December 1, 2022


MRCD14 Set To Arrive in January – Exclusively Featuring 2 Planet Us Demos will celebrate the site’s 25th Anniversary with one final Volume in its popular MRCD series. The site passed its 25th Anniversary mark in 2021, but the intention was always to mark the occasion with a new compilation featuring many of the artist friends that have supported the site over the years. It just took a little longer to organise!

While the internet and the way people view information has changed a great deal over the past few years, the continues to add new reviews in between running the reissue label MelodicRock Classics.

The MRCD series kicked off in 2003 with the ‘Revealed & Revisited’ release, making this January’s release, the 20th Anniversary of the series which last appeared in 2015.

MRCD14 will be the final compilation in this series as MelodicRock Classics label takes up all available time and, finding a collection of cool, mostly exclusive songs is a harder task than you might expect. I extend deep gratitude to the artists that are involved in this last volume.

Distribution of the set will be far more limited than regular MRC titles. Outlets stocking the CD will be announced in due course, but the set will be strictly limited to a one-off 500 unit pressing.

Direct website sales the only guaranteed way to lock in a copy.

MRCD14 will be a 2CD set priced at $35 (including airmail shipping).

Disc One will feature 16 tracks – 15 of which are exclusive to this compilation.

Disc Two will feature 17 tracks – featuring a selection of the best exclusive tracks from previous MRCD compilations, all of which are out of print and unavailable, giving many fans another chance to have these killer tracks.

Full details and pre-order information for MRCD14 will be announced shortly. But I can’t keep this one secret for a minute longer.

Appearing exclusively on MRCD14 will be the first ever release of the original Planet Us recordings featuring Sammy Hagar on lead vocals, Neal Schon on guitar, Michael Anthony on bass, and Deen Castronovo on drums.

With huge thanks to Sammy Hagar and Neal Schon, the only two recordings the lineup made will debut. Those tracks – Vertigo and Peephole – will kick off the compilation.

Stay tuned for more…