Voodoo Hill
Wild Seed Of Mother Earth
Frontiers Records
· Produced By: Dario Mollo

· Running Time: 52.54

· Release Date: June 23

· Released: EU

· Musical Style: Hard Rock/Metal

· Links: Frontiers
Songs: 85%
Sound: 89%
Heavier, darker and bordering on metal on occasions, this really sees guitarist/writer Dario Mollo deliver something a little different. On hand is vocalist Glenn Hughes – who as per usual sings his heart out. This is something a little different for him also though. This is a heavier tone and style than his usual bluesy hard rock delivery.
He handles it with ease of course, but the material is definitely more challenging. I'm really enjoying hear him sing something different.
Make Believe is a great opener and not far from what we are familiar with, but it's Dying To Live that sends things over the top. Gruff, urgent and darker vocals really add an edge to this already heavy, chunky guitar driven song.
If you don't concentrate on what's on offer this could almost sound a little loud and overbearing. At times I though it was just a little noisy, with so much going on within each song. But on further investigation things fell into place and my admiration for the album grew.
The album features some in your face, furious rockers such as Still Evergreen and Make Believe alongside darker and more intense tracks like Atmosphere and Can't Stop Falling (which features a highly original mid-song interlude).
In addition to those, there are a few unexpected twists such as the sparse, but intense Wild Seed Of Mother Earth and the relatively easy going My Eyes Don't See It and the haunting softer closing track 16 Guns.
The Bottom Line
An album that takes several listens to click. That's not a bad thing, as I rather like albums with depth that grow on you. There's nothing worse than knowing an album inside out after the first listen. What I am saying is don't be put off by your first taste of the album.
It's heavier, more complex and more original then the debut and sees Glenn Hughes challenged vocally. This features some of the heaviest material of his career. At times everything does sound a little bit too much, but repeated listens helps the album evolve.
Discography / Previously Reviewed
· The Cage
· The Cage 2
· Voodoo Hill
· Wild Seed Of Mother Earth

Line Up
· Glenn Hughes: Vocals
· Dario Mollo: Guitar
· Roberto: Drums
· Fulvio Gaslini: Bass
· Dario Patti: Keyboards

Essential for fans of:
· Glenn Hughes
· The Cage
· Dario Mollo
Track Listing
· Make Believe*
· Dying To Live*
· Still Evergreen
· Atmosphere
· Wild Seed of Mother Earth*
· My Eyes Don't See It*
· Can't Stop Falling
· Nothing Stays The Same
· Soul Protector
· She Cast No Shadow
· 16 Guns*
--*Best Tracks

06/07/04: Figge -
Rating: 89
I have nothing new to add, really. The two reviewers before me have said it all. I agree totally with Freddy De Keyzer (for once) here....GREAT CLASSIC HARD ROCK!

06/07/04: Steve Price -
Rating: 80
At the first time of playing I actually thought this was a bad album but the more I play it I realise that it's actually quite a masterpiece. The only downfall is that it isn't easy to listen to and needs a lot of concentration to be appreciated.

05/07/04: John Ferguson -
Rating: 95
Stylistically similar to the original, the song writing this time around shows a greater level of maturity and confidence which help to make the album an adventure through a classic rock jungle, with all the necessary degrees of bombast and soul you expect from the mighty Hughes particularly on the storming “Make Believe”, a typical Glenn Hughes rocker, the awesome assault of “Dying to Live” and the monumental title track. Fans of powerful classic rock will be simply blown away as this has all the ingredients of a future classic.

05/07/04: Freddy De Keyzer -
Rating: 88
Superb classic hardrock ! No new sounds, just classic sounding hardrock. Glad to see there are still artist doing this and they deserve our respect !
Fine there are no modern influences !
As always the voice of Glen is great !, maybe a bit more raw than usual. This stuff is heavy !
And Dario is a great guitarist. The songs are O.K. !
So, what are you waiting for ?
Recommended !!!!!

ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100)