MelodicRock.com Reviews


SHY
UNFINISHED BUSINESS

Z Records
Produced by: Tony Mills

Released: OUT NOW / Website
GENRE: AOR
OVERALL: 92%

  1. Skydiving
  2. Change Of Direction
  3. Breakaway
  4. Maryanne
  5. Communicate
  6. Heaven Tonight
  7. Whole Lotta Feelings
  8. Storyline
  9. Cant Stop Lovin' You
  10. No Other Way

In terms of pure AOR styled recordings, the new Shy ranks as one of the best this year and also ranks highly in the overall scheme of things.
This is certainly one fo the best records, if not the best, that Tony Mills has been involved in.
This is a classic AOR record in the sense that it is dominated by keyboards and several layers of them. Each track has several layers of rich keyboard tones, supplemented by some fine melodic guitar work and soaring high pitch vocals from Mills himself.
Tony has a unique style up there vocally with the Tony Harnells of this world. His vocals may be delivered in a high pitch, but that doesn't not for a second mean that aren't smooth as a baby's bum.
That word comes to mind constantly while listening to Unfinished Business smooth.
The album is brilliantly produced, with a ton of vocal harmonies laid over several layers of keyboards and guitars, all held together by a solid rhythm section.
From the opening tones of Skydiving, the direction of this album is evident.
Big bombastic AOR in the style of TNT's classic As Far As The Eye Can See.
It's tried by plenty, but rarely is it held to this quality over the duration of 10 tracks.
What I like about the pace of this album is that while definitely a keyboard driven record, it remains uptempo and fast moving through most of the running time.
Things slow down for the big ballad Maryanne and the more complex Communicate, but generally it's a fun, uptempo record.
Special note must be made of the songs Storyline and No Other Way. Both clock in over 7 minutes giving them epic status. Both are great songs. Storyline is a haunting pop ballad, while No Other Way remains an uptempo rock track, with an almost stadium feel to it.
BOTTOM LINE: Top quality AOR in it's purest and traditonal 80's form. A must for lovers of melody with high pitch vocals, but well worthy of checking out for anyone into keyboard layered AOR.
PRODUCTION: 94% SONGS: 94% VIBE: 90%ATTITUDE: 90%
ESSENTIAL FOR: All fans of Shy, Tony Mills, fans of keyboard driven AOR.



28/03/06: Bk - bkevanochko@accesscomm.ca
Rating: 98
Hey ddis1970@hotmail.com YOUR full of shite! This album rocks ( just go back to the 70's and pull out your Bay City Rollers record. )and leave us listeners with taste to enjoy this masterpeice.

02/12/05: wb - dd_is1970@hotmail.com
Rating: 0
they was crap in the 80's and still are shite!

16/10/05: cradle - cradle1scot@yahoo.co.uk
Rating: 99
I waited until I had played Sunset & Vine before commenting on Unfinished Buisness. The main reason was to give S & V time to settle and then see what I would judge as the besy Shy cd of all time. Well I have given it 8 months and while I must say I love S & V, I just could not do without this cd. For anyone looking to buy a Shy cd to get into the band this has to be that cd. Yes, ever on top of the Classic Excess All Areas. This cd will be hailed a classic 10 years further down the line. It is that good. Catch hook in Mary-Anne,Skydiving and the wonderful Storyline. That song is one you just want to go out for a drive on a hot sunny day with the roof down and fade into the distance. Breakaway sees Tony singing his heart out and taking it to the limit. Communicate is my favourite. Simple..catchy tune yet it get's the blood going and the hairs on the back of the neck standing up. No other way is the perfect song to end a gig with. WONDERFUL guitars. Sensational singing and with this cd a total feel good factor from the best AOR band in England.
Buy this cd or live to regret it !!

09/01/05: Richard (AOROCK.com) - richybonzo@yahoo.co.uk
Rating: 92
SHY come back with "UNFINISHED BUSINESS" (2oo2), and don't dissapoint. This is an album that immeditely hits you with hooks, great choruses, superb guitar work, and the vibrant vocals of TONY MILLS. Stand out tracks for me (if you can stand out when all the tunes are great?) are : Skydiving, Breakaway, Whole Lotta Feelings and Storyline.

SHY best known for "Excess All Areas" (1987)and thisis still for me a hard record to beat , but this album comes within a photo finish.

In many ways the song writing is superior to Excess, but Excess gets my nod as still their best album. Maybe the live shows I went to still have a bearing on this.

Unfinished business should be high in the charts, with countless hit singles - I know this wouldn't happen , but at least this is a comeback and more. Look forward to the next album "SUNSET & VINE" - Early reports are favourable - we'll have to wait and see - 07/02/05 release - until then I'll get back to one of the best releases of 2002 for aor - "UNFINISHED BUSINESS"- THANKS FOR A GREAT ALBUM - SHY and more to come, I hope.

06/04/04: Mark Kennedy - Clareandmark@freenetname.co.uk
Rating: 90
I meant to review this album when it first came out,but hey I can use the excuse that I have been too busy listening to it!.This is a really good melodic rock/aor cd and I'm glad to see that Shy haven't jumped on the modern (down tuned crap) bandwagon like the rest of the good bands have done such as Dokken,Queensryche and Bonfire.There are some brilliant tracks on offer here and the guitar solos shine through .Great production too.This is how rock should be.For a moment I thought it was 1987 again (if only).

20/03/03: Hanuk Baac - temporarily unavailable
Rating: 97
One of the 2002's best release. Tony Mills is in a great form and shows the voice that fits the song no matter which is high or low, Steve Harris can still deliever and songs are very strong, I can't find any fillers. The real highlights are mid-tempo rockers like Storyline and Can't Stop Lovin' You.

25/02/03: erik hardam - erikhardam@hetnet.nl
Rating: 95
Just been to able to get hold of the album yesterday. Its very difficult to get hold of AOR/Rock/Meodic orientated albums in general here in holland.
Anyways i love the album. The outro of the first song. Skydiving.
It should go on forever.Just perfect.
Keyboard driven songs. Cant hear enough of that.
Good lenght of the songs. Catchy tunes. But never simple. Well build up songs.
Go out and buy ! Cant wait for there new release.

25/10/02: koogles - endangeredcds@hotmail.com
Rating: 86
As good a CD as you could expect from SHY in 2002. Tony Mills' voice is more relaxed than "Excess" or "Storm" and it works well. "Breakaway" and "Skydiving" are key tracks, and as good as anything released on any AOR CD this year. Shy has successfully delivered the goods, and will be remembered on best of lists at the end of the year.

10/10/02: Robert Weller - mic.rob.weller@t-online.de
Rating: 95
A great pack of songs. The only point I can criticize is, that the unbelievible start of the record looses a bit of power after the song number 6. If only the first 6 gems had built up an EP, than it would have a rating of 110 !!.
In the 80`s Shy was one of my big favorites, still remembering some real big live shows here in good old germany; but with every record, they lost their ability to produce the big choruses and the feeling for melodies - up to their last shot misspent youth, where the uninspired songwriting was even topped by a production, that sounded like recorded in the own garage with a portable taperecorder.
BUT - WHAT A COME BACK.

11/09/02: Johnny C Lately - themightylord@lycos.com
Rating: 98
Wasn't expecting this! Who would have guessed that England's Shy would come up with a superb masterpiece to rival and indeed exceed in many ways the classic "Excess All Areas" disc from 1987 in this the year 2002? Well they have and this is it. Superb vocals awesome guitar chops and just the right smattering of keys to make these great AOR style tunes into masterpieces. The production is thick (not muddy!) clean and smooth and among the ten songs there ain't a dud in sight. If you like Dokken, TNT, Street Talk, Journey etc etc you'd have to love this band and in particular this new disc. Certainly 80's flavored but in every good way imaginable. Standouts if there has to be some are Breakaway, No Way Out, Whole Lotta Feelings and Communicate but as I said its all killer and NO FILLER!

04/09/02: NICK SNOWDON - J.SNORTON@NTLWORLD.COM
Rating: 95
FINALLY SOME TIME OFF WORK AND ITS TIME TO SIT BACK AND TRY OUT THE NEW TITLES THAT I JUST HAVENT GOT ROUND TO LISTENING TO FOR MORE THAN THE TIME IT TAKES TO GET READY FOR WORK, AND WHAT A LITTLE JEM IVE HAD SAT ON HI-FI FOR THE LAST WEEK WITHOUT KNOWING IT, IF LIKE ME YOU LOVE TO HEAR THE BIG SOUND OF A KEYBOARD DRIVEN AOR ALBUM THEN GET OUT AND GET THIS ONE,
TOP TRACKS HAVE TO BE CHANGE OF DIRECTION WITH ITS BLSTERING KEYBOARD START, BREAKAWAY FOR THE BIG FAST CATCHY CORUS,
AND STORYLINE THE SORT OF TRACK TO JUST SIT BACK CLOSE YOUR EYES AND LISTEN IN SILENCE OVERALL A FANTASTIC ALBUM AND AT JUST SHORT OF ONE HOUR ITS THE ONE TO PUT ON IN THE CAR WHEN YOU ARE STUCK IN THAT LONG LINE OF TRAFFIC THAT NEVER SEEMS TO MOVE WHEN YOU ARE ON YOU WAY TO WORK


ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100)
Name:

E-mail:

Rating:

Comment:




Back To Site Frontpage