JOEL HOEKSTRA's 13 - Dying To Live (Track By Track)

Release Year: 
Friday, October 16, 2015
News Feed
JOEL HOEKSTRA'S 13 is a side project formed by popular Whitesnake guitarist Joel Hoekstra, who is also well known for his work with Night Ranger, Trans Siberian Orchestra and the show Rock of Ages.
The album features some truly stellar guests Jeff Scott Soto and Russell Allen sharing vocal duties along with Vinny Appice – drums and Tony Franklin – bass.
So what has Joel lined up for us on his debut solo album? Here’s a Track By Track look:
01. Say Goodbye to the Sun is a fierce tour de force with Russell bellowing at full volume. A Dio-esque metal intensity with this fine song.
02. Anymore sees Russell delivering a really catchy hard rock track with a fast beat and a free flowing high energy chorus.
03. Until I Left You is nothing short of a classic JSS sung melodic rock anthem. Great tune for fans of Night Ranger and Jeff as Joel turns ultra-commercial here.
04. Long For the Days is an epic sounding classic rock ballad. There’s some 70s and 80s influences there and more Dio, but ultra-melodic. Classy slow guitar solo too.
05. Scream is Jeff’s turn to go metal, with a tough but melodic sounding stadium metal track.
06. Never Say Never is Russell getting to sing at his most commercial. This is an instantly memorable melodic rocker with a stand out chorus.
07. Changes is Russell again, signing a moody hard rock track with a good heart.
08. The Only Way to Go is a uptempo hard rock song with a swagger and JSS in his darker heavier tone and Joel slashing his way through the song.
09. Dying to Live is a fast and fabulous melodic metal track which suits Russell to a tee.
10. Start Again is another JSS delivered monster melodic rock anthem. Huge chorus.
11. What We Believe is a bit of an epic mid-tempo album closer – the perfect tempo and tone to end one epic album.