January 26, 2023



MRCD14 – Ltd Ed 500 Unit Compilation PRE-ORDER NOW

MelodicRock.com will celebrate the site’s 25th Anniversary with one final Volume in its popular MRCD series. The site passed its 25th Anniversary mark in 2021, but the intention was always to mark the occasion with a new compilation featuring many of the artist friends that have supported the site over the years. It just took a little longer to organise!

While the internet and the way people view information has changed a great deal over the past few years, the MelodicRock.com continues to add new reviews in between running the reissue label MelodicRock Classics.

The MRCD series kicked off in 2003 with the ‘Revealed & Revisited’ release, making this January’s release, the 20th Anniversary of the series which last appeared in 2015.

MRCD14 will be the final compilation in this series as MelodicRock Classics label takes up all available time and, finding a collection of cool, mostly exclusive songs is a harder task than you might expect. I extend deep gratitude to the artists that are involved in this last volume.

Distribution of the set will be far more limited than regular MRC titles. Outlets stocking the CD will be announced in due course, but the set will be strictly limited to a one-off 500 unit pressing.

Direct website sales the only guaranteed way to lock in a copy.

MRCD14 will be a 2CD set priced at $35 (including airmail shipping).

PRE-ORDER NOW – https://melodicrockclassics.com/mrcd14.html

Disc One will feature 16 tracks – 15 of which are exclusive to this compilation.

Disc Two will feature 17 tracks – featuring a selection of the best exclusive tracks from previous MRCD compilations, all of which are out of print and unavailable, giving many fans another chance to have these killer tracks.

Appearing exclusively on MRCD14 will be the first ever release of the original Planet Us recordings featuring Sammy Hagar on lead vocals, Neal Schon on guitar, Michael Anthony on bass, and Deen Castronovo on drums.

With huge thanks to Sammy Hagar and Neal Schon, the only two recordings the lineup made will debut. Those tracks – Vertigo and Peephole – will kick off the compilation.

Stay tuned for more…

01. Planet Us – Vertigo (Original Demo)(Previously Unreleased) 5:32

02. Planet Us – Peephole (Original Demo)(Previously Unreleased)  4:28

03. Grimmstine – Deadly Tantrum (Japanese Bonus Track) 6:38

04. Trigger – Demon Eyes 4:05

05. Eden’s Curse – Jerusalem Sleeps (Nikola Audition Demo)(Previously Unreleased) 6:32

06. Erik Martensson – This Is The Moment (Original Demo)(Previously Unreleased) 4:59

07. Dare Force – Defiant (Previously Unreleased) 6.00

08. Vana – The Battle’s Won (New Track, Preview) 4:27

09. Rick Springfield – The Snake King (Live, Album Release Party)(Previously Unreleased) 3:53

10. All I Know – Can’t Get You Out Of My Head (New Track, Preview) 4:48

11. Jim Peterik & Kane Roberts – Blue Highway (Previously Unreleased) 5:03

12. Montana – Lorelei (Feat. Brian MacLeod) 4:04

13. Steve Grimmett Band – We Are The Ones (Previously Unreleased) 4.21

14. Brian Bart & Kelly Keagy – Time Waits For No One (Previously Unreleased) 4:11

15. The Bryan Hughes Group – Time Will Tell (Previously Unreleased) 5:32

16. Terry Brock – Back In America (Unplugged, Live Dallas 2009)(Previously Unreleased) 3:23


01. Cashmir – Josie 4:22 (From MRCD5)

02. Eric Martin – No Turning Back (Feat. Neal Schon) 4:03 (From MRCD5)

03. Human Clay – Edge Of The Blade 4.50 (Bonus Track)

04. Novak – Said And Done 4:27 (From MRCD3)

05. Robert Säll & Lars Safsund – Worth Fighting For (Writers Demo) 4:54 (From MRCD9)

06. Hugo – Forever In My Heart 5.03 (From MRCD1)

07. Mike Tharin & Danny Vaughn – Released 4:05 (From MRCD3)

08. Mike Tharin & Danny Vaughn – Revolution 4:40 (From MRCD7)

09. Jim Peterik – My War 3:58 (From MRCD7)

10. Beggars & Thieves – Home 4:16 (From MRCD9)

11. Jim Peterik & Marc Scherer – Delusional (Original Demo) 4:38 (From MRCD13)

12. Attraction 65 – One Step Over The Line 3:29 (From MRCD2)

13. Gregg Fulkerson – Back In The Day 3:34 (From MRCD5)

14. Gregg Fulkerson – A Date With Destiny 4:20 (From MRCD1)

15. Harem Scarem – Coming For You 4.23 (From MRCD3)

16. Jeff & Terry’s Excellent Adventure – You Should Know 3:56 (From MRCD1)

17. JK Northrup – Hangin’ By A Thread 3:58 (From MRCD2)


The MRCD14 release date has been pushed back a couple of weeks to January 27. Late arrival of audio masters and the extended Christmas break has pushed the compilation off schedule.

Audio is being mastered next week and will ne sent out in advance to all pre-order customers as soon as received.

BUT…with bad news comes good! The delay has allowed the inclusion of a bonus preview track, that has just become available.

I’m pleased to announce the return of TOWER CITY, with a brand-new song “Road Out Of Nowhere”, just recently recorded by the guys and making its worldwide debut as part of MRCD14 ‘Defiant’.

The band comments:

“This song was started with a lyric by K. Parker, from BMI publishing, whom Larry first wrote with in The New Monkees. We crafted the song and melodies late in Covid to bring some signals of hope and prosperity during some challenging times when there seemed a lot of desperation. We dug back into our rock roots and aggressive nature which felt natural and went for a modern, big sound to grab a bit of that arena sound that we as a band love to experience ourselves and felt was so badly missing in some aspects of the market. We hope “Road Out Of Nowhere“ sets a new standard for Tower City fans and gleans a bit of where we can head as a creative unit in 2023.”

An audio preview of the track will be presented after mastering next week.

So far nearly 400 units of the compilation have been pre-ordered or reserved by select retailers. Only 500 will ever be pressed, so to guarantee a copy, pre-order now via:


All pre-orders will receive advance audio next week.