Track Listing
Tear Me Down (1)
Falling (3)
All Around Me
Bring Me Home (2)
Sleeping Town
You See Three
Kings of Tragedy
Vertigo
Shades of Love
Unruly Child
Something

(*) Best Tracks

Discography & (Rank)
Unruly Child (1)
Waiting For The Sun (3)
Basement Demos (4)
UCIII (2)
Marcie Free - Tormented (5)

Buy it if you like:
Magdalen
Unruly Child
Lou Gramm
UNRULY CHILD
UCIII
Frontiers Records FRCD136
Produced By: Bruce Gowdy & Guy Allison
Running Time: 45.08 Release Date: January 27
Released: EU Genre: AOR
WebLink: Unruly Child LabelLink: Frontiers
94%

Unruly Child are back for studio album number 3. Helmed by Bruce Gowdy and Guy Allison, this album sees singer number 3 on board in the form of former Magdalen vocalist Philip Bardowell.
Gowdy and Allison have taken the responsibility of handling all instrumental duties, something they do with ease.
Gowdy's talent of as a producer and studio wiz is well known, which is why it is no surprise this album sounds as slick and as free flowing as it does.
Bardowell does well to bring life to the music, supplying lead and his own backing and harmony vocals. He also benefits from the well mixed sound of this album.
Bardowell is the perfect foil for Gowdy and Allison. It's a musical perfect fit, with this updated Unruly Child sound more mature than previous albums. His vocals are rich and powerful and his tone fits somewhere between original singer Mark Free and fellow melodic rock legend Lou Gramm.
At the same time, the musical style fits somewhere between the band's legendary debut album and the last Waiting For The Sun album - which featured Kelly Hansen on vocals.
Add a touch of Lou Gramm (Falling), a little of the Zeppelinesque retro feel (Sleeping Town & All Around Me) and the progressive vibe that Bardowell brings in from past experience (Kings Of Tragedy) and you really have a smart, intelligent melodic rock record. This album adds more organ than previously heard - with Guy's touch all over this record.

The guys rock out on tracks like Tear Me Down and the archive track Unruly Child, which come closest to the sound of the debut, then switch to passionate ballad mode on the excellent Bring Me Home and the layered Shades Of Love. They, produce a little something out of the ordinary on other album tracks like the epic closer Something, the harmony and organ drenched All Around Me and the pace changer Vertigo.
There's great variety within this album, all held together by the strong vocals, the consistent sound and style and the unmistakable songwriting chemistry between Gowdy and Allison.

The Bottom Line
A more mature and diverse record than the band's other two studio releases, yet easily familiar to fans of the past work. Musically I don't think this is as instant as the other two albums. It's instead a more complex record that unfolds over repeat listens.
Philip Bardowell is the next best singer possible after Mark Free. The material is also the strongest since the debut and therefore this album is the next best to that album. It's a change for those used to Free, or even those not familiar with the band. This is not your average melodic rock record. It's a n intelligent and mature slice of music that can only do good things for the reputation of the scene. Give it some time and it will reward you amply.

Line Up
Philip Bardowell: Vocals
Bruce Gowdy: Guitars, Bass, Drums
Guy Allison: Keyboards, Bass, Drums

Additional Ratings
Songwriting
95%
Attitude
94%
Production
93%

AOR Heaven NEH Records Z-Roxx Loud 1 Destiny Hot Tracks Target Wishing Well Loud Metal Perris


25/12/04: No-Name - none@pathfinder.gr
Rating: 92
I mostly liked "Shades of love" and "Bring me home".
Very touching songs all of them!

01/05/03: Axe-Machine - info@hugomusic.net
Rating: 94
Top album. Not quite as good as the debut, but rocks better than the "Waiting for the Sun" album.

13/04/03: DjA - stiknside@hotmail.com
Rating: 85
I need to start giving out letter grades instead of numeric ones, I don't see how Andrew does it<G> Another really good effort from the UC clan. I like the new vocalist, he adds a different flavor to the songs, but I prefer the previous two vocalists to him. The songs are definetly more adult oriented in spots, and that is where this cd suffers. Gone are all the great fun songs from the 1st cd with III. Takes all the fun out of it, and makes this one a great listen but not the one to crank at parties <G> I'm still enjoying the 1st album the msot, followed by the Basement tapes cd, with the 2nd effort right there with it..this just falls a little too short when comparing it to the rest of the UC cd's. But kudos for the guys for still trying and making good rock!
DjA

04/04/03: Freddy De Keyzer - freddydekeyzer@hotmail.com
Rating: 78
Another disappointment, this one. These talented guys can so much better than this average AOR. Not a disaster, but far from good !

27/03/03: John Elway - megjimp@ida.net
Rating: 84
Let's get this out of the way. Any record released under the Unruly Child moniker is going to be compared to the original self-titled classic. Well this isn't in that class, but it's better than their last outing. The song writing is solid (The best tunes were cowritten with Free back in the day.) and it does rock at times. However, the tunes are not as consist or memorable as they could be. I really think these guys should release future records under another name because it's unfair to compare records like this to that released by the original lineup. However, if you forget about Marcy/Mark Free, this is fine...maybe good, but not classic.

23/02/03: Rich - drhall01@hotmail.com
Rating: 80
Unruly Child's first album remains an all time melodic rock classic mainly due the strong vocals, great musicianship,songwriting and production.All is not lost on this release but a classic this ain't.Bruce Gowdy is still at the helm of this project but i really feel he should have called it something else.Mark/Marcie Free put his stamp all over that first c.d. it's really hard for anyone to fill those"high heels" now (lol).Nevertheless ,a melodic rock release of this nature is always a pleasant surprise and Gowdy is always associated with great music.

18/02/03: Kevin Betts - Kevinugly@hotmail.com
Rating: 85
Not quite sure what to make of this album! The songs are definite 'growers', the instruments are all played with a high degree of competence, the vocals are excellent. But there is still something missing. I listened to this album twice at home and then again in the car and it seemed to just 'wash over me' and I think it's the production. The guitars have had all the dynamics, the feel, the 'balls', the life sucked out of them! If the 'Melodic Rock' genre is to win new fans then the producers should be checking out the likes of Creed and Nickleback which, love 'em or loathe 'em as bands, do feature some awesome guitar tones. Even Foreigner had decent guitar tones!!

09/02/03: koogles - endangeredcds@hotmail.com
Rating: 87
Philip Bardowell had some cheesy lyrics to deal with on Magdalen's Revolution Mind, now we finally get a chance to hear him shine with better songwriting on his side. A classy release for fans of Foreigner, Hurricane, Norway, Mark Free, Giant, Total Stranger, Change of Heart and other well-tempered AOR.

02/02/03: Larry Desposito - ldesposito@jam.rr.com
Rating: 95
Andrew nails this on the nose. I love this cd. Its nice to hear hard rocking, Intelligent music. I ordered this and UC's Basement Demo's at the same time. What can I say? I've had the best saturday i've had in a long time. Production is top notch. Now if only i could find the original UC album. I must admit I'm a huge fan of Mark/Marcie Free but Phillip sings his arse off on this cd. This is a Must Have Cd for 2003. If you don't buy it then i pity you (Doin my best Mr.T Impression here) ....lol....no not really but you'd be missing out on some very good stuff.

25/01/03: Joe - WillowTheRed
Rating: 94
I've got to concur almost completely with Andrew's review. This is an album that takes a few listens to to truly appreciate how awesome it is - but that's just because there's so much to soak up. Simply another great outing from UNRULY CHILD, and very nice to get it so soon after the excellent BASEMENT DEMO'S disc. My only point of contention with Andrew's review, and it's really just personal taste, and not so much about this disc - is that I thouroghly enjoyed Kelly Hansen as a singer for this group, too. (Mark/Marcie Free still rules, though!). Which is also, not to say anything negative about Philip Bardowell. Quite, the contrary, as his voice fits the band's sound nicely. I have to agree with the Lou Gramm Comparison in vocal stylings, but again, that's a plus in my book.
So what are you waitng for, get this record NOW!

22/01/03: ANDY COATES - andrew.coates3@ntlworld.com
Rating: 99
OH BOY! THIS IS GOOD,VERY GOOD,I DIDN'T KNOW WHAT TO EXPECT WITH THIS ALBUM BUT BELIEVE ME IT'S UP THERE WITH THE BEST OF THEM.IF YOU ENJOYED THE LAST GIANT OR HARDLINE CDS YOU WILL LOVE THIS.THE PRODUCTION IS TOP NOTCH AND IT HAS THE SONGS TO MATCH AND NOT A FILLER IN SIGHT.ITS HARD TO PICK ANY FAVORITES BUT "ALL AROUND ME"AND KINGS OF TRAGEDY GET MY VOTE.DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR AND BUY THIS LITTLE ROCK MONSTER NOW.BY THE WAY IS IT TOO EARLY TO BE TALKING ABOUT ALBUM OF THE YEAR.


ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100)
Name:

E-mail:

Rating:

Comment: