December 7, 2022


JIMMY DAVIS & JUNCTION Ltd Ed Reissues Available to Pre-Order

Kick The Wall


MelodicRock Classics and Jimmy Davis will team up for a second time to do a limited edition reissue of the debut JIMMY DAVIS & JUNCTION album ‘Kick The Wall’, freshly remastered by JK Northrup along with a very special bonus. The release will feature a second disc featuring a rare live concert, ‘Live At The Bottom Line’, as broadcast by Westwood One in 1987.

2022 marks the 35th Anniversary of the original release – this version limited to just 500 units.

Jimmy Davis on that debut: “In the early 80s, I met John Scott. We were put together in a theme park show replacing my favorite local bluegrass band turned rock and roll band that featured fiddle, mandolin, guitar whiz Tommy Burroughs. I was already writing and wanted to incorporate all of my influences in one band like they did. But somewhere around 1985 I wrote ‘Kick the Wall’ and demoed it at John’s home demo studio. We knew we were on to something. We started getting noticed and joined up with a new studio in Memphis, Sounds Unreel. The studio started in our soon to be manager, Jon Hornyak’s house. But they grew into a full on 24 track studio. Our hero Jack Holder and Don C Smith all took us in and we stared recording what became the debut album.”

Also being reissued as a limited erditon 500 unit press is the phenomenal shelved sophomore Jimmy Davis & Junction album ‘Going The Distance’ from 1990. It’s a melodic rock masterpiece.

You could be forgiven for never hearing about this album previously, or even be entirely unaware of Jimmy Davis and his talents as a singer, guitarist and songwriter. It’s never too late to discover a masterpiece. And that’s exactly what these albums represent. An extremely talented band at their very best, another victim of record label machinations.

Jimmy on the ‘lost’ album: “We starred on the second record in Memphis and ended up doing 4 or 5 songs in LA with Danny Kortchmar with Chad on drums. It took a long time and we had amazing quests, Warren Hayes co-wrote and played, Kevin Dukes from Jackson Browne’s band and the Memphis Horns… But things were changing going into the 90s. Grunge for one. I was tired and frustrated, nothing made sense. We made the record for three different label presidents and it was time for a change. I wanted to do what is now called Americana. I simply walked away and ‘Going the Distance’ was shelved.”

No one knows how the original recording of ‘Going The Distance’ leaked, probably from one of the original advance cassette that Chrysalis Records sent out when the album was touted for release back in 1990.

But that would explain the less than perfect audio that has been heavily traded by collectors ever since.

And if that’s you – wait until you hear this record remastered from the original tapes!

The power, passion and performances on ‘Going The Distance’ are nothing short of melodic rock perfection.

Mixing the rootsy, natural live Midwestern rock n roll style with the commercial melodic rock sound of the day is a brilliant combination.

Imagine Bryan Adams in his ‘Into The Fire’ style or John Mellencamp during his ‘Scarecrow’ period. Add in some Charlie Sexton, John Kilzer, Richie Sambora (solo) and Jimmy’s own unique style and you get an amazing record that I personally would have had on regular rotation over the last two decades had the release gone according to plan.

Using previously unseen original artwork for both albums – including using the original cover Jimmy wanted for ‘Kick The Wall’ – this is an essential purchase for longtime Jimmy Davis fans. And there is no doubt that Jimmy is going to attract a whole new group of followers with these albums available July 29.

Track Listings:

Kick The Wall (Deluxe Edition):

Disc One – Kick The Wall (Remastered)

01. Catch My Heart

02. Just a Little Bit

03. Kick the Wall

04. Labor of Love

05. Shoeshine Man

06. Are We Rockin’ Yet

07. Why the West Was Won

08. Don’t Hold Back the Night

09. Just Having Touched

10. Over the Top 

Disc Two – Live At The Bottom Line (Remastered)

01. Catch My Heart

02. Just a Little Bit

03. Labor of Love

04. Shoeshine Man

05. Why the West Was Won

06. Just Having Touched

07. Kick the Wall

08. Are We Rockin’ Yet

09. Over the Top 

10. Get Back

Going The Distance (Previously Unreleased 1990 Album):

01. Out Of Control

02. Get It While You Can

03 Enough Is Enough

04. Better Believe It

05. Against The Ropes

06. When The Darkness

07. Can’t Run Away

08. Let The Man Rock

09. Right As Rain

10. All The Rage

11. Never Know

12. My Way Or The Highway