogether. After the rock and shock of the last album – possibly Rick's heaviest ever - The Day After Yesterday strips things right back and delivers a sentimental selection of soulful pop classics.
Rick has gathered some interesting songs, leaving them largely intact, with versions not far removed from the originals.
That brings us to the two main problems with this release. First of all the album contains 14 tracks which are all basically slow or mid-tempo tracks at best. The album is crying out for a change in pace and something a little more uptempo. The last half of the album really struggles for pace and is calling out for a Living In Oz style guitar rip.
This is also a very long album. 40-50 minutes would be plenty of time to pay tribute to these songs, but at nearly 70 minutes, the pacing problem is only exaggerated.
The other problem as far as I see things, is the choice of songs. While Rick's unique identity is showcased brilliantly on a few tracks, it is equally lost on others. His trademark vocals and delivery style are scaled back in order to fit the format of the original songs, which sees some tracks not working out. A dozen or so listens into this album and I am left with nothing new to discover. There is little variation to the original songs. I'm normally left analyzing Rick's songs months after the release of a new album, but I feel I know everything about this record already.
The negatives out of the way, there are also several positives. The most obvious and important is Rick's own performance. His vocals on this album are warm, inviting and engaging. On a few songs in particular we get a glimpse of the true, raw, emotional vocals that were at times abandoned on SDAA. This album is a return to the vocal style of Karma.
The quality of the overall production is also first rate. The sound is amazing. The majority of Rick's records have sounded a million bucks and he proves here that he is ever more at home in his own studio. The production and arrangements are lush and the subtle layers of synth, keyboards and additional guitar overdubs are perfectly and evenly mixed in.
Harmony vocals are also well placed and executed throughout, adding texture when needed and adding to the atmosphere of the record.
That comment draws me into the songs themselves. To be honest – there are several here I never cared for when originally released, which obviously impairs my enjoyment of the album. Rick of course, makes them ever more listenable, but there are some tunes here I would be happy to never hear again – ever.
I'm Not In Love (10CC), Baker Street (Gerry Rafferty), Life In A Northern Town (Dream Academy) and Let's Go Out Tonite (Blue Nile) are all routinely flogged to death to this day on FM stations around the world and are not my pick of the best on here.
To kick off any album with a song as limp as I'm Not In Love is in my opinion, not a wise move. It is just too slow.
However, things make a major improvement on track two – Rick's extremely good take on the highly underrated gem by Australian alternative-pop outfit The Church. The moody and slightly haunting early 80's Aussie mega-hit Under The Milky Way fits Rick's voice perfectly and his warm smokey vocals are a joy here.
Life In A Northern Town features another warm and raspy vocal, but being that the song doesn't deviate from the original, there is not a lot to draw me back in.
Broken Wings is a long time favourite from Mr. Mister – a band who had a similar high-tech melodic rock style and reached their commercial peak just as Rick was coming off his.
Richard Page has one of the best voices in the business and in appearing with Rick here showcases the obvious difference in their voices. I prefer Rick's rock n roll edge, but on his own material. What I really like about this track is the extended musical passage and classy guitar soloing towards the end of the track. Some very tasteful guitar playing is featured here, which I would love to have heard even more of on some other songs.
Another highlight from the album is Human (Human League). This is a great ballad and this one fits Rick's voice probably better than any other track featured. It's also perfect for the theme of the album. In fact, this is the best track for allowing Rick's natural voice and style to shine through. This track could almost find itself as part of the Sahara Snow or Karma records.
I think the 1975 era pop-funk of Holding On To Yesterday (Ambrosia) doesn't suit Rick. Yes, it's something different, but it's just not that interesting to these ears.
Waiting For A Girl Like You (Foreigner) is another long time favourite. Who could forget the passionate delivery from Lou Gramm that made the song an all-time classic.
Again staying true to the original, this version is enjoyable and rates as one of the better songs of the album and features a nice passionate vocal from Rick.
Let's Go Out Tonight is sadly just too slow and further hurts the overall pacing of the album.
For No One (Beatles) sees Rick delve back into his earliest inspirations and reminds me of his early 70's Beginnings and Comic Book Heroes sound – influences which on those records were largely drawn from The Beatles.
It's at this point we really need a tempo lift, but it doesn't come. Instead Miss You Nights (Cliff Richard) is a slow, soft acoustic ballad. It's a beautiful song – truly – and Rick delivers another great soulful vocal. This song suits him to a tee and it is one of the better songs here - but it's placement within the album means some impact is lost.
Yet another slow ballad follows with Blue Rose (Lizz Wright). The pulse of this record is under major pressure at this point.
A curious addition to this covers affair is an original composition titled Cry. I'm not sure what era this was written in, but the song itself is something different for Rick. Probably why I can't put a finger on its origin. It suits this release and it is always cool to get a new Rick original. The classy piano playing on this song is something cool also.
Having said that, I can see why it has to this date remained unreleased. Not due to being a bad song at all – more so because I can't see where it would fit on any previous album.
You can't do any wrong to a classic like Imagine (John Lennon) and Rick's vocal does the song justice. I also like the orchestration within the track. However, the song ends the album as it started – very slowly.
The Bottom Line
I'm sure a number of Rick's loyal female fans will be up in arms at any suggestion that this album does not do Rick justice. However I also believe that Rick's male fans, which sometimes are overlooked, will agree with my assessment of this album.
Rick Springfield is such an amazing writer; I can't imagine too many fans that would pick the option of a covers album over that of new material. By and large, his awesome catalogue of songs outweighs the quality of the songs featured here.
Dare I ask the question? With the lack of any solid airplay from the SDAA album, was this record conceived as a possible route back into AC radio playlists?
The man is a songwriting genius with more depth and passion to his music than 99% of all other artists out there.
This release has some enjoyable moments and features some great vocals. But I do think that The Day After Yesterday does not do the man's legacy justice.
Discography / Previously Reviewed
· Beginnings
· Comic Book Heroes
· Springfield
· Mission Magic
· Wait For Night
· Beautiful Feelings
· Working Class Dog
· Sucess Hasn't Spoilt Me Yet
· Living In Oz
· Hard To Hold
· Tao
· Rock Of Life
· Sahara Snow
· Karma
· Alive - The Greatest Hits
· Shock Denial Anger Acceptance
· The Day After Yesterday

Line Up:
· Rick Springfield: Vocals, Guitars, Keyboards, Percussion
· Rodger Carter: Drums
· Matt Bissonette: Bass
· Vince DiCola: Keyboards

Essential For Fans Of:
· The softer side of Rick Springfield
Track Listing
· I'm Not In Love
· Under The Milky Way*
· Life In A Northern Town
· Broken Wings*
· Human*
· Holding On To Yesterday
· Baker Street
· Waiting For A Girl Like You
· Let's Go Out Tonite
· For No One
· Miss You Nights*
· Blue Rose
· Cry*
· Imagine
--*Best Tracks


25/12/05: chad - chad_willemssen@yahoo.com
Rating: 40
I really tried to give this album a chance but the more I listen to it the more I don't like it. Rick has always been my favorite musician and it's hard for me to say this album is not very good. Part of it could be that I have heard these songs so many times on the radio that Rick's vocals just don't fit. Or maybe it's that I like Rick's songs so much better that these cover songs just don't stand up. Rick's voice was not made to sing the exact same style of song as Lou Gramm's in "Waiting for a Girl Like You." I will say that "Broken Wings" and "Human" were enjoyable. Bottom Line... Rick I can't wait for your next album.

24/08/05: Andrew - ampate@comcast.net
Rating: 89
I'm not a big fan of cover albums mainly because the selections are either too obvious or too obscure. That being said, I think Rick did a great job of picking songs without falling into either category. I'm a little partial to "Baker Street" and "Waiting For A Girl Like You" because they were two of my favs growing up, but I have to disagree with reviewer Bruce. Rick's raspy voice on "Waiting" is great (who wants to hear a Lou Gramm impersonation?!) and his guitar work on "Baker Street" is outstanding. I hate Beatle covers (because nobody does them better than the Beatles!) but I really like "For No One" because it's a song nobody else would pick and Rick's voice fits it perfectly ("Imagine" I could take it or leave it, best song on that John Lennon album, his best solo song period, is "How Do You Sleep"). I also really like "Let's Go Out Tonight," "Miss You Nights," and "Blue Rose." I never heard them before and they have really grown on me. Rick's vocals are outstanding on these songs.

Another problem with covers is that most of the time they are retreads of the originals. Rick has a great talent of making another song his own ("I'll Do Anything for You" and "I'll Make You Happy")and it shows here. On this album, he toes the fine line of not completely re-arranging the song as to make it unfamiliar. Where he makes his mark is with the soulful vocals. To me, this is clearly evident on every song. He really does sing his ass off on this album!

Rick has gone in completely different directions with his last three releases. I can't wait to see where he goes next!

10/08/05: Bruce - tricegroup7@yahoo.com
Rating: 85
You know what guys? If you don't like covers, then do not buy this CD. If you are reading this, then you obviously have a computer and probably some speakers and you had an opportunity to preview the tracks before the purchase. You had a clue what you were in for. However, if you like 80's music (these tunes in particular), Rick's music, ballads, jazz, something that is easy on your ears (for the most part), then you just might like this CD. I can listen to all of the tracks over and over, with the exception of "Waiting for A Girl Like You" (Rick, if you can't hit the high notes, then bag it and go to another tune...no harm, no foul), "Baker Street", which I personally could go without ever hearing again due to radio overexposure as a teen and "Broken Wings" again for Rick's breaking the "high note rule", although I did like the duet with Richard Page just for nostalgia's sake. The one original, "Cry", I thought, fit in nicely with the rest of the tunes and as an earlier reviewer said, Rick does sing his arse off on the entire CD. Lastly, I've never really wanted to "imagine there's no heaven" but Rick does a ample job stamping the song as "his" version.

07/08/05: IAN - ian_752@msn.com
Rating: 25
Do we really need another covers album ? , NO we don't . A big rip off stop buying this stuff ( i include myself in that comment ) and we may force our fave bands/performers into actually making new music and not just rehashing other band's work , while telling us how they were influenced by said acts . It just smacks of making money off fans and not really caring as long as the money ends up in their bank accounts , Rick / Styx / Def Leppard the list goes on , we want new stuff not this money making rubbish . Stop picking our pockets please .

05/08/05: Alistair - alistairc_2000@yahoo.co.uk
Rating: 100
Another perfect album from RS. The majority of the tracks I have never heard before. The album starts off in spot on form with a cracking version of 10cc i am not in love, then there is a good version of broken wings, a different version of baker street, a good version of waiting for a girl like you. Though the latter track is not a patch on Forgeiner's original.
Also for no one and an immense version of imagine. This is superb stuff and great for listening to at the end of the night like I am doing.
The rest of the album is really fresh as i have not heard any of the tracks. Sure I would prefer anothe RS album but this is a good half way stop. The pacing of the album is just right and this makes it for an extremely listenable album that has had two plays today ( the first day i got it) and will get played for the rest of the week and possibly month. Then periodically afterwards.

04/08/05: Aaron Johnston - aaronbradley@excite.com
Rating: 90
Short & sweet, this disc is something unique in Rick's discography. I think he sings his ass off. The production is big and very lush, and hell to only wait a little over a year for new music is a nice change. I have always felt every disc of Rick's had it's own flavor, and with this release that certainly continues. And last, there is a whole disc of originals coming with the limited, so for that reason alone...

03/08/05: andre - andre4415@hotmail.com
Rating: 75
Hi all!
I have to start things off that i always love andrew`s reviews of rick springfield cds (and other artists too) because most of them are accurate and straight to the point. The same applies here for my favorite singer`s latest cd of cover songs.
I have to say, though, that i enjoy this cd for what it is: another release by rick springfield. I agree, the songs are for the most past too close to the originals to analyse them and discover them again. Having said that, i have to admit that i like most of the songs and that it is always good to hear rick`s voice and guitar playing on any album. The only thing that rick did that i didn`t like was the sahara snow cd and i think that this one is far better.
The reason why I appreciate the day after yesterday is because we have a new side of rick displayed here. The last half of the cd saves the whole thing for me. I really enjoy rick going the Jazz way on tracks like blue rose, miss you nights and let`s go out tonight which is, in my opinion, the standout track of the cd. I love the arrangements and the original "cry" a lot. Sure this is not rick`s best cd but maybe a bridge between sdaa and probably a new cd on the horizon.
Finally, i like this cd for what it is and i have to admit that i wasn`t too fond of the idea of a covers album at first but now that i have heard it, it sounds not so bad at all.

03/08/05: Doug Meister - longlivehs@yahoo.com
Rating: 90
When I first played this CD I was not surprised totally due to the sound bites provided via Rick's website. However this is a totally different album than SDAA and I knew that going in. I do enjoy a lot of the songs here due mainly to the sound of Rick's voice and the production quality of the cd - overall it sounds great! Songs such as Im Not In Love, Baker Street, Under the Milkyway, Holding on to Yesterday, Life In A Northern Town and Broken Wings are all performed and sound top knotch by Rick. On the flip side I agree with Andrew's review that towards the second half of the cd it screams for more up tempo songs to be added. Songs such as Blue Rose, and Lets Go Out Tonite I could have done without thats for sure. That being said I do enjoy this cd for what it is a mellow laid back cd that you would not exactly play if you need to feel energized. I would listen to this cd on a early morning drive to work or a laid back Sunday afternoon with my family in the back yard. Give the cd a chance appreciate it for what it is and look forward to the future releases that this talented artist is bound to give us. Releases that I know are going to be excellent filled with his own original songs. Until then I will enjoy this latest offering and hope it can bridge the gap until Rick puts out a new cd of his own material. Hopefully that will not be too long of a wait for his TRUE fans.

02/08/05: Jeff W - JeffWalsh@AOL.com
Rating: 10
Many people enjoy the lighter/mellow side of Rick. Generally, we have seen the lighter side of Rick come through extremely well in his own songs. As Andy mentioned, Rick has really proven to be a master songwriter -- easily one of the best and definitely the most underrated. In the past Rick has displayed quite a strong ability to make cover songs his own with "I've Done Everything For You", "Black is Black", and Shock Denial Anger Acceptance's "I'll Make You Happy". All of them sounded as if Rick had written them himself and sat well within a collection of his own songs.

The Day After Yesterday is different. To me, it reiterates (IMO as did Karma, Tao, Rock of Life (the album, not the song)) that not everything Rick does is golden. I found it a very disappointing step backward from SDAA which was an incredible return to form for him. While I most enjoy Rick's more rocking, melodic and upbeat songs, that isn't to say I havent HIGHLY appreciated gems like "Inside Sylvia" or "Don't Walk Away", both of which are high on my list of favorites (in fact, I believe Rick's songs from Working Class Dog through Hard To Hold are ALL gems of the highest order). I'd say both Working Class Dog and Living In Oz are stellar albums of the highest order. Anyway, what is wrong with this The Day After Yesterday is, A, few of these songs are as good as even the below average Rick song, B they are all mellow/slower songs, and C there is nothing unique or special in most of the versions. It all adds up to something that would put you to sleep if not for the fact that it irritates you to hear Rick put out such mediocre work. I agree with Andy that "Human" is one of the few stand out tracks, and at that, it still is nothing that excites me it probably stands out because the others are so mediocre. Still it is a song that suites him rather well on many levels. I also actually enjoy Baker Street somewhat (mainly just due to the sax). Other than those two, there is nothing except the original song Cry (because it is an original song) that makes me want to listen to this album ever again.

I give the album ten points for the two cover songs I enjoy slightly and the one original song... otherwise, it is entirely too boring and I think it really is a waste of Rick's time and ours. Rick is too good a songwriter and performer to waste so much time both in the studio and on tour doing cover songs. RICK, we LOVE what YOU do... YOUR work. We are fans of what YOU do... not necessarily fans of what you LIKE. Let me tell you, the artists that wrote the songs you "wish you would have written", as Rick has said in the promotion of this release should be far more jealous of the songs you have written in comparison.

I should be fair and admit that I am generally tired of all the cover CDs out (or coming out) these days, it is a trend that was old before it even got started. But, my dislike for this album really isn't tied to that feeling very much. Because it is the next release by Rick, I was REALLY looking forward to it. I didn't expect it to be so boring and "safe".

Anyway, I think as fans, sometimes we need to send a message by not buying this stuff or being more honest when we don't like something. There is not enough good original music out there, the last thing we need is our great original artists wasting time like this (and YES, I think this applies to Def Leppard as well). Had this CD included some up beat covers, it probably would have been at least somewhat enjoyable... but this is a snoozefest I could never recommend. If you enjoy more of Rick's later 80s and 90s work, you probably will still enjoy this album to some extent... but if your favorite Rick songs are his early to mid 80s work and SDAA and you are only ho hum on the rest, I really believe this one will let you down, as it has for me.

It's always tough to review work you do not like by an artist you admire and respect. Especially if you know or talk to the artist occasionally -- you really do not want to burn any bridges. It's hard to be negative about an artist you love, and certainly no one wants to offend their idols. At the same time, there is such a thing as tough love and loving an artist (or someone) enough to give them honest feedback. This album sucks. Rick is best with intensity and groove in his songs (which were often found in all of his best work, even when they were slower songs)... this collection has none of that. I can only hope this was something to get out of his system and he will return to rocking on the next studio release. I guess the only thing that would have been more disappointing is if he released an original album of boring songs. Hopefully he will be recharged to rock on the next studio album.

I almost can't even handle filing this thing with my other Rick CDs. Being someone who has always talked Rick up to others, this is one I would NEVER bring out to try to showcase Rick's abilities to someone who doesn’t know him. The original versions of the songs he covered are all better than his versions here... in the past, when Rick did covers he made them better... it didn't happen here. For example, when I listen to "Waiting For A Girl Like You", I actually sit there thinking... man, this song is so much better when Lou Gramm sings it (which I have never felt listening to Rick sing any other time). The whole album is a disservice to Rick. But, again, most of the deaf Rick fans who are more into Rick visually than anything he does musically (because they love RICK more than his music, though they will argue that) will probably still eat this up. The main point is, beware.... absolutely preview it before you buy it!! This is one for those who need to keep a complete Rick Springfield album collection... few of the rest would never miss it.

02/08/05: Kissfan101 - geetarslinger@hotmail.com
Rating: 50
I could take it or leave it but I'm leaning toward leaving it in it's jewel case. I've been a fan of Rick Springfield for over 20 years (yeah, I'm that old) and he's never disappointed until now. I'm no fan of local cover bands and I don't want to hear established artist do entire albums of covers, which seems to be the latest fad. The production is great but the material is weak. After the first run through all I could wonder was why R.S. felt this was necessary.


ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100)
Name:

E-mail:

Rating:

Comment: