AOR Heaven NEH Z-Roxx Loud 1 Wishing Well CD Inzane Loud Metal Target Music Buy Mail Hang Loose



Journey Generations Frontiers Records FRCD2

Track Listing
· Faith In The Heartland
· The Place In Your Heart
· A Better Life (lead vocals Deen Castronovo)
· Every Generation (lead vocals Jonathan Cain)
· Butterfly (She Flies Alone)
· Believe
· Knowing That You Love Me
· Out Of Harms Way
· Self-Defense (lead vocals Neal Schon)
· Better Together
· Gone Crazy (lead vocals Ross Valory)
· Beyond the Clouds
· It's Never Too Late (lead vocals Deen Castronovo) - exclusive bonus track

Album Details
· Produced By: Kevin Elson
· Running Time:
· Release Date: August 29
· Released:
· Genre: AOR / Melodic Rock
· WebLink: Journey
· LabelLink: Frontiers

Artist Bio
During its initial 14 years of existence (1973-1987), Journey altered its musical approach and its personnel extensively while becoming a top touring and recording band. The only constant factor was guitarist Neal Schon, a music prodigy who had been a member of Santana in 1971-1972.

The original unit featured Schon, bassist Ross Valory, drummer Prairie Prince (later replaced by Aynsley Dunbar) and guitarist George Tickner (who left after the first album). Another former Santana member, keyboard player and singer Gregg Rolie, joined shortly afterwards. This lineup recorded "Journey" (1975), the first of three jazz-rock albums. By 1977, however, the group decided it needed a strong vocalist/frontman and hired Steve Perry.

The results were immediately felt on the fourth album, "Infinity" (1978), which sold a million copies within a year. By this time, Dunbar had been replaced by Steve Smith. "Evolution" (1979) was similarly successful, as was "Departure", after which Rolie was replaced by Jonathan Cain. Following a live album, "Captured" (1981), Journey released "Escape", which broke them through to the top ranks of pop groups by scoring three US Top Ten hit singles: "Who's Crying Now," "Don't Stop Believin'" and "Open Arms". The album topped the charts and had sold nine million copies by 1996.

"Frontiers" (1983), featuring the hit "Separate Ways", was another big success, after which Perry released a double-platinum solo album, "Street Talk" (1984). When the group got back together to make a new album, Valory and Smith were no longer in the line-up and "Raised on Radio" (1986) was recorded mainly by Schon, Perry and Cain, who added other musicians for a tour, following which Journey disbanded. Perry went into a prolonged period of self-reclusion, while Schon and Cain formed Bad English with vocalist John Waite.

In 1996 Perry, Schon, Smith, Cain and Valory reunited to release “Trial By Fire”, which entered the US chart at number 3. The following year Deen Castronovo (ex-Bad English) replaced Smith and vocalist Steve Augeri (ex-Tall Stories) replaced Perry, after health problems sidelined the singer.

Vocalist, Steve Augeri first recorded with Journey for the band’s 1998 contribution to the Armageddon soundtrack – "Remember Me". The soundtrack, which hit #1 on the Billboard charts, was certified triple platinum.

The band’s 18th release, “Arrival” debuted in the spring of 2001 and the group launched their incredibly successful 56-city Arrival 2001 World Tour.

Throughout the summer of 2002, Journey again brought its live show around the USA during their "Under The Radar Tour". It also gave the band an opportunity to showcase music from their new EP, “Red 13”, released in the same year.

In 2005 Journey are back with the new studio album recorded during February and March 2005 at the Record Plant in Sausalito, CA where the band recorded 1986's “Raised on Radio”. The title, “Generations”, represents the constancy of Journey's followers - old and new - throughout the past 30 years. "There's a whole new generation that has become fans of ours", according to bass player Ross Valory.
The band turned to an old friend, Kevin Elson, to produce “Generations”. He's the man responsible for the band's multi-platinum “Escape”, “Departure” and “Frontiers” albums, as well as their double-platinum “Captured” live album. Famed producer Michael Fraser (Metallica, AC/DC, Aerosmith) was later enlisted to team up with Elson to engineer the sessions.

With new song like "Faith In The Heartland", "Place In Your Heart" and "A Better Life", "the band has come full circle" according to Jonathan Cain. "We've been going in different directions in the past. I think it embraces the elements of Frontiers again, our rock roots, with a bit of a soul sound to it. We've also got a song about the soldiers over in the Middle East called 'Out Of Harm's Way.' The band certainly has a concern and respect for what they're doing".

In an interesting twist, “Generations” will be the first Journey album in which all the band members get a shot at being the frontman. "Everyone is singing at least one, if not two songs on the new album", says Valory, "we've been doing that on the past few tours and the audiences love it. We're spreading the talent around. I like to think of it as a blossoming of new singers who've just been playing their instruments before".