The Better Never Than Late ‘MelRock Best Album Of 2018’ Awards

The Better Never Than Late ‘MelRock Best Album Of 2018’ Awards
1. Treat – Tunguska
Classic. Modern and contemporary, yet absolutely old-school in its melodic approach.
2. W.E.T – Earthrage
The combo of Soto/Martensson/Sall produced another extraordinary anthemic masterclass.
3. Shinedown – Attention Attention
They don’t do bad albums, but this still one of their best. Amazing emotional journey.
4. Perfect Plan – All Rise
The brightest newcomer of 2018 and a seriously stunning slice of Scandi melodic rock on their debut.
5. Halestorm – Vicious
Another glorious slice of female fronted hard rock.
6. Creye – Creye
Another bright Swedish newcomer. A pink and fluffy AOR dream.
7. State of Salazar – Superhero
Another unique and truly special “new old school” Scandi band. I love these guys.
8. Magnum – Lost on The Road to Eternity
My favourite “New Magnum” release since reforming. A little more uptempo and more keys.
9. Station – More Than The Moon
Consistent, memorable, anthemic and well produced. And American!
10. Snakes In Paradise – Step Into The Light
Another welcome return. Unique band with a unique sound.
11. Care Of Night – Love Equals War
Second album and more quality pure AOR for old-school fans.
12. Vega – Only Human
Always solid, always classy and still the holders of the British AOR crown.
13. Kenny Leckremo’s Spectra – Spectra
A little different than expected and quite laid back, but that voice and these songs, winner.
14. Dynazty – Firesign
Their heaviest yet. Kick ass anthemic European hard rock. Eclipse meets Masterplan.
15. Ted Poley – Modern Art
Ted switches up his 80s sound for a modern melodic rock masterpiece.
16. Groundbreaker – Groundbreaker
The second album featuring Robert Sall. This one with FM’s Steve Overland. Smooth as silk.
17. Night Flight Orchestra – Sometimes The World Ain't Enough
The 70s meets today. Styx meets ELO. Brain food for melodic rock fans.
18. FM – Atomic Generation
Two from two for the master vocalist Steve Overland.
19. Ghost – Prequelle
A surprisingly melodic album for an artist that’s particularly ‘out there’.
20. Dallas – Dallas
The mix and sound unfortunately varied, but holy hell, the songs! 80s anthems galore.
21. 7th Heaven – Color In Motion
Their best album since vocalist Adam joined. A short 10 track statement – impossibly catchy as usual.
22. Age Sten Nilsen's Ammunition – Ammunition
Not quite as consistent as the debut, but Wig Wam meets Eclipse? Every day of the week please.
23. Core Leoni – Greatest Hits Part 1
Great songs from the Gotthard early days and some amazing vocals from Ronnie Romero.
24. Atlas – In Pursuit Of Memory
Production could have been better, but this classy debut mixes genres into something memorable.
25. Steve Perry – Traces
It should have been number one. It’s an almost album - almost suitable for any occasion. The voice is almost there, the songs were almost there, but the tempo was AWOL. Still…any Steve MF Perry is good SMFP to many and his legion of dedicated fans.

Shinedown - "Devil" (Official Video)

The new SHINEDOWN album is out May 4.
From Billboard: The concept rolls from the pounding, riff-driven attack of "DEVIL" to "KILL YOUR CONSCIENCE" and its cautionary tale of social media to "special," which Smith says he thinks "is one of the more interesting songs that people will probably have quite a few conversations about." By album closer "BRILLIANT," normally a spot reserved on Shinedown albums for a ballad to bid adieu the listener, the LP has transcended to a rafters-reaching major-key hook that defiantly proclaims it's "my day to be brilliant" -- certainly a 180 from "DEVIL."
"At the beginning of the record, you can feel this intensity and these bold statements that are being made," Smith says. "But as the record progresses, you hear the individual and the record start to shift, and they start to get their confidence back, and they start to understand what's going on, because they're having to face emotions that they've never really faced before. We call it digging in the dirt mentally. This person has to flush it out. In order to be able to get out of this room and out of this chair and go back into the world, they have to train themselves mentally. They have to accept the fact that it's not always going to be great. It's not always going to be exactly the way you want it.
"A lot of this record is about me, and a lot of this record is about the things in my life that I've been afraid to face in one way or another. But it's also about Eric and what he faces. And that was a very bold understanding that me and him had during the making of this record, that nothing was off limits. This record is also about Zach, and this record is also about Barry, you know? We had to come from a very real place."

SHINEDOWN Issue A 'Threat To Survival' September 18

Friday, September 18, 2015
SHINEDOWN fans can celebrate the announcement of the band's new album 'Threat To Survival' due for release next month. The statement reads:
"Friends and family - you have waited long enough. Our fifth statement to the world is called 'Threat To Survival' and it will be released on September 18, 2015. 
Pre-orders are available NOW via iTunes / Apple Music:
We can't thank you enough for your patience, we have poured our entire being into these songs and into this album. We are beyond proud and can’t wait for you to hear it….we believe it is worth the wait!"
Track listing:
Asking for It
Cut the Cord
State of My Head
How Did You Love?
It All Adds Up
Thick as Thieves
Black Cadillac

SHINEDOWN Debut First New Song From Upcoming Album

Release Year: 
Shinedown returned today (June 29) with its first new music in three years, a chugging, fist-pumping rocker called "Cut the Cord." The track has been online for a few hours, but Billboard has the premiere of its official video.
Alongisde the requisite rocking, Shinedown sprinkled some interesting production touches into this one. Frontman Brent Smith's guttural vocals are juxtaposed against the choral chant of, "freedom la la la, freedom follow me," throughout the song. And pay attention to the intro for some additional sonic variety. Shinedown bassist Eric Bass handled the production.
About the song, Smith tells Billboard: "'Cut The Cord' is a wake up call reminding us all that we can control our own destiny by finding the courage and tenacity to destroy whatever it is that's holding us back. The process may not be pretty or perfect or even easy, but absolutely necessary. The song is brutally honest and unapologetic, which is what Shinedown has always been."
The intense clip was directed by Darren Doane who previously directed the band's music videos for "Devour," "Sound Of Madness," and "If You Only Knew." He is also working on an upcoming film about Shinedown's history. 
"We really wanted the video to match the intensity of the song," Smith says. "We've worked with Darren Doane on several of our videos so there's a real trust between us and it only took a few takes.  Honestly, I don't think we could have done too many more -- we gave it everything we had, literally playing so hard that it physically hurt."
"Cut the Cord" comes from Shinedown's forthcoming fifth album, which is due out later this year. The track will try to match the chart success of Shinedown's previous singles. Their last album featured five singles that peaked in the top five of Mainstream Rock Songs: "Unity" (1), "Bully" (1), "I'll Follow You" (2), "Enemies" (2), and "Adrenaline" (4).
Shinedown's last album was 2012's Amaryllis
On July 9, the Florida-based band embarks on a U.S. tour, beginning with a home state gig in St. Petersburg. All the dates are listed on Shinedown's official site
Subscribe to Shinedown