Cold Shot


Eonian Records Announces COLD SHOT August 26

Tuesday, August 26, 2014
News Feed

Indianapolis, Indiana – Eonian Records is pleased to announce the Self-Titled album release by Los Angeles rockers COLD SHOT, produced and engineered by Mark Eisenstein and Russ Castillo (The Doors, Kansas, Pink Floyd).  
COLD SHOT also recently held their album pre-release party, as well as celebrated their 25th Anniversary on Friday, July 25th, 2014 in front of a capacity crowd at Paladino’s in Tarzana, California.


Adam Murray - Vocals
Anthony Gallo - Guitars
Erin Bartley - Bass
Rikki Baggett - Drums
Like so many good hard rock acts, COLD SHOT was formed in the seething cauldron of excess and decadence that was the L.A. metal scene in 1988. COLD SHOT was a band that came about through pure chance. Guitarist Anthony Gallo had been a part of the L.A. scene for quite some time, his disillusionment growing exponentially by the day. But that all changed when he heard singer/songwriter Adam Murray sing at a show. The power of Adam’s voice destroyed all of Anthony’s disillusionment like a dandelion in a dust storm. Realizing destiny was staring him smack in the face, Anthony vowed right then and there that he and Adam would record music together.
The two became fast friends and quickly formed a band called Shark Team, a name Adam hated right from the start. Eager to get their name - loathed as it might be by his musical partner in crime - out there, Anthony booked a show at Gazzarri's before they even had a bassist or drummer. Luckily it didn’t take long to fill these slots; Erin Bartley answered the ad for the bass player position and recommended his roommate Rikki Baggett for drumming duties.
Adam insisted the group deep-six Shark Team and redub the band COLD SHOT. The name stemmed from a conversation Adam had once had with an elderly coworker in a delicatessen; as Adam shared some of the cruelty his ex had inflicted, the old dude commented, “Man, what a cold shot!” The phrase had stuck in Adam’s mind and he now applied it to their new band.
With the new name came a fresh burst of luck. The band caught the attention of well-known promoter Sam Sarkiss. They had their pictures snapped by legendary photographer Neil Zlozower, Erin and Anthony secured endorsement deals with Renegade Custom Guitars. COLD SHOT headlined and sold out well-known venues on the Sunset Strip in West Hollywood, California such as The Roxy Theatre and Whisky a Go Go on a regular basis. They even recorded two songs - “Juicy Lucy” and “Higher” - for the soundtrack to Brad Pitt’s first indie film, “Across the Tracks,” the latter of which was co-written with Carlos Cavazo of Quiet Riot and Ratt fame.
All this eventually led to a deal offer from Virgin Records, but before anything materialized grunge came along and put the screws to melodic metal. The Sunset Strip was out and Seattle was in. When Tommy Lee shaved his head, that was the last straw, the final nail in the coffin of L.A. metal, and COLD SHOT called it quits.
Now, 20 years after the band laid down their metaphorical guns, their music is being reloaded and ready to roar once again. Yeah, that’s right - COLD SHOT is getting ready to take another shot. Turn the stereo up and prepare to feel the impact as COLD SHOT nails a hard rock bulls-eye right between your ears.
·  Celebrated the band's 25th Anniversary and Self-Titled album pre-release party on Friday, July 25th, 2014 in front of a capacity crowd at Paladino’s in Tarzana, California.
·  “Juicy Lucy” and “Higher” were recorded for the soundtrack to Brad Pitt’s first indie film, Across the Tracks.
·  The song "Higher" was co-written with Carlos Cavazo (Quiet Riot, Ratt).
·  COLD SHOT was engineered by Russ Castillo (Kansas, Pink Floyd, The Doors).
·  Played with such major label bands as the Bulletboys, Bang Tango, Guns N' Roses, and Motorhead.
·  Headlined and sold out well-known venues on the Sunset Strip in West Hollywood, California such as Coconut Teaszer, Country Club, FM Station, Gazzarri's, Riki Rachtman's Cathouse, The Roxy Theatre, Troubadour, and Whisky a Go Go.
·  All promo shots by legendary Rock and Roll Photographer Neil Zlozower.
·  Guitarist Anthony Gallo and bassist Erin Bartley were both endorsed by Renegade Custom Guitars.
·  “Give Me What I Need” and unreleased “Never Too Late” will be featured on the ROCK 'N' ROLL REBELS & THE SUNSET STRIP box set, released on Eonian Records in the fall of 2014.  Box set will feature 80 bands (160 songs) from Hollywood, California in the '80s & early '90s ...the last generation of rock bands that ruled the Los Angeles music scene.  
·  Guitarist Anthony Gallo played with Nick Menza, drummer best known for his work with Megadeth from 1989 to 1998, on his first solo record and was also a member of Los Cycos with Mike Muir, lead vocalist of the Venice hardcore punk band Suicidal Tendencies.
Eonian Records believes that good music never dies. Just because a recording resided in a state of dust, decay, and dormancy for the last quarter-century does not automatically mean it should be discarded like an expired condom. If you purchase an album bearing the Eonian logo, you can rest assured that it has never been previously released, that it deserved to be released, and that it has been released with the utmost care and attention to quality.
Founded for no other reason than a love of the genre, Eonian was launched in 2008 as an independent label with the singular goal of serving as hard rock and metal archaeologists digging up unreleased '80s and early '90s recordings and giving them the proper release they were never afforded back in the day.

All live photos by Jessica Black.

You Tube



Subscribe to Cold Shot