Magnus Karlsson's Freefall



information persons: 
Produced By: 
Magnus Karlsson
Running Time: 
Release Date: 
Musical Style: 
Hard Rock / Melodic Metal
Release Year: 
Friday, November 6, 2015
Swedish guitarist Magnus Karlsson (the man behind Allen/Lande, Starbreaker and more) returns with his second “Freefall” album, featuring another cast of all-star guests and powerhouse melodic metal/hard rock songs.
Following the acclaim of his solo debut, Magnus had a lot to live up to here. In my opinion, he does so with ease, even if this time the emphasis is slightly different than the first opus.
Kingdom Of Rock is just as powerful and as perfectly produced and mixed as the debut, but this is a more commercial record with a hard rock heart – even some powerful ‘melodic rock’. The metal edge has definitely been toned down.
Some of that has to do with the guest vocalists involved. All music and lyrics as well as everything but the drums (added by Jaime Salazar), plus all the production is from the hand of Magnus. That’s really quite extraordinary for an album of this caliber.
Kingdom Of Rock (Jorn Lande, vocals) is classic Magnus/Allen Lande and the perfect opener. Also my favourite track on the album just for Jorn’s killer vocal and the melodic hook in the chorus.
Out Of The Dark (Jakob Samuel, vocals) is something resembling The Poodles but all metal baby! Jakob’s voice stretches that bit further to hammer out a great hard rock song here.
No Control (Joe Lynn Turner, vocals) is JLT at his best also. The track is essentially a heavy melodic rock track with a great catchy chours.
When The Sky Falls (Tony Martin, vocals) is a slower, moodier and heavier track and Tony sounds brilliant. A nice melodic metal track that has a hint of Dio to it.
Angel Of The Night (David Readman, vocals) is another chunky hard rocker, this time with PC69’s David Readman controlling the sound. And as with the other tracks, Magnus let’s David’s personality shine through.
I Am Coming For You is another fairly commercial hard rock track, with Magnus himself on vocals. He really does have a good voice, he could easily carry this project by himself.
Another Life features current Masterplan vocalist Rick Altzi and swiftly manages to sound better than anything off the last Masterplan album.
Never Look Away is brilliant. Another fast moving melodic hard rocker, with the brilliant Tony Harnell delivering a Starbreaker friendly track. His voice and Magnus’ sound are just wonderful to hear each time. A great chorus takes it over the top.
A Heart So Cold could be one of the surprise tracks. Harem Scarem’s Harry Hess goes metal for this all-in rocker with a big chorus and even bigger vocals. Harry adapts brilliantly to the heavier sound and rips through this.
The Right Moment (Rebecca De La Motte, vocals) is a big symphonic ballad that could easily be on a Within Temptation or Nightwish album. Love it!
The album closes with Magnus on vocals again. I’m really enjoying the tone of his voice and Walk This Road Alone is a heavy, slightly progressive metal track that takes the album out on a heavy (and classy) note.

This is an easy one. If you have any Starbreaker/Allen Lande/MK produced album in your collection, then this is a buy or die release.
If you like melodic metal or hard rock with a heavy but melodic edge and can appreciate some of the best vocalists in the business doing their thing, this also demands buying.
A thoroughly enjoyable album that is consistently strong throughout, despite the use of different vocalists which can sometimes bring a project unhinged. Not on this occasion!

Magnus Karlsson’s Free Fall - “Kingdom Of Rock” Lyric Video (Feat. Jorn Lande)

Who is ready for the premiere of the first track from Magnus Karlsson's Free Fall's new album? Please check out the title track, "Kingdom Of Rock" featuring the one and only JORN LANDE on vocals!
Magnus Karlsson's Free Fall's KINGDOM OF ROCK will be released on November 6th and can be pre-ordered here: 
All MP3 pre-orders include instant downloads of the title track, "Kingdom Of Rock".

MAGNUS KARLSSON'S FREEFALL Returns With 'Kingdom Of Rock'

Release Year: 
Friday, November 6, 2015
News Feed
Swedish axeman MAGNUS KARLSSON is back with the second album of his solo project FREEFALL entitled “Kingdom of Rock”!
Out on Frontiers in November!
Frontiers Music Srl is pleased to announce the release of the sophomore album from MAGNUS KARLSSON’S FREEFALL “Kingdom Of Rock” on November 6th.
Magnus Karlsson is the mastermind behind several Frontiers Music Srl productions, including the successful initial ALLEN/LANDE trilogy, STARBREAKER, BOB CATLEY, KISKE/SOMERVILLE and several others. In 2008, he joined the German Heavy Metal icons PRIMAL FEAR and with them has toured the world and recorded three successful albums that climbed high on the charts in several countries.
For this new album – aptly titled “Kingdom of Rock” - Magnus enlisted again a dream team featuring some of the  strongest melodic singers in metal and hard rock! Magnus says: “I didn’t plan to make a second Free Fall album at first but one album wasn’t enough for my wish list of singers… so after the summer last year I started on some ideas. Without pressure or a deadline… just for fun. So I started to look at the list with singers and thought if can I get these guys on board I will work harder than ever before to make the best album I could. I wanted not only some of the best singers I ever heard, but singers that meant a lot to me and that have given me inspiration. For example: Tony Martin and Joe Lynn Turner… I grew up with their music and that made me the musician I am today. It feels unreal to make music with them now!“
The final list includes TONY HARNELL (Skid Row, TNT, Starbreaker), RICK ALTZI (Masterplan, At Vance), DAVID READMAN (Pink Cream 69, Voodoo Circle), JORN LANDE, JAKOB SAMUEL (The Poodles), JOE LYNN TURNER (Rainbow, Malmsteen, Deep Purple), TONY MARTIN (Black Sabbath), HARRY HESS (Harem Scarem) and REBECCA DE LA MOTTE. Rounding out the line-up on the album is Jaime Salazar on drums with production duties handled by Jacob Hansen (Volbeat, Primal Fear, Amaranthe, Pretty Maids and more).
Magnus says, “There is a lot more work in this album. Normally I don’t throw away good ideas. This time I skipped great ideas and replaced it with something better. I don’t want to do the same thing over and over. I want to do something better. I also had a bigger budget for the production and was able to work in great studios. Jacob Hansen did a fantastic job with the mix and mastering and the sound is just what I always wanted. This is not about having big names on the album, this is simply about making the best music I possibly can for the best singers I know!”
The final result “Kingdom of Rock” is a Melodic Metal blast which is truly one of the top releases of its kind in 2015!
                Enjoy an album trailer following this link:
Tracklisting:  Kingdom Of Rock (Jorn Lande, vocals); Out Of The Dark (Jakob Samuel, vocals); No Control (Joe Lynn Turner, vocals); When The Sky Falls (Tony Martin, vocals); Angel Of The Night (David Readman, vocals); I Am Coming For You (Magnus Karlsson, vocals); Another Life (Rick Altzi, vocals); Never Look Away (Tony Harnell, vocals); A Heart So Cold (Harry Hess, vocals); The Right Moment (Rebecca De La Motte, vocals); Walk This Road Alone (Magnus Karlsson, vocals).
Magnus Karlsson - Guitars, Bass, Keyboards, Vocals
Jaime Salazar - Drums
Subscribe to Magnus Karlsson's Freefall