SEE BELOW TO ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW!

TNT Atlantis Bonnier-Amigo/Metal Heaven
· Produced By: TNT

· Running Time: 48.09

· Release Date: Out Now Scandinavia / October 31 EU

· Released:

· Musical Style: Pop Rock

· Links: TNT
69%
Songs: 58%
Sound: 80%
Well…it's less annoying than the last album – that has to be a plus right?
The kafuffle surrounding the last TNT album is well known and documented and I'm not going to spend much time reflecting on that. What I will say is that I still consider that album completely unlistenable and the songs really annoy the crap out of me.
The new album is for the most part more of the same, but better quality songs - if the style is of appeal. The retro experimental pop style has been retained and the songs are once again all over the planet (and sometimes off the planet). But – at least there are some likeable songs on this record and I couldn't say that about The New Territory.
That said, I will likely never listen to this album again either now the review has been written and I consider that a shame, as TNT were a band I would anticipate new releases from.
TNT have had their share of WTF moments through their history – the Firefly album was unpopular with fans and the cover of What A Wonderful World on All The Way To The Sun are just two examples.
Sadly the questions raised following the last album have fallen on deaf ears.
The band didn't listen to fans and one now has to accept that TNT is now a different band than what it was under the reign of Tony Harnell.
On a positive note – this album sounds better recorded and better produced than the last, but the songwriting here is still so left field it will require an absolutely acquired taste to appreciate. Good luck to all…
Track By Track:
Hello Hello is somewhat in keeping with the band's sound and at least has a hard edge riff underneath the song. Filled with Queen like harmonies that may not be to everyone's liking, but the song is ok.
An ok start yes, but doesn't take long for the bizarre to kick in and as early as track two we are already on a left turn. The mid-tempo Peter Sellers Blues is a fairly diverse and quirky tune with some interesting lyrics. But like the last album it is just too annoying to ever be played over and over.
Babys Got Rhythm continues the left of center obsession of the last 2 studio albums. This is a bizarre, fast moving pop rock track with a restrained chorus and an annoying piano riff popping up now and then. And is that a short sitar solo late in the song??
I absolutely hate Tango Girl. This jarring left of center rocker with a psychedelic vibe features a really annoying vocal that attacks my ears with a pitch that will cause damage if I have to hear it ever again. Horrible chorus, horrible verse, horrible lyrics.
Me And Dad is a little brighter. Leading off with an acoustic intro and a soft and soulful vocal, the song actually draws you in with its vocal warmth. The chorus unfortunately spoils it and the Queen-isms again appear out of nowhere. The mood builds and I really like the vocal. At nearly 8 minutes in length, you just know the track is going to turn bizarre at some point and that happens of course. The epic pop ballad has its moments and while I don't really like the chorus, the first half of the song has strong appeal.
Atlantis is an uptempo rocker that (for this album at least) is relatively straight forward in nature. There isn't a strong enough chorus to draw me in, but nice to hear a hard edge guitar sound again instead of the psychedelic noodlings of previous tracks.
The Taste Of Honey is one of those tracks that to me doesn't really mean anything, has another annoying chorus and generally daft lyrics. No real appeal sadly.
Bottle Of Wine is back to the psychedelic guitar sound and is another really annoying song. The chorus, the clapping, the shout-outs and the lack of structure.
Missing Kind is a darker number with some more familiar guitar sounds in play, but the song just goes nowhere. The soft chorus doesn't have any redeeming hook and the verse just plods along and on and on and on…
Love Of My Life I like. It has an instantly likeable riff and some straight forward and easy going vocals. And it has a good strong chorus at last!!! This is maybe as close to the "old" TNT as we have heard yet from the Mills fronted line-up. Decent song and there's even a "normal" guitar solo.
Well, normal didn't last long…Had It Lost It Found It is another jarring track to close the album. More strange melodies ensue and I can't say there is a lot to like here. The chorus is awful.
The Bottom Line
There's a few decent tracks within this album, but the overall theme and style is too close to the last album and I'm still recovering from that. It is a shame the band didn't listen to their fans and have continues to deliver left field material that has no real resemblance of the band that was adored by so many.
Vocalist Tony Mills does a good job with the material on offer and he should be no means be blamed for the band's decisions. But someone needs a reality check. And quickly.
Discography / Previously Reviewed
· TNT
· Knights Of The New Thunder
· Tell No Tales
· Intuition
· Realized Fantasies
· Firefly
· Transistor
· The Big Bang
· Taste
· My Religion
· All The Way To The Sun
· The New Territory
· Atlantis

Line Up:
· Tony Mills: Vocals
· Ronnie LeTekro: Guitars
· Diesel Dahl: Drums
· Victor Borge: Bass

Essential For Fans Of:
· TNT - The New Territory
· Ronni Le Tekro - Solo
Track Listing
· Hello Hello *
· Peter Sellers Blues
· Babys Got Rhythm
· Tango Girl
· Me And Dad *
· Atlantis
· The Taste Of Honey
· Bottle Of Wine
· Missing Kind
· Love Of My Life *
· Had It Lost It Found It

--*Best Tracks


16/02/09: Peter - sudfryslan@yahoo.com
Rating: 85
Like this album a lot! Different but still very TNT. Ronny Le Tekro´s guitar sound and playing as great as ever, the typical harmony vocals are still around, it rocks in the typical genius TNT-way.
The harmony vocals are with a little twist at times, but fit in ok in the overall.

14/12/08: beto blanco from costa rica - roberto_beto1890@hotmail.com
Rating: 50
very very poor songs this is not tnt, the real tnt bad is with Tony Harnell on vocals i dont no why they do this comercial poor cd

04/12/08: Alex - darthsmythe@aol.com
Rating: 88
Must I say, this CD has been playing a lot for me lately.

These are the tracks I love repeating:

Hello Hello- I really love the way Vic's bass works with Ronni's guitar, Tony does some great backing and lead dubs that really don't make me think anything but classic TNT. As in Tell No Tales-Intuition style harmonies.

Atlantis- Now here's one I really love. A medium tempo prog-rocker that crosses over into light-viking metal, with lots of juicy cuts from Diesel, tons of shredding, mystical guitar passages, and some verse vocals by Mills that have a surprisingly singeing Harnell feel to them. The guys honestly couldn't have found a better singer.

Taste of Honey- Really blends TNT and Beatles well, I love the vocal dubs in background, and Ronni pulls some nice arpeggiation and Whammying.

Missing Kind- I'm not a soft-song guy but this really works. Tony soars with a rather yearning cry, and I love how Ronni dubs arpeggio licks over the slow but hard-edged lead riff.

Had it, Lost it, Found it is a serious shredder, and the closest I've seen TNT get to actual metal. Ronni's riffs are as head-on as usual, and the solo pretty much uses every trick in the book, the drums and bass hammer away, Tony
screams his ass off in the chorus, and I really love the lyrics.

08/11/08: juan estrada - eajf69@hotmail.com
Rating: 85
some of you gays that reviewed here,.. stop living in the past¡ enjoy tony harnell's voice on extraordinarys starbreakers albums. this is a new tnt, ok maybe its hard to swallow in the first listens but it should grows on you if you give them a chance. there are finding a new sound and i thing there about to find it, good guitar playing, extraordinary voice and strong rithym section. all that tnt ever was.

09/10/08: RockMan - purjfo98@msn.com
Rating: 49
I would give this a better rating if it was not under the TNT moniker. TNT has a standard it MUST uphold. This, nor "The New Territory" is it. If you want to "stretch" musically, fine. Just don't try to trick your fans into buying this shit with the TNT name. Shame on you Ronni! It ok for a band called...."Fantasy" or something like that. Not TNT.

06/10/08: Joe Bailey - baddebts@aol.com
Rating: 8
wow ..what a cool album ...you guys that are looking for another 10,000 Lovers are out of luck ..stop living in the past ..these guys have made a very hip new record ..great job

05/10/08: rocknut - fineasski@gmail.com
Rating: 25
I have absolutely no idea who this album is supposed to appeal to, it would be deemed a turkey by anyone's standards and across any genre of music.
It is so far removed from the usual TNT sound that the established fan base will not be able to make the jump [even if the songs were good...which they aren't], and is just so poor in almost every respect that it won't garner any new fans who may not know TNT.
I simply cannot fathom what the band are hoping to achieve with this album. Quite simply it is one of the poorest albums I have heard from an established, international hard rock act.
What is equally more staggering is that it follows on the heels of The New Territory which was also very, very poor.
You could accpt a blip once, but to compound the error is tantamount to professional suicide.
TNT's reputation is in danger of being left in tatters.

05/10/08: SpecTrax - spectrax@hotmail.com
Rating: 87
First time i played the new album i thought WTF is this....kinda pop-ish album.
But after some runs it really grows on you. Good production, well-written lyricks, well-played.
And im really impressed with Tony Mills, letting him join the band really shows on this album, and he is FREAKIN' GOOD live (old and new material),...AMAZING voice and carisma.So people please give this album a few more listenenings and you'll find out that it aint that bad. Best Songs: Hello Hello - Tango Girl - Atlantis - Me and Dad - Love of my life. 87/100 and still growing abit ;)

05/10/08: Dave Bickler - dave_bickler@ymail.com
Rating: 5
Utter garbage!
5 points because it´s better than the last one.
R.I.P. TNT

03/10/08: kaisen - kaisen2@start.no
Rating: 0
I`m waiting for a statement from the guys, saying "this is just a joke, here is the real album"

03/10/08: Noddy - nod@machinemen.com
Rating: 10
The gulf in quality between TNT's best work "Intuition" and this horrendous mess is too wide for even the most loyal of fans to be expected to bridge. Also the worse CD Tony Mills has ever been involved with.

02/10/08: Andy Braban - abraban@hotmail.com
Rating: 10
Yh, i agree with Andrew and the other guys, its not a good album at all, i found myself just flicking through and even past some of the stuff after about a minutes play, tony mills just isnt suited to this TNT lark and the sooner he gets back with SHY, the better not only for our sakes but his own. unfinished business and sunset were two of the most top notch albums to come out of AOR for years. it kind of dissappoints as to why he has turned to this dross after shy. come on guy, get ur act together and get back to where you belong.
never a big fan of TNT but love tony harnell, STARBREAKER blows TNT apart. can only give it 10

02/10/08: CJ Plain - CJPlain@yahoo.com
Rating: 0
Just when you thought it couldn't get ANY worse then the last slab of flaming poo these guys delivered...It DOES!

This is rancid. Guys...PLEASE...FOR THE LOVE OF ALL THINGS HOLY! crawl on your hands and knees and BEG BEG BEG Tony H. to come back...or at least hire someone to write the songs for you. This is just beyond bad. This actually makes St. Anger almost sound good.

01/10/08: nukster - nathanjdandcoke1@hotmail.co.uk
Rating: 20
Again, same rubbish as New Territory. I cant believe this.. I was a big fan of TNT and Tony Mills and i have been looking forward to a powerful solid album... but GUYS what the hell is this....... pop rock, with loads of joke style lyrics.. This isnt what we are looking for. Give the fans something that the fans know and love you for. I for one have given up on this band. Saying that Tony's last solo effort was awesome.. quality stuff.

01/10/08: DCK - gregers_gram@yahoo.no
Rating: 65
It's about the same as Territory, although better produced and with a better vocal performance. Sort of a Ronni Le Tekrø solo thing with better vocals than what he can produce himself or something along those lines! I felt Territory had about 2 good songs, while this album haven't really attracted me at all. Completely different direction than my taste. Might be interesting for some people though. Just not my taste at all. Nothing here sounds like any old TNT stuff...Firefly was more TNT than Atlantis.


ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100)
Name:

E-mail:

Rating:

Comment: