THUNDERMOTHER To Release 'Road Fever' Through Sweden's Despotz Records

Friday, September 4, 2015
News Feed
(28 July 2015 - Stockholm, SWEDEN)  There's a new female hard rock band in town and if you don't watch your back, the Swedish based quintet, Thundermother are going to be on you like roadkill as they place their smelly stamp on the rock n roll landscape everywhere they go.
Road Fever, the sophomore effort from Thundermother will hit the streets on 4 September through Despotz Records. The follow up to the critically acclaimed 'Rock N' Roll Disaster' sees the outfit treading familiar waters with their tried and true classic influenced hard rock.  Frontwoman, Clare Cunningman says, "We stuck with a sound that we all love and know will work as we have gained so many fans worldwide with this winning formula. But we hope to reach out now to a wider audience as our sound drifts towards the classic Motorhead era." Guitarist, Flippa Nassil adds pointedly, "If you like 70's rock you will appreciate what we do - I guarantee you won't be disappointed.  Rock and roll is not dead."
Formed in 2010 when guitarists, Flippa Nassil and Italian born Giorgia Carteri met with the same goals and passions - to put together and play in the ultimate rock and roll band. Several meetings and a few lineup changes later the duo hooked up with three others that share that same vision in the form of Irish singer, Clare Cunningham, bassist, Linda Strom and drummer, Tilda Stenqvist.
Releasing the well received 'Rcck N' Roll Disaster' in 2014 and hitting the Swedish national charts at #2, the band made their mark quickly. "I remember getting the call!" exclaims Cunningman. "It was a moment none of us will ever forget.  To be received so warmly on our first record was an incredible feeling and showed that this was the beginning of something big for us."
With Road Fever, Thundermother hit back even harder than before with tracks such as "Deal With the Devil" (the album's second single and the band's tribute to Lemmy), "Thunder Machine" (the band being major supporters of feminism, Cunningham got a feminist tattoo while on tour in Spain and it was performed with the Hawk Thunder Machine, hence the song title) and the album's first single,  "It's Just a Tease" ("We're female, proud of playing rock and roll and being sexy at the same time," laughs Nassil.)
The quintet headed into the studio this past May to finalize work of Road Fever, after having completed five songs in Lemon Recording Studio in Klippan (South Sweden) with Martin Ekelund.  This final batch of songs were recorded at Cobra Studios in Stockholm with main engineer Martin Ehrencrona and with the band's guitarist and founder, Filippa Nässil at the helm. The vibe of the studio suited the ladies perfectly with it's pure 70s rock'n'roll analog sound and original gear.  
Road Fever tracklisting:
01. It's Just A Tease
02. FFWF
03. Alright Alright
04. Deal With The Devil
05. Give Me Some Lights
06. Roadkill
07. Enemy
08. Vagabond
09. Thunder Machine
10. Rock N Roll Sisterhood
Relative sites:


Subscribe to Thundermother